Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hermes

by BinRoot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Hermes, the curious middle-man in the space age. Collect as many minerals from the other planet as possible, and post your high score!

Be sure to turn up the volume - I spent far too long on the soundtrack :P

Tools used:
- Emacs (text editor)
- Phaser.io (JavaScript game engine)
- bfxr (sound generator)
- Audacity (sound editor)
- Gimp (image editor)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#115Audio3.57
#595Humor2.26
#643Theme3.14
#695Graphics2.89
#812Mood2.70
#894Innovation2.69
#950Overall2.79
#970Fun2.54

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

the music loaded but nothing else (about 2 minutes)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

Controls are a bit awkward, but the soundtrack and sound effects are nice. Interesting premise.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

All I can hear is the music. The screen is black. No ratings since it was unplayable.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

I could hear the music but the screen just stayed blank. In the console there was an error "Cannot set property 'font' of undefined" in the fixText function.

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

great graphics + audio

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Soundtrack is amazing, gameplay needs to be polished.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

Nice little game, can become really challenging.
The controls respond well and the music helps the ambiance.

BinRoot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

Fixed the blank screen bug! Try it out now! :)

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

This is an interesting game, but wow did it ramp up difficulty fast. I felt like it wasn't giving me enough minerals to reasonably use the shield more than once per trip, although I may have held on to the few I had for too long as I died.

The audio combined with the storytelling each trip made for a great combination and the graphics matched the quality. Very well done.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Worked for me! The blasting part (space) was definitely fun and satisfying. GJ!

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

Sound track is really cool, I also really liked the astronaut!
I couldn't really figure out how to play, was going from one side to the other a bit clueless xD

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Couldnt really figure out the gameplay. After some time i was just boosting from one side to the other collecting minerals, with literally hundreds and hundreds of aliens floating around doing nothing.

The general premise is nice, but the gameplay needs some fleshing out.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Had trouble figuring out what to do... Some of the ingame text was off screen where I couldn't read it. Nice try though....

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14am

Fun game. It does ramp up quickly, though, to the point where it seems near impossible. Especially since the shields seem to cut out sometimes even when I have minerals left?

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Simple at the start, very cool at the end!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09pm

This was cool! Fitting for the theme, entertaining gameplay and cute graphics. Nice entry!:)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Simple little game, good take on the theme. Music was great, very ominous!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

Didn't know what to do!
Also, keys are being "bubbled up" to the browser, so when you use up/down, the entire browser screen scrolls vertically.

lakael says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice music, interesting concept. Of course I, like a fool, go straight to the alien thinking we could be friends.

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:32am

Good job, man! My score kinda got crazy. Every time I delivered, it changed up and down. Gets hard pretty fast, doesn't it?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]