Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drift Off

by DrMelon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are keyboard-only. Left, Right, X, C and Space are used.

This game changes depending on the order that you play the parts in! Try it and see!

Note: If you get stuck in the third dream, try jumping off of the walls!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#109Theme3.87
#150Humor3.17
#266Innovation3.54
#315Mood3.28
#369Graphics3.40
#425Overall3.33
#585Fun3.00
#761Audio2.28

Comments

johnjoemcbob says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:22pm

You make game what that is good and I have pride for you!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51am

Pretty good, reminds me of the movie Waking Life.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43am

Neat idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

I feel through the floor a few times, but I really like the graphics and the idea. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

I wonder if I'll dream about ninjas after this...

(Is there any way to stop the evil spy? I thought I ran pretty fast, but still got the "end of the line")

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Beautiful storytelling!

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Great presentation, and interesting linked stories (great use of the theme). You did a lot in 48hrs here!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

I like the adaptation of the theme. Love the subtle and not subtle gameplay changes. And also... who doesn't have nightmare about dinner dates escaping w/ bursting through the kitchen's inventory.

Great!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great concept, brilliant implementation :) 5/5

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Creative take on the theme, I like it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice concept! The take on the theme is very original; I would never have thought of it. The graphics are quite nice and the mood is good. You seem to have forgotten a few colliders in the desert level, but other than that, great game!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Lagging hard, but has potential.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

It seems a couple people have had performance issues and falling-through-the-floor problems! I only tested this with Chrome, so I don't know if it'll be very stable on other WebGL browsers or computer configurations.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Yes, everything is connected! :D

I like how your game is slow but also fast and also how everybody can enjoy the dreams with their own style... good work with the theme!

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Tried playing a couple of times, couldn't figure out the controls in the third one (ninjas in school etc). Apparently you can do a very high jump or wall jump or something, but that only occurred randomly and I couldn't control it.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Like that the order affects the game :P nice work

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

I really enjoyed it. Nice take on the theme, very creative. Nice pixel art graphics and the story telling was really fun.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

Great idea. I like the pixel art.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Brilliant incorporation of dreams, I thought about going with it but didn't know how. Well done!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Very interesting idea, and I really enjoyed the art style as well. It would have been especially cool if the gameplay changed a little too based on previous dreams, rather than just the visuals, but I can understand that being too much work.

I couldn't beat the "reminsce" level in any scenario, because the wall jump didn't seem to work a lot of the time.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Liked the idea.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Love the art! Cool concept :)

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48am

Interesting idea! I would've like some music, and maybe a bit more of a game. Like, there wasn't really much to do in any of the dreams.

Still good though!

SupSuper says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Interesting concept, though I got stuck in the Prince of Persia part.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme, I like it!

But the desert world is somewhat broken for me. The player falls through the floor sometimes and ends up under the level on a blank screen.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Interesting concept. Would love to see more.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice little game!

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nice game, interesting use of the theme.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Loved it. I liked the part with the Price of Percia, that brought back memories. For one man game it was done really really nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]