Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet fighter

by IcyLava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a planet fighter...
(Keyboard keys are rebindable)
WASD to move.
H, K or right mouse button to switch planets.
J or left mouse button to shoot.
P to pause.
Java JRE required.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#413Fun3.21
#519Humor2.38
#594Audio2.65
#766Graphics2.78
#788Overall2.97
#926Innovation2.64
#955Theme2.59
#982Mood2.43

Comments

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22am

"Your success can only be described as number." Thank you for adding humor. This is one of the better LD games, good job!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

Heh, thanks, I'm glad i added that :P

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:21pm

can't get it to run on linux :(

/Downloads/Planet fighter/native\linux/liblwjgl.so

says it can't find this: maybe cross-os paths?

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

hmm...well my best guess is the single '\' that's there... I'll try changing that in just a sec.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Changed, if it still doesn't work then I have no idea what to do.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Pretty nice fun game :) I enjoyed it

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Difficult to play that one. Being unable to tell when an enemy is damage is a little difficult.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very cool game and it works on Linux!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

@uprightpath Yeah I added the death sounds for the player and enemy, but didn't need a hit sound for the player and so I forgot to add it for the enemy.
@Charlie Thanks! Glad you liked it, and good to know it works now.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Awesome game. It works good under Linux

IcyLava says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Thanks! :)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

cool game! the patterns very interesting, but enemies have too much life, especially when using pink bullets.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Well, I didn't want to make it too easy, so the more waves you beat, the more health the enemies have. And I think the 360-spread planet would have been overpowered if it would've done more damage. Though it can get pretty fast with the fire rate power-ups. Thanks for playing!

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice scrolling shooter type game and good use of the theme.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

Fun game! Nice concept with revolving planets.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

@kyru, @EndingChaos Thanks! I was afraid my game didn't quite fit the theme.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Controls were a bit oddly placed for playing with the mouse, but it was pretty fun overall. Sounds effects and music were a great match to the overall feel!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:55am

nice shooter. thou i didnt completely get the point of the tools. i was not shure how often an enemy has got to be hit to get destroyed. good entry for 48 hours

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]