Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lady Lyla

by whalebot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Live out the greatest epic as you play the role of a young boy seeking a partner in adventure.

Use arrow keys to move. Down to pickup items, up to jump. Space to use item/attack.

The original game is still quite unfinished. However, I think it is completely able to be played all the way through. I've also posted an updated version with everything the way I really wanted it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#32Mood4.00
#41Graphics4.24
#215Theme3.72
#218Overall3.57
#334Humor2.72
#337Innovation3.44
#633Fun2.96
#697Audio2.44

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11am

Awwwww, poor boy, when he slumps back home.

Well done, needs music/sound dearly.

christopf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

word

like how you got the story told in such a minimalistic style and still capturing the mood.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Amazing pixel art :)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:24am

Ummm... very (VERY!) good animation for the character, and (if understood) sexual content? too bad I don't know what to do with these trunks and scoop....

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

You did such a great job! To me, this was one of the best and most effective uses of the theme. I got such a great feel for the boy and the girl by just their movements and what was going on in their imaginary world.
It was perfect that there wasn't much of a gameplay system behind it. Yes, I could fight and dig etc. (in my imagination) but that's what pretend-play is all about!

Yes, it needed music and sound effects and overall polish but I think what's there is really good.
If you're planning to work on this further feel free to contact me. Maybe I can help you with something (@leafthief)?

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:28am

Good mood and animations...
Is there a good ending? Can I help this poor little boy? or is it simply that life is like that...

MrJavaFrank says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Unfortunaly there's an error when pressing the 'A'-key (just recoginzed because i didn'tread the description) :
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Press Event for A-key Key
for object obj_global_controller:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.spr_story_player_run(100012, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_global_controller_KeyPress_65
############################################################################################

Apart from that, the graphics and the mood are really nice! :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Interesting take on theme, great graphics and animation, but it seriously could use some sound. Also, is there a way to get a better ending? >.<

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I were able to rescue Lila but didn't find any ending. This is a great interpretation of the theme, I loved that double screen idea, and your graphics are cute. Now it needs a bit of sound and maybe an ending.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Got stuck once the little girl started following me around, was that the ending?

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:15am

To those of you who have already played, I really appreciate the feedback. To be honest, I was kind of hoping no one would play it in its unfinished state :P . Oh well, it looks like I somehow managed to still convey the mood I was going for.

I have however uploaded a new post-comp. version of the game. It is in its full polished glory, and I feel pretty good about it :) I'd love it if you gave the new one a try.

Obviously, I'll keep the old one around for judging purposes, so please make sure my ratings reflect the original. Thanks!

P.S. There is a part past the night scene where the girl follows you. Hint: Look for a scenic place to stand with her.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Love the pixelart.

reheated says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:31pm

It's very nice. (And of course the post compo version is even better.) I like how his story is told up the top. Great art.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very atmospheric experience. Thank you.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Awesome and sweet little game. The imagination part (or what is is) on top looked great. Unfortunately I couldn't find the end, I'll give the post compo version a try later on. With some background music and sound it'd be awesome! Very original interpretation of the theme

Digiraze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Sad story.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Definitely needs sound/music. I think I didn't miss anything, it was just incomplete. Liked the animations, wish you could finish it on time.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:34am

Atmospheric, pretty, and incredibly poignant for what there was of it. You hit the spot with this one, though it would go down more smoothly with some more polish and time. I don't know how people can pull off such good stories with so little.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:35am

Amazing...Great pixel art and animations!
The compo version didn't trigger the sandbox sequence when lyla was following, but that worked fine in the post-compo one.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:13pm

It is so sad that the compo version doesn't have sound and music. Otherwise it is perfect. Emotional. Touching. The best concept of "Connected worlds" I have seen so far. It is about me somehow... about childhood. :)

shatterhand says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I loved the graphics on this. Very unusual game.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:19pm

A lovely game and story. I absolutely adore the presentation of the boy's imagination as you interact with the world. Well done! Could definitely be developed further.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Aww what a sad ending.

Great graphics and a great take on the theme!

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Great art!

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The story was lovely. The imagination of the boy was a nice touch. The graphics are great. Nice entry!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Great concept and nice old school graphics. We would like to see and hear more !

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

GREAT art!

mystakin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

Fantastic art and style and strong storytelling mechanics. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to finish the game because it crashed when I pressed the A button out of curiosity. ;_;

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

@mystakin Yeah that was a testing key that I forgot to take out before submitting... I encourage you to give the post-comp version a try if you still enjoyed it.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:12am

Nice game . Goodjob

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:12am

I definitely like the style of the imagined version of events at the top, very cleanly implemented.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:42am

Why can't I draw this nice?
Amazingly good....!

ghenoroc says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Very nice animation. Good game.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Nice, really needs music and sound. Love the idea of the imagination of the kid, i think you could have exploited it more !

chadiik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Closing the app was the cherry on top of the cake,
Amazing game!

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:44am

Very cute. :)
I love the execution. There's something oddly fitting about the pixel art style used for the real world as compared to the fantasy version.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:20am

Cute and sad. Really loved how it connected to the theme, and the game oozed personality. Like many said before me, this only needed some audio. The post-compo version really nailed it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]