Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Garden

by bendmorris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an incremental game about the connectedness of life. As your garden grows, more animals will come to live there. Use the tools at your disposal to try to maintain a balance and prevent anything from growing out of control or going extinct.

Like the real world, this game features indirect effects. For example, if you use pesticide on the ants, you may end up hurting the beetles. Why? Because spiders eat both ants and beetles, and with fewer ants to eat they'll start eating more beetles.

The Garden was made with HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#394Innovation3.37
#600Theme3.20
#611Humor2.24
#638Overall3.13
#717Fun2.87
#721Mood2.80
#1052Graphics2.26

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Good idle game but does exist other things except ants and grass?

bendmorris says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Yes - once you have enough ants, the next one will appear. It doesn't take long.

Liz England says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I really enjoyed this - I've played a lot of incremental games, but I loved how this required careful tending to get it to grow. I spent way too long playing it (wish there was a pause!) - I looked away and came back to find my ecosystem collapsing under the weight of deer and wolves :) Very nicely done.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice job! A pause button would be great -- I didn't want to stop playing but needed to step away for a while. Once the cats went extinct I just gave up.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

a wild ant appears :D

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I keep trying to quit, then I decide to let it go a little longer haha. You did something right!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice game!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I played this game for about 15 minutes, went to coyote, hawks and corn then I couldn't understand how to fight the extinction.

Everything finally died and I didn't understand how I could fix the entropy.

I seemed that everything I could click made the things worse.

It's a very good entry but some kind of explanations of how the things interact with each others (other than just percent) would be great.

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

I like the idea, but it took a long time for more than three items to appear for me.

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

Wonderful! Very relaxing and fun to play. Would've been awesome to have indicators next to each number showing whether they were currently increasing or decreasing.

bendmorris says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Just in case it's not clear, the colors indicate whether something is increasing or decreasing - green is increasing and red is decreasing, and the brighter the color the faster they're changing.

oggyiu says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Just love it! But the hint is quiet unclear, my cats all died and I forgot how to make them again! Nice game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Hi there. Interesting simulation, but I think it needed a bit more content sooner - or maybe just a few more things to keep player occupied. Got as far as 4 things (Bush). Good job!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Cool game! Its addicting :)

tanjent says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Thanks for opening my eyes to a new game genre! When I think about it some more: most games I've played seem to have a core of "incrementation": levelling up, reaching the next world, getting achievements, improving your (motor) skills, earning more, getting more XXX ... Really basic human stuff, man.

Funny that when my kid brother showed my cookie clicker I thought it to be the most silly and pointless thing ever ... but it's really an archetypal game mechanic, we just dress it up in lots of logic and gfx, like this silly action rpg I've been playing for 100+ hours just to get all the last level 9 items ... Well, anyway, nice game and thanks for making it! (...and sorry for the philosophy :))

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:05pm

nice, interesting take on the theme

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:44am

It was relaxing to play this game.

I went until cows, but they were dying. I guess I had to take care of them. All of a sudden all the insects started to die, but my actions against their predator were useless.
Hopefully a small colony of ants came back in my garden after a short period and the ecosystem had reborn.
I will be more careful this time.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I like the take on the theme. I was toying with that type of interpretation myself before opting for a different path. The ecosystem was really robust, which made the game play itself for a great while. I got to 11 species and had very little trouble keeping them in line. Then I decided that grass would rule it all, trying to get it to overshoot. But I never managed how much I tried. After that I got rid of all animals, which was a challenge. And they kept popping back. So I decided to KILL ALL LIFE. Which was really the most challenging and game-wise interesting way of playing it. Doesn't work too well as a moral in the story though, but clicking to keep ants at max, spiders at minimum and cutting down all plants was really fun. (And I succeeded, totally destroying the ecosystem.)

Dans17 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

Very interesting game. I think it would have been more intriguing with an animation of your garden going on as you played.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]