Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

interball

by foolmoron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click (or touch) and drag to play. Collect white orbs to increase the timer and try to stay alive!
Zoom the browser out if the game doesn't fit!

Tools used:
Unity 4.6 beta
VS2012 for programming
Bfxr for sounds
Audacity for sound editing
GIMP 2.0 for image editing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#58Innovation4.02
#167Overall3.65
#175Graphics3.79
#279Fun3.40
#280Audio3.20
#475Mood3.08
#758Theme2.94
#761Humor2.04

Comments

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52am

Oh man, this one is so cool. High votes when the voting starts!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30am

kind of confused by this one. The criteria for getting the timer to fill back up feels very ambiguous.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

The little white orbs increase the timer! Kinda abstract, I know.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

I like how the playfield changes as you play. It'd be nice to have an alternate control scheme. (keyboard arrows LR)

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Really fun and unique gameplay. Graphics and audio are great for this style of game. I had the ball get stuck barely rolling once and turning didn't affect it. It also seems that balls can go through walls if rotating the board fast enough. Even with those issues, this is still a pretty great game!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

So pretty! I really love the simple controls, too. Intuitive controls can really make or break small games like these, and you nailed it!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Straightforward gameplay and beautiful design. The timer bar around the frame is my favorite part. Great work!

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Cool idea! The ball bounced a little too fast for me to control it very well, I think.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

Nice game. Love the idea and arcanoidy feel.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

I noticed a distinct lack of pokemon?
~9/10

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice game, thanks for web. Love the simplicity and random generation. You need to make it a smaller resolution for people with smaller screens (like me). Also need to remove those horrible overlapping textures. Other than that, love it!

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Interesting concept, like the visual style and the audio, didn't get the hang of it though...

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

The more I play, less points I got! Dat physics! Good job.

reaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

This looks pretty and plays well. One of the best entries I've come across. A little confusing at first, but well done!

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Awesome concept, amazing execution, your games are always visually stunning - like candy. I wanna play this on my tablet :D

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

Cool pinball game! I'd love more bells & whistles.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Liked the concept a lot, and the visuals and sounds made this so much better. Like a perma-roided Pinball. VERY solid entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Really well polished. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

foolmoron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Thanks Jupiter!

kdunee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A nice little game. It took me a moment to understand what the goal was (especially since the web version didn't fit on my monitor) but had some fun with it later :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Hey there. Love the restock time mechanic, very good pinball-like game. Gets a bit tricky once starts falling in middle, perhaps very slightly larger, so extra fraction of a second before rebound from the nasty 'diagonal mid-placed' walls would allow longer to play... but Good Job!

doomista says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I'd like to control the game with keyboard and maybe add more sounds to the orbs, so player can make also music inside the game. Cool idea, I like it!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

This is really cool, but hard to play. I can't picture where the ball is going but it was fun to play anyway.

malf says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20am

Web version is not working, 500 server error

foolmoron says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:00am

Try it again, itch.io must have been down for maintenance or something

Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:47am

Really cool idea and super challenging. I'd like to play that on a tablet or a mobile phone.

TautNerve says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:57am

Fun and interesting take on a familiar mechanic, can have
a lot more depth with some sort of power up system but
overall I think that it's simplicity is it's strength so
hard to tell. Anyways I played quite a few times and had
fun, so great game!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:05am

I like the world system but I'm not very fond of the control. At first I was thinking I had control over gravity by turning and it tooks me time to realize that the ball was not moving with the board.
It results in some strange collision if you turn really fast.

I think I owuld have more fun with the game and especially the quarter generation system, with just a classic controllable ball ( arrow key ) being bumped away on collisions.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This was a nice game. Great job.

grillaface says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:26am

Super smooth, great colors!

dcampos says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:58am

Really nice and innovative concept, but it's somewhat hard to control the ball.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]