Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Affix It

by SaxonRah - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh No! You lost your colors and you must bring the lovable rects, Gre2n, Red, and Blu to their worlds, or be selfish and travel yourself.

Use the lovable rects in any way you want, just take them through the particle effect portals or reach the particle effect portals yourself.

Controls
WASD = Movement, Mouse Movement = Control Camera, Left Click when standing next to a lovable rect will pick it up or drop it.

It's got great music and sfx, amazing 3d graphics, awesome 3D platforming, and super cool game mechanics, plus it's got lovable rects !

I'm really sorry but my game at the moment is windows 32 only. You can grab it as a whole zip or you can get it split into 7 zip file parts and around 10 megabytes each.

I'm working on the HTML5 port as we speak!

All created by yours truly - SaxonRah

-----------------------------------
To run it you need to direct yourself to the "AffixIt\Binaries\Win32" folder and Double Click 'AffixIt.exe'

Missing the "MSVCP120.dll" ???

Install the Visual C++ Redistributable Packages for Visual Studio 2013 (It's quite small and will allow you to play this game and other ld48 games that might require it !)

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

-----------------------------------

SRC - Still uploading, I have dial up so bear with me <3 I have to upload 52, 10megabyte part zip files.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#332Humor2.73
#491Audio2.80
#494Mood3.06
#502Graphics3.17
#677Innovation3.00
#751Overall3.00
#811Fun2.75
#909Theme2.67

Comments

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very lovable rects indeed! Quite a nice game. The shortcut doesn't work though (path not found). Manually running the exe in AffixIt\Binaries\Win32 did work however.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Can't get it to run. I've unzipped and tried running the .exe but it throws an error saying I'm missing MSVCR120.DLL

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

A interesting game, I liked how you had to use other blocks as to workaround some problems. Good game!

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice idea for the game! Loved the playroom like atmosphere. The music suited the game nicely.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Why you no Mac?

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Well the game looked really cool and the cubes kind of reminded me of portal's cube a bit (with the obvious differences of course).

I liked the idea that you can continue alone or with a cube and the puzzles progress each level.

However I had a few bugs, where sometimes when I pick and item and look up suddenly I fly into the ceiling and I can't get down (even with dropping the item).

Also the mouse seems to leave the game window and starts clicking on my desktop.

Another thing was that picking up an item the item sometimes floats mid air behind me or next to me (with a huge distance between it an me).
Despite the game was fun and the puzzles weren't hard to figure out.

I liked the music and it felt fitting to the game's overall idea.

Seriously, good work and very well done! :D

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

download stops at 99%

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15am

I couldn't get the game to download.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18am

I felt like a kid again playing with blocks in a playroom! LOL! Good luck to you :)

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35am

At first I thought it was buggy, but then I was like - "oh, wait. This makes it better." And it was.

The audio was great, if stilted. Just great.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56am

I flew away on a block and fell outside of the room. I saw the sunset, and I died.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:15am

Totally loved the animations on the main character. Also I would have never guessed the retro music/sound effects to go so well with a full-on 3d game...Great job!

Lasty says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:05am

Still couldn't get it to run, even after installing the Redistributable. Can't find MSVCR120.dll Windows 8.1 64bit here.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:05am

Interesting game.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:08am

Holy shit it took forever to downoad almost didnt glad i did loved the 3d effect good animation

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Can't vote fairly as it's a jerkfest on my machine.
Maybe less shaders is more...

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:21pm

A bit confusing to play at first but got fun pretty quickly

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]