Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Close Your Eyes

by nonetheless - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey there,
Close your eyes is simple game in which you have to (surprise surprise) close your eyes. You close your eyes by hitting Space. As for the Theme - you are connecting two different worlds - one is considered normal, second is a closed eyes world in which you see imagined things. The worlds differ and to succeed you have to switch between them with good timings ;).

There's tutorial, 5 levels of normal game, plus something like game plus (gameplay is easier than I expected so I've added harder version ;) )

Ok then, hope you have some fun.
Cheers!

VERSION 1.1

Fixed the hit box on finish line of level 5, now should always work :)

https://b935a866a41f29a107d108ebd96483bb6a8af0d2.googledrive.com/host/0B54eWCk5eSFdY3RXbU05SUk2Yms/CloseYourEyes.html


VERSION 1.0 -

https://f6bdee2ed0233da90ebc5a5b0b88f07fe9283ddf.googledrive.com/host/0B54eWCk5eSFdRzR4YVh0YnY0cEU/CloseYourEyes.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Innovation4.24
#19Overall4.11
#52Mood3.86
#67Fun3.82
#71Theme3.96
#131Graphics3.92
#150Humor3.17
#201Audio3.35

Comments

Peni6 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:03pm

This is the best game I've seen this weekend, such a brilliant idea. I actually closed my eyes a couple of times instinctively. The text, the art, the idea, this should win LD30!

nonentheless says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Thank you kindly dear Sir :)

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:17pm

This is such a clever idea. A very clever concept and play on the theme. I enjoyed it quiet a lot!

Silveryard says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Love the idea but it´s really hard ;)

coldman says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Joli !

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

One of the best games I have ever seen fr this LD30. Really interesting concept and mood is pretty ++

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56am

Very nice and simple concept and artistic style! This is the best one so far I was played.

Good Job!

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

What simple but intriguing concept. I really liked the minimalistic soundtrack and working each level out.

JRPGKING says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

Probably my favorite entry so far. If you go into the player settings and change the default resolution for the desktop player to something like 1920x1080 then when you fullscreen it in the browser it will actually pick the correct resolution. Weird work around, I know, but I had the same problem with my game.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15am

I love the minimalist graphics and the entire concept is simple and has a good amount of challenge. Well designed levels and the mood is great! Well done!

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16am

Clap clap clap! Everything is awesome!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21am

Best so far, really good puzzler with solid idea.
Add a small pause after death so you can see what went wrong.
Nice ambient music and graphics are neat. Just all around solid entry.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Amazing, great idea and terrific implementation.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

Very good idea

orukinawa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

Definitely one of the favorite games so far. Great job!

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Great Idea

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40am

Woah, great game here !

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Wonderful!

I love the visual design of this. Really fantastic, gives the game a great feel.

You also have the difficulty-curve spot on, which is very difficult to achieve for an LD-game.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

God damn it was good.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Clever idea, maybe enough of a gradient in difficulty, but good nonetheless.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

You are truly an artist. Best game I've seen so far this LD.
However on one of the levels (last but one I think) where you kind of go down and then right, and have lava poison lava poison alternating and then a wall. There I just bounced on the wall and went back the way I came, but the game didn't register it as a win. Maybe you didn't think of that as a solution? Or just a generic bug?
Great job nonetheless! ;)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

This is cool, and gets really damn hard! It was well written and the minimal graphics pleased my eye. And the movement is so so smooth. Good job :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

@hungyg That's exactly the case, I didn't think of this way of completing the level, you should go the hard way, to the right, and up ;). This is easily fixable and maybe I will upload the fixed version soon.

Thank for playing ;)

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

I really hard game. Nice concept.

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08am

Also my favorite! The graphics are absolutely gorgeous and the sounds are great in their simplicity. I loved it, well done!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

One of my favorite so far too, well done sir :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Awesome, clean presentation. Excellent mechanics, very clever game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

The "Nelson" poetry made me laugh. Professionally done and rather enjoyable. You could potentially adapt this for phone or tablet.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

I can't quite see the theme connection, but it's well polished game :)

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

What a great game !
I love the visual, uncluttered and understandable.

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

So hard but so cool !

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

So truly amazing, i would by full game.

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

great game all round. brilliant concept and executed perfectly. best game so far(shame i suck at it).

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Good game. Smooth gameplay without wasting time on graphics. The graphics are simple and work really well because they don't distract from the puzzles.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Amazing idea. Cool graphics, hypnotising music and beautiful mood.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Best game so far! Pretty much a cohesive piece of work. But cn you finish the last level? I am pretty sure I fly right rought the rot target thing.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

awsome! fun and nice gamplay really liked it.

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Awesome execution, the levels are well balanced and get you up to speed with the mechanics without it feeling like you're in over your head.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Sweet Zombie Jesus! This is amazing, the best entry I've played so far.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

DAMN YOU NELSON!

This is seriously good - 5 stars all round :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Unity player has crashed.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great idea! This would make a wonderful iPhone game!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

@JetL33t the issue has been fixed in version 1.1 (moved hit box few pixels, such a stupid bug :)) Thx for pointing out.

And thank you kindly for all the comments :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Art style is great, also the gameplay just fits perfectly.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very unique and atmospheric game! Like everything in this one. And too hard, yeah =)
Good job!

Vircung says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

You made great game, gratz

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great entry! Really fun and well made! fun and challanging mechanic.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

just a simple mechenic that is perfected to the best it posibly can be tis is a true Ludum Dare game

ssheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

great game the idea was amazing

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Great concept and execution. The tutorial is really good at introducing the mechanics. Good job!

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Awesome job man! This is by far the greatest game I've seen all weekend, I loved the art especially.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

One of the strongest entries I've seen so far! I hope you score well! :)

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

great game, enjoyed the puzzles

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

GREAT THIS IS AWESOME AND CHELLENGING !! :D

Appocket says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really nice work! Are there any ports planned in future, i would love to see this game in action on mobile devices...

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Great concept and great execution! Really liked how you explained the game mechanics to the player, the visuals were really good and I had a lot of fun playing this :D 5/5

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

@Appocket Someday, if my skills allow it... ;) Definitly will try

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Viciously clever mechanic, deceptively simple one button play but leads to a very enjoyable and playable game.
The simple art and sound only add to the clean execution you've created here while the surprisingly natural narration creates a nice counterpoint.
Great submission, both as a game and a work of art.

Rahazan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Cool! Nice mechanic with a great execution, I love the visuals.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Very cool game, the first game I've given 5 stars for overall :D

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Awesome idea :D Epic.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Interesting take on the theme. Lovely game :)

Thaum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Best one-button game I've played.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

This game is incredible.

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

An amazing idea! The music was kinda creepy, but it made the atmosphere.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Love the art and atmosphere of it. very simple idea executed well. Nicely done.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Wow, astonishing game! Well done sir!

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Lovely visuals and great concept. Very enjoyable

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This was simply awesome, I always knew that great games can come from a game jam and this one is certainly one of these games.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Absolutely love this game. Great concept and slick execution. You should definitely develop this further.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Nice game. One thing I thought would be great if the sound plays when you hit a wall instead of ambient noise that it is right now.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

@Xgor Thx for the input, that was the plan but I had to drop it for now ;)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Clever mechanic, great execution of the design, cool graphics and sound and awesome use of the theme. Pretty much a solid all around entry, awesome. Definitely up there at the top!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28pm

This is from now on my most favorite game, it really was extremely cool. Thank you for this game!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Really nice work, Everything goes together really well. And with polish too. Great Job!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great mechanic, lends itself to some interesting puzzles.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Pure and beatiful game!

Excelent realize split-level mechanics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Super challenging! Really dig the idea of having to close your eyes to pass through a puzzle game like this.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great!

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I'm happy this game exists!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

this is amazing! i loved it ^^

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Great!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Simply awesome concept, execution is great too. I just wish there were a few more levels :D

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I liked this a lot. Great presentation, great idea, great execution. My entry had a similar concept, but you did it much better.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Loved the idea! Also loved the minimalist style!

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Very sleek graphics, and I really loved the "if I can't see it , doesn't exist" idea behind the gameplay!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Brilliant game, with an awesome concept. Really enjoyed trying to figure out the timing of each level :D

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Nice concept, reminds me of my entry.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Brilliant Idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Very nice mechanic. A lot of the text was very funny too.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57am

Great idea! Great execution.

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Great overall design and elegant presentation. The game got too difficult for me at a certain point and I just couldn't figure it out, but I enjoyed the atmosphere and "feel" of the game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

I really enjoyed this, though it got incredibly difficult.

suyoku says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04am

I also have to agree with the above posts, best game I've played so far. What I enjoyed most is when you're losing on a difficult level, you feel 100% at fault, i.e. you can't blame it on the game mechanics because of how simple it is

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

This is amazing!! This is just a big bag of awesome in all respects. Congrats!!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

Wow this is a really cool concept, very unique! Great work

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

i closed my eyes while hitting the spacebar also. very realistic!
kidding aside, great game! very clean and also the aesthetics were really great!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nice idea, well executed, we liked the minimalism, maybe it's a litle bit too much at some point.

Anyway great entry !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23am

Very cool concept, and the execution is flawless! Bravo.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really liked this, awesome idea, great execution! Excellent work!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22am

Very nice work , good game and art , nice concept :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02am

Amazing concept!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

10/10 would pay 99c for iPhone app.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

lovely theme!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

Good game (good game) Good game.

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice minimalist art style. I closed my eyes a couple times

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32am

Very nice concept, very well implemented ! The game looks really polished and beautiful, and the levels are interesting to play. Congrats on such an awesome idea !

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

Simplistic in style but really wonderfully effective. This is a great entry, my only gripe is to spellcheck it, and you have a legit awesome game on your hands!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

Absolutely Stunning game! 5/5! Damn dude!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

Brilliant use of the theme, the game mechanics were compelling and I continued through all of the levels. I didn't go through the unfair ones though, but I enjoyed the game!

TD5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Very nicely done. Consistent art and music styles, interesting gameplay, good mood and I love the "close your eyes" concept. Spot on!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

Amazing.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

Such a great idea and great execution. Really liked playing your game.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Sweet Zombie Jesus. Good one.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

5/5 Brilliant idea and implementation!

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great game! Amazing concept, the clean graphics work well too :D

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very nice minimalistic approach to the theme, nice level design even though it's kindda hardcore sometimes!

Very well done.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

A very cool mechanic you came up with there! Kudos!

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nicely done. Good idea but I didn't enjoy the tutorial text.

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Your game is just awesome, such a genius and efficient concept. Congratulations !

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

One of my favourites so far! Graphics and sound are well done and neat, and the gameplay is a brilliant idea !
The puzzles are challenging and that's great

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Very innovative! Really awesome!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Graphics are crisp, clean and minimalist. Music is light and suitably creepy, adding a sinister atmosphere to an otherwise emotionless world. I like the hostile narrator too, it's a nice touch. This game has lots of character on top of a simple but incredibly effective mechanic. This is minimalism done right.

Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Brilliant game absolutely loved everything about it. Definitely straight to the top of my favourites so far.

Cliff Lee(CK) says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14pm

So great! Graphics and style is so awesome!!
Concept is cool!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Most original game by far. Would like to see more. Felt like level design went downhill when the circular ones were introduced, kinda confused me a bit. Really nice idea and great sounds too!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Yes. Innovative, great mood, just yes. I close my eyes at the scary parts too!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Like the game, minimalist art style is good and the mechanics are fun, but I honestly think the last level on unfair mode has too much of a difficulty spike, found the timing on that one pretty hard to get right compared to the others - also, I think that the audio should keep going, instead of restarting on every failure. But overall, I think it's a pretty great game that manages to do the whole "one button" mechanic very well.

01rafael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I like it)Exceptional idea and sound design too)

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Brilliant gameplay mechanic. This could be a full game. Would work well on phones.

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Well done!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Yah, so cool! Very addictive, and great quirky style!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Awesomest game in this ld30..
Nice work!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Amazing game! Very good idea, beautiful art and well designed :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Really cool concept!

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Brilliant

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Aside from some typos here and there, I could find nothing to crit about this. It's just very fun and highly intuitive. The abstract graphical style serves it well, and the sound makes gives it a hint of mystery and lack of knowledge. Very strong entry!

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Wow. Beautifully designed, nice and simple idea and funny texts. Really good job.

fraxken says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice game !

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cool ! I Wish there was more too:D

bentog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Cool concept and very well executed. Congrats!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

The design on this game is really really really great. The industry needs people making awesome concepts! Great job

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Very interesting and unique mechanic. I liked your use of the theme.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27am

Absolutely love the innovation! One of the best games I've rated so far, love it!

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Really great entry. Had a lot of fun!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39am

This is probably the most polished, most memorable thing I've seen this compo. Needs more levels!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:07am

Nice idea and visual style. Some parts were extremely frustrating where you died as soon as you switched worlds and didn't get to see what killed you.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09am

Wow. Just wow. Clever, beautiful, and overall just well done!

Florent says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48am

Brilliant ! I love it !

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02am

Personnaly I think the hitboxes are quite punitive but still a nice game, good work.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34am

N e a t !

Xentira says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22am

This is amazing, you made quite the game in such a short time frame. Great job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45am

Really cool game. The idea is simple but so well executed, and the texts make it really charming and fun. Would love to see more levels of this!

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53am

What a delightful puzzle game! I would play more of this, for sure.

suurin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25am

I'm jealous of that idea-making. Awesome.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

A very impressive mechanic. Nicely executed. The little touches of humor also adds to the experience.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Challenging game, couldn't finish it. had lots of fun though :) well done!

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Great graphics, strong mood, and fantastic execution. Like many LD games, it got way hard, way fast. If you want to take this further in the future I would figure out what lessons the player needs to learn and give it to them in small bites before doing anything complicated around new ideas. That said, I really enjoyed this. Excellent work.

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Best game so far !

maloki says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Cool, clean, fun game! What more is there to ask? it probably be interesting to have tones as the ball hits the pieces and add a little layer to the music. Either way, it works as it is right now. Good job! :D

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41pm

THIS SHOULD WIN THE BEST GAME IN LD30 !!!!!!!!! 10/19

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:42pm

THIS SHOULD WIN THE BEST GAME IN LD30 !!!!!!!!! 10/10

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Nice game, congrats!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really cool and innovative gameplay.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I love it, so simple but so good

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Amazing game! Nicely done :)

kblaney says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Great idea and great execution. Would work really well on mobile also given the one touch interaction.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Very interesting mechanic with a great presentation!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Simple 'n funky little mechanic, and well explained. Gets ridiculous pretty quickly though :p

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Bravo! This is actually my favorite game so far. Very nicely polished and the core mechanic is amazing and simple. Since it's just 1 button, you should totally ship this for mobile platforms :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

No, I can't do that again :)

This is genius! Fits the theme perfectly! It's so simple and so mean!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

This game is really really good. Super fun, looks crisp, and the audio is perfect. Home run. I only hope I can make an entry as good some day.

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

Really well done!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very solid entry; good mechanics, visuals, sounds and writing.
It's pretty frustrating trying to remember where things were. Also, I feel like it good use something more, but I don't know what. Other than that, please use DontDestroyOnLoad on your music object so it doesn't reset everytime you load a level ;)
Great entry, bookmarked

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

this game was a lot of fun. really fit the theme and was well executed. awesome job.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great job! Loved it :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

Great idea. Very original. Liked the art, levels and music (mood). Good stuff here.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

Very nice! Fiendishly difficult.

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Very interesting

vividhelix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Great entry, very thematic. Simple and effective. Great job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Splendid game, a single clean idea! Sounds great, looks great, thematically solid, plays with a sliiiightly harsher curve than I'd prefer, but overall a superb example of a 48 hour game!

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really nniiiiiice..!!
Well polished and truly fun to play!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Nice one! Fits perfectly with the theme and manage to be fun AND innovative. I also dig the minimalistic graphics

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Wow, this is an amazing entry! Really sharp visuals and some really simple game play that kept me coming back for more! Very addictive, would love to have this as an app on my phone. Really atmospheric sounds too... great dongs!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Wow, great idea with the eyes closing! Although, I wouldn't give this man a ride :P

_Rilem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Wow, what an awesome idea for this theme. In the later levels it gets really confusing and I like that. Great game :D

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Loved the minimalist style and gameplay. Levels were fun and you did a nice job ramping up the challenge.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very cool and polished, and a really cool gameplay mechanic.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very sleek visual style! I enjoyed unfair mode a lot - nice work!

Carduus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I really enjoy games like this one, with a strong but simple gameplay, starflood man! Your gameconcept is gorgeous!

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Love the clean lines and use of colour (or lack there of)
Nice simple one button controls and some tricky level designs.
There's a lot of trial and error and practice even though there's only one button to press lol. Would make a good mobile game if were to release a full version.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

this is a really beautiful simple game, but amazingly well executed. the color scheme was pleasant, the sound was soothing, and the puzzles were... not so soothing. Overall I loved this idea/concept and you did an amazing job, well done!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Excellent! Love the graphics, audio, and the feeling of the game.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

Great concept! Really awesome puzzles, love it!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36am

Brilliant, just brilliant. Top marks my good man.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:56am

That's a little more comments than I have expected :) Thank you all kindly!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

The only thing questionable would be the Theme category here which is interpreted in a way or other. It goes into my Awesome Entries list even though I'm not a fan of puzzle games. I loved graphics and music :)

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Pretty interesting idea. It becomes better as you play I wish there was more. Great visual style also. Well done :)

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Really fun, but really hard. If only I could get past that level... I like the bit about Nelson!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really cool use of the theme, and the later levels are nicely challenging. The music provides the perfect atmosphere. Great job!

Tom Gardiner says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Graphic style is amazing! I love its simplicity and the colour scheme you chose. The puzzles actually got pretty difficult by the end.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very cool indeed, got super challenging (good thing of course).
Well done!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really innovative. Reminds me of the games like Chip's Challenge where they're deceptively simple and light, but you could get lost on it for hours. Great play.

runvs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Really nice concept! Works great and is fresh and new. You could have done more with soundeffects when bumping off walls or bubbling lava, but though this is a nice game!

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

I like your game. Thank you very much for artwork and gameplay. Very nice.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07am

Well, this time you weren't evil! hahahahha (I didn't really hate you, I was just frustrated with the hard game hahahahha <3)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:16am

Great concept and super polished execution! A bit frustrating sometimes but not undoable. Well done!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

very unique concept, would of been cool if you could somewhere find gameplay where you actually had to close your eys!

ceosol says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

It was a really neat game. I think if you take it further, you could add some cool eyes-closed effects. Whenever I close my eyes it is not just black, there are some patterns. I would also change the collision detection a tiny bit. The lava and poison had a little bit of a preemptive response on kill hits.
Overall though, this was a good entry. Please continue this project.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This is a very cool idea and very well executed! The art style is awesome!

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Nice Job! Its like blacklight air-hockey with yourself... and monsters. :)

OFF says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:46am

Actually it could was an excellent entry for the "you only get one" theme.
Simple as possible and full of possibilities, at the end is still a switched world game but with this powerful simplicity, but the hardest timing.
The design is not only nice, it is merely perfect, i'm not fan of the difficulty of the first "normal" level who is maybe too high, but it's only tweak and playtest.

My only critic is that the first idea of only make the world disappear when you close your eyes whas so perfect that i was a little bit sad when things start to appear when you close... ;)

The game was really great.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:20pm

What a lovely little puzzle game :)

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:34pm

The most original concept I have seen this far.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:27pm

nice game

AdricZero says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

One of the more unique game mechanics. Not sure with the connection to the theme though. Was fun to play.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Really intriguing concept and the atmosphere was great. Kudos to you !

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I don't wish there was more, that last level on hard difficulty made my thumb hurt.

But seriously, cool game you have there. Aesthetically pleasing and great mood.
There are just some weird things going on with the collision detection in the last levels, that make the ball go slightly in the wrong direction sometimes, which is kinda annoying.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Really love the game. Great concept and humour :)

local minimum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really nice game with a simple idea, great narration and really not so much to comment on/suggest. I would maybe opt for some audio and/or visual effects when bouncing the balls as well as hitting obstacles.

Really great game.

Trilby says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:03pm

A truly unique game, well done.

I think some sound effects would be nice.

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Haunting aesthetics and music. The game is simple and accessible enough to pull you in until the finish. Good job!

pusheax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Stylish experience, coherent and cool.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Everything is excellent ! There is nothing to say more !

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really interesting concept.

danidre14 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:02am

Tooo unfair waaah! Good entry! :3

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:26am

A wonderful puzzle game. I have never seen such a concept - very innovative and fun!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Love it ! The narration is very cool, the music fit perfectly and the gameplay quite original.

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Unfair mode was true to its name. Finally got it after like a billion tries! The art was really clean and minimalistic. Fun game!

EndingChaos says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Very innovative idea!!

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Neat concept, and very fun to play :)

Would have loved to see more levels!

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:29pm

very good idea! and very good mood!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:33pm

amazing in every way, the best game i've played so far!

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Love the style and presentation!

malf says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Good idea and fun game

PriorBlue says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The graphics and gameplay looks very polished, really good jam entry! 5/5

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Adding my voice to the crowd to yell how cool this game is :)

Gameplay, graphics, polish, all feels nice, fun to play, and modern (= flat & mobile friendly ;P)

If I were to suggest some improvements for the future, I'd say you should rely more on this "blindness" mechanic: I really enjoyed how in the first how I had to keep in mind the trajectory of the ball ; sadly ihis idea is lost in the latter levels, which are full of visual markers to keep track of where things are. Keeping 1 world only and building on the blindess mechanic would be a great direction to try.

I hope to see more of this!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really cool how you used this simple mechanic. I loved the art too. Great difficulty ramp. I just wish there was more audio. Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

Great concept, I wish you'd stick with the idea to the end. Escaping danger closing the eyes is genious, but what happens in the game is that you are just switching worlds, the same concept as hundreds of other entries, the concept is still present, but much more superficially.
Everything else was really well made.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Great Game!

Jod says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Colour me impressed. Very, very impressed.

invader says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:06pm

really nice and innovative game... well designed and polished.

good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:23am

Just amazing :-)

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:53am

Completed on unfair mode. A really good ride, although a bit too short. One of the best games of the jam.

Tommislav says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:05am

A very clever and interesting take on the theme. And well executed. Awesome work!

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:28am

Oh! Awesome. This is great. I love the mood and the "unfair" mode is a real challenge!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:52pm

That is a really great puzzle game!
Amazing!

GG

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Good idea:)

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Love the idea, and the audio is phenomenal! Great work!

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:03am

One of the best I've seen. Got past 3 in the unfair mode and just gave up when I saw the next one. Could get it eventually (maybe) but can't do this all weekend. This was great.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:33am

This is the best, you need to make some more levels and sell this!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I don't know, but this game isn't really anything new or original. There are tons of games like this on Google Play or Appstore.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice concept, feels really smooth. I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I'll go a little sideways and pass on the "graphics" because with minor tweaks they could have been Atari 2600 graphics.

It's just a cute little theme, and for these kinds of things, when the UI is minimalist, you can't have many bugs and this one didn't have many.

I write posts on DonationCoder.com, and I try to rate games to my own (very subjective) difficulty scale. I think this did a decent job of training and easy early levels, then about 2nd before the end of the slow levels and def the fast levels, it jumped a notch in difficulty.

But nice concept, something I haven't seen before.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]