Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Way Home

by kei - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY
-----------------

- ENTER to start the game
- A/Left to move left
- D/Right to move right
- W/Up to jump
- ESC to reset the level

GOAL
------------
You have to reach the end of each level with both characters controlling them simultaneously. If you fail, you have to start over.

SOFTWARE USED
-------------------
- Framework: Phaser
- Text editor: Sublime Text 2
- Graphics: Adobe Photoshop CS4
- Sound: http://www.bfxr.net/
- Other tools: Leshy SpriteSheet Tool(http://www.leshylabs.com/apps/sstool/)

SOME NOTES
----------------

Well, this is my first Game Jam and i had to learn a lot of lessons the hard way. First of all: use a framework that you have used before.

This game is a proof of concept and barely resembles the original idea. I think i'm going to develop this idea further, adding a bunch of game mechanics i had in mind but that i couldn't implement due to the lack of time.

The game was only tested in Chrome and Firefox. There are some known bugs but they are not game breaking.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Theme(Jam)3.93
#194Graphics(Jam)3.85
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#371Innovation(Jam)3.07
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#512Mood(Jam)2.86
#583Audio(Jam)2.24
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00am

I really liked the graphics and the overall aesthetic
though the controls were a bit clunky.
Great job with a new framework

kei says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Thanks for your words and for playing!

abayb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Good graphics and nice gameplay. Over all idea isn't really anything new, but that's okay, it was a hard theme.
Audio could have used a little more work, the sounds were a little abrasive.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02pm

The graphics are really good ! A little music would up the mood and the sensations a lot !

Anyway, you used the theme nicely and some level designs are really good.

Nice entry :)

kei says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Thank you guys!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Not the most original idea (well, the boxes were somewhat new!) but the most annoying thing was the controls which just didn't feel right for some reason. Nice art and aesthetic though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Not the most original idea, but really well implemented.

Sestren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Respawning seems bugged. About half the time I die, one of the player sprites tries to spawn in the ground and ends up dying in an endless loop. Seems like a neat game, though.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Looks great but that bat bites.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

nice pixel art, and good use of theme, it isn't new idea but was good made.
Congratulations!

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

This was a very fun and polished puzzle platformer. The last level was tricky but I finally completed it!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

I liked the little hair animation and I think the avatar sprite is well done - you could even go further in terms of animation. I think this would help the overall feel immensely.

The mechanics worked fine but I thought the game was getting too difficult too fast, but considering you did this in such a short time it's completely understandable.

Good job :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Nice graphics. The start and end of each jump felt a bit strange, anyway great job :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Double smurf.

kei says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Thank you for playing guys! I just uploaded a version with improved controls and some bugfixes (the infinite respawn is one of them). Hope you enjoy!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:57am

Buen trabajo! Congrats on your first Ludum Dare!! Please do develop this idea further, as I liked it very much and can see the potential. Neat graphics and great level design. Well done!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:09am

A bit frustrating (everyone hates flying enemies, and the birds are no exception), and the end of the jump freezing is odd, but otherwise pretty polished. It might be nice to have a counter so people know how close they are to the end of the game.

Frankus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice graphics :). Makes a good game to pas the time. The bat was a bit hard to get through though... Great job!

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:00pm

The controls are kind of sloppy making the game a bit frustrating. As mentioned before not really original.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]