Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Cookies (of semi-destiny)

by iMer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You play a fish-o-naut enslaved by the kitty overlords and your mission is to find and capture the cookie planet!
You find there is a strange series of planets which seem to interact with each other*..
Directed by Michael Bay**"

Aah, its that time again.
Totally overestimated what I could get done, to my defense - I had my PC fail on me and some other stupid issues which cost me some hours.

Anyways! I didnt really have any inspiration.. so I just went with the literal meaning, connected worlds.. via portals.. (ahem)

Controls: WASD or Arrow Keys. Space to shoot once you've picked up the jar of bubbles






I planned to make this relationship more clear, but I ran out of time. Oh well, next time maybe

The game is based on a wrapper for SFML/Box2D I wrote
http://github.com/imermcmaps/SFMLEngine


Linux build is untested, should work though.


*planned.
Planty planet <- Ice planet <- lava planet -> cookie planet
water <- melts ice <- lava -> bakes cookies
** not really directed by michael bay

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.53
#468Graphics3.21
#689Fun2.89
#724Overall3.05
#849Mood2.65
#870Theme2.74
#1112Innovation2.21
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Why you no Mac?

iMer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

@Andrew: Dont have a mac to compile things on ;)

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Pretty good, but could do with some sounds as there is nothing. Pretty fun though.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Your game seemed funny, but it is lagging a lot, I couldn't walk without stopping every half-second. I also got these messages in the console : "Failed to create texture, its internal size is too high (5000x2000, maximum is 4096x4096)".

iMer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@Quetzakol: Mh, It should never even try to create a texture that size, highest res texture should be the light buffer which is 1024x576

cobrajs says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

Pretty cool, but the avatar moves a little slow (which made that one world a pain since it's really long.

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Cool, the game ran pretty good on my PC! The shooting was a bit akward, because if you ran forward while shooting, you die... The graphics are pretty good and moody. Good job

reheated says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Hah - I like the explosions and my guy's head.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Some of the pixelart is pretty good and the fishbowl as helmet is funny whehehe. Nice one

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I cracked up the first time I saw the death animation.
Also the fishbowl as a head was cool.

Movement is a bit slow and I sometimes killed myself unexpectedly.

A pity you couldn't finish, would have liked to bake myself some space cookies.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]