Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interstice

by LukeZaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions included at the game page.

Simple game where you've gotta stop enemies from coming through a portal to kill you. I was planning to have blocks fall from the ceiling due to earthquakes caused by the portal making the general area 'unstable', but I scrapped it as I was running low on time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#704Audio2.42
#910Humor1.68
#994Fun2.50
#1059Graphics2.23
#1103Mood1.86
#1107Theme2.17
#1123Overall2.47
#1159Innovation1.97

Comments

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

I don't know if I'm just terrible, but I went off on the path to the left, and couldn't seem to get back the way after destroying the crystal! Other wise it was pretty fun, would get smashed by squares again.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25am

pretty fun game, would be nice if you could click and hold to shoot rapidly, but otherwise nice job! :)

GLStephen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:21am

Pretty fun in a basic game sort of way, the jumping part is fun, but I have no idea of the controls.

concalf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

i could not rate your game because i could not control the character after pressing the mouse button (maybe a unity player bug? windows, chrome) :(

ajopart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

Simple and effective concept, but hard to see where I shoot.
I had sometimes problems to move right or left. Had to jump to solve it.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

a bit hard to get oriented at first, but overall pretty fun.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:50am

Fun little shooter, but moving was really, really wonky. Kind of detracted from the experience, but it was still a solid game.

skiddings says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Some knock back on the enemies would have been useful

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I loved how the head moved to track your mouse and rotated all the way around :)

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:59am

Also, according to this http://williame.github.io/Ludum_Dare_30_Connected_Worlds/ , we live really, really nearby :P

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Bullets could have been a bit bigger or have a trail so it is more obvious where you are shooting. I like the music and solid concept of course.

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

I found a strategy for winning the game: get crystal at lower left, then right, then upper right. Yay, win. :)

Great work with the enemy AI. The controls really needs fixing though. I feel like I'm on a sticky floor, and the jumping is a bit delayed.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Controls were wonky, sound was really annoying, objective was unclear, concept was unoriginal. Better luck next time.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Okay, sorry, I'm pretty tired, here's the same criticism in a more constructive version: Try to work more on making the controls *feel* good. Make sure that they don't do anything that the player wouldn't expect, like getting stuck.

I appreciate the fact that you worked on putting sound in your game, but I'm very tired of listening to bfxr-like sounds, because they're often jarring. If you use that kind of sound, do it sparingly.

Try to make the objective more clear in some way (arrows? text? Guides? Just do something), I was pretty confused as to what I had to do.

And then, my last complaint; I'm tired of platformers. Please try something new next time ;)

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Liked it :) "You Win!" was a bit anticlimactic, but for 48 hours it was great :) Didn't meet any enemies at the top left crystal, guess the enemies couldn't get up there..
Here, have some stars :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]