Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shooty Space

by Thaum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inertial spaceship shooty things in space!

Now with screen-shake, lasers and 3 whole sentence fragments of Story(TM)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#101Fun3.70
#204Mood3.44
#251Graphics3.62
#297Overall3.47
#465Audio2.83
#568Humor2.30
#934Theme2.63
#1083Innovation2.31

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Reminded me of starfox, good game.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Shooting and space, can't go wrong with that!

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This one really hooked me. It's a lot of fun and I like the fact there's many different enemies. But the controls are a bit wobbley and I am also not sure how this relates to the theme (maybe indirectly).
You have done a great job with this regardless, especially for a 48 hour game!

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great grafics!Funny enemies! Unfortunately my computer so slow when enemies come flying. Good game!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

the ship is really satisfying to control. i love how the drones group together it makes them fun to pew pew at

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Controls on the ship felt really good. I wasn't entirely sure if I was trying to shoot at everything, only ships that shot the red laser beams or what. It was fun flying around shooting things up though.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Very fun game! 5 stars for the fun part, but please tell me what is on the other side of the portal? Made me very curious :)

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very nice, it is a lot of fun to chase those drone packs through asteroids.
The graphics are rather pretty, the controls are good, but the idea isn't that original.

And I can't destroy the portal thing! :(

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Pretty neat one.

Tosic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

That is a major game, bro, one word: AWESOME!!!

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Really fun game to pass time with. Not a great connection to the theme (the story sounds just made up so you got some connection to it). I really liked the drone AI.

Colthor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Fun space shooter. I like the drone behaviour.

I think there might be a couple of bugs when you die and respawn - first time you're killed it takes loads of laser hits, but from then on only one. Also the speedo seems to stop working.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Well it's aptly named :D Shot lots of things in space! Nice flocking AI too by the looks of it. As others have noted looks like your shield doesn't restore after respawning? But still, nifty base of a game here.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Pretty intense space shooter. I liked it, but I wouldn't mind knowing why I kept shooting at everything '^^
Really solid controls =)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05pm

The gameplay is a little rough, but I like the sounds and graphics of the game

reecpj says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:48am

Awesome job! Some really nice effects touches, I'd love to know how you did the thruster cones (particles?)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Really polished, really fun game! Amazing graphics, sounds and controls. Great work.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Simple little game, good take on the theme. Music was great, very ominous!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Sorry, wrong window for the previous comment.

I liked this, managed to kill some baddies. The shooting sound was well made, sounding good even though was repeated throughout the entire play. Great feel overall!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:09am

neat! :) very cool spaceships. you might add textures. the controls where a little odd at the beginning but felt natural at the end. A little bgm would have been cool allso.

someone says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very cool game. The controls seem a bit broken for me. If I move the mouse up very slowly, the ship turns left rather than up, and moving left slowly moves down instead. Moving the mouse down or right work as expected. Moving the mouse more quickly works as expected but it makes the game almost unplayable as I cant aim. I am running the game in Linux.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]