Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Nations

by villetou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made a game about sharing resources between nations and staying alive. Boost your production by tapping QWAS and share resources with the cursor keys. Hit the best time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Humor3.67
#89Audio3.65
#138Graphics3.89
#274Innovation3.53
#310Theme3.58
#413Fun3.21
#676Overall3.09
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

I enjoyed the concept and the graphics are cute, I didnt survive for very long though.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice concept. It's a little weird to see countries give away things they have less of, though.

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

So much fun! :D Serious keyboard hammering here :) I like the music and the death-sounds too!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

oh, my poor keyboard.. xD

c023-dev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

Ha! Nice one 48.88 ... cool grafix, good audio and its Phaser so... I liked this *Salut from html5devs forum!

rhmoller says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Fun game with nice music.

Firefox on linux just gave me a black screen, but it works fine in chrome.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47pm

man this was a stress-inducing, keyboard breaking game... and I loved it! Pretty simple concept, but executed nicely, and the graphics were really pleasing. well done! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

graphics were top notch. keyboard mashing is not my type of game but this was done rather well. nice effort.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Funky graphics and the music really suited it. Soon descended into random button mashing for me but great fun :D

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:50pm

LOL lasted 77.76 seconds.. oh yeah!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:44am

I chuckled =).

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I won! Basically I just got the left 2 to survive and kept building and 'giving' back and forth forever until I had one guy left and the game ended. Otherwise I wasn't entirely sure what I was doing, mechanics wise, but that strat seemed to work. Really nice music and aesthetic!

slowfrog says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I don't really understand why I have to bang on so many keys at the same time, but it's really funny, with an excellent mood.
Maybe it could be converted to a less finger-stressing game: the resource observation and sharing would be more intersting (to me) if I could have more time to think about what I'm doing, not just using reflexes.
Excellent anyway.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very clear, amusing graphics. The game has a flaw in that it is possible to last for a very long time if you sacrifice 2 guys then just keep swapping resources between the remaining 2.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]