Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elyseus

by Crocanti de Pollo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Elyseus is an unruly and bald warrior. He was cursed to battle forever in this strange temple. Fight hordes of undead in the overworld. If you die, you will be taken to the underworld where you can harvest the souls of the damned to return to life. But beware! They will try to siphon what's left of your essence... If that happens, who knows what your fate will be.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#227Theme3.70
#237Graphics3.64
#264Mood3.34
#321Innovation3.46
#324Overall3.44
#416Audio2.93
#419Humor2.53
#504Fun3.10

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Really well done. Great graphics! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

Thank you Jupiter! :D

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Congrats on finishing your game. Its nice to relive the jason experience :)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice, I really liked the ending.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Great game! Loved how when you killed the ghosts and took the portal back you could pick up some health!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21am

Well done! Didn't expect to go so far through the realms.

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

Well done , surprising end :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

Awesome entry. Once I realized that you had to escape through portal of the underworld, it really opened up. Great ending, too - didn't see it coming.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

Interesting game, the graphics looked great! The music did a good job at setting up the atmosphere, and the sound effects were very fitting. I kinda just got bored after awhile and let the ghosts kill me, nice twist after that!

Dohan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Excellent twist! But if you keep yourself near the portal, you can stay cursed and fighting almost forever XD

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice idea!

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I almost quit after the first play, but once I realized that you can go back to the living realm it became very interesting. Nice use of the theme. I would have liked more macro goals, it seemed to boil down to "run back to the portal and collect health."

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Thank you people for all those positive comments!

@Dohan, @ryguydavis, yes, in it's current state it's mainly infinite fighting unless you are very unlucky and die... I wanted to add some kind of objective but didn't have enough time. Also in my mind was adding a multiplayer component in the style of dark souls, were you could invade others' games. But that was way too big for me to do in a weekend :P

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Nice idea! I didn't see that coming!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

surprising development with the death system, very cool.
Had fun anhialating skeletons

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Oh, so great! No toast too, but I enjoyed killing skeletons "disguised" as one of them :)

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44am

I really like the cyclical death idea.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47am

Liked this one a lot!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

Great game. Love the graphics and the twist at the end. Brilliant interpretation of the theme :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:12am

Great game, lots of fun!

homeworld says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Great concept with the death, altough i did expect some sort of rebirth cycle, love it!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Thanks!

@homeworld you can actually resurrect in two different ways, one through the portal and the other, harder, by taking the life of another hero ;)

lakael says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really cool concept! I like that you jump through the realms.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Pretty cool idea and presentation, but sadly gameplay needs more variety and objectives or so; not that you don't intend to add that later. ^^"

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Cool game. Loved the graphics and audio :) Good luck!

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Bien hecho, sabes lo que me habria gustado? si fuera online y que hubiera dos equipos, los esqueletos y los humanos :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

@Sunflower Yeah variety is pretty scarce I'm afraid. I'd love to evolve it into something bigger and more complex

@juaxix If I ever add multiplayer, which I'd love to, I imagine it being in the style of DarkSouls. Wishful thinking? I don't know! :P

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nice game

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

There's some very awesome ideas behind this. I think it could have been executed in a better way, but it's a start. I especially enjoy the fact that you start off by fighting the enemies that you later become. Great game!

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I don't really understand what's going on, but its fun

ajopart says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nicely done ! great gameplay and good ideas.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

Great concept and enjoyable - if slightly limited - combat. The art and audio worked really nicely too. Good work.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Does it have an ending or is it endless? I suck at this kind of games ^^U Anyway, I liked it, good job! :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

@jjhaggar Yep, it's kind of endless until you get killed as a skeleton, then you get the stats of what you endured...

After reading all your comments, I think the game definitely needs something more to make it interesting. Otherwise you get bored soon :P

Thank you all for the feedback!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07am

Great idea and I love the 2D/3D mix!

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Good gameplay and nice transitions. I phased through all stages on what I thought was an intro/title screen and it said game over with credits... maybe don't send hordes until a button is pressed? Otherwise, a fun little game!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:38am

Neat idea, and really enjoyed the look of the characters. Good entry. :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice Idea, Enjoyed playing it :)

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice idea. Didn't appeal to me for whatever reason, but mechanics and implementation of theme are cool.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:40am

Really great graphics (and loved the ending -- what a twist!)
The combat felt a little off, mainly since your sword attack range was so short.

Gameplay wise our games were actually pretty similar, top down sword-fighters!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:40am

Buen trabajo! Neat graphics and contrast between the world of the living and the undead. However controls were a bit difficult to get the hang off. Great job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice game, the ending was fun. Liked the combat mechanic and enemies. Graphics were good and it ran smooth. Buen trabajo!

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Pretty cool mechanic, although I wasn't exactly sure what was going on until I played a few times and read and re-read that I could actually respawn as a human. I never saw the beam of light until my third playthrough or so, then a lot of it made more sense. Maybe have some kind of particles or something pull into the beam to make it more obvious that its there if its offscreen? Otherwise very solid!

Danman9914 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:48pm

It was a great surprise when I rose as a skeleton and fought myself!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:04am

Pretty interesting gameplay concept. I kind of like how you can't actually die in the game (although the revival mechanic might need some fine tuning as at the moment it's too easy to die then head straight to the portal).

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Interesting idea about the link between the worlds of the living and the undead. This idea could be expanded.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Wow, it's kinda grimm to be transformed into a zombie and forced to kill other zombies (remind me of Dark Soul...). Nice graphics and I like the idea =).

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:41pm

It's a great idea however the character's attack range is not working at all. I guess he is actually faster than enemy at attacking so if you run towards them and attack, you succeed. But this doesn't make much sense if you don't support it with graphics. I think graphics could use a little polish but other than that I kinda liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]