Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Singularity

by TheMorfeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DISCLAIMER: The optimalisation of the game is the worst there could be, and i am really sorry for that. The game can, and probably will run really slow. I was really tired at the end, and that's when i wrote the entity code, which causes most of lag. Sorry :/

*POSTMORTEM UPDATE INFO*
I renamed the game jar from build.jar to Singularity.jar for better UX
========================
Use arrow keys or A/D to navigate through menu, the rest is in game's help.

It's a really short game, more of a proof of concept for a mechanic of two levels played simultaniously.
Still, it is kinda playable. So have fun. Or i'll find you c:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Mood3.64
#179Theme3.76
#188Graphics3.76
#201Audio3.35
#500Innovation3.24
#523Overall3.24
#585Fun3.00
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

amazing aesthetic, though the constant frame drops are very strange.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Looks loveley and has style.
I got a bit frustrated when the characters got stuck at corners.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Plays very slowly on my computer. Like at 15 fps.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Great graphics and audio, made for nice ambiance.

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Nice idea, but a bit hard

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Performance issues plagued my playthroughs, but I liked the idea and the execution was good.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Not sure if it was just my computer, but I started out ok then things got really slow/laggy. I also had some problems with the portal going to level 3, where the top player couldn't enter it for a few seconds, and then the top player got stuck in the small section over the ice lake. Otherwise an interesting mechanic!

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Nice idea and execution, but the character got stuck after a while and couldn't continue.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Sorry for the performance issues, as well as collision detection ones, but thanks for the feedback ;)

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Love having to think about both "situations" at once and driving your eyes up and down and up to find the best next move to do.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Not counting the glitches, I think this game is just the right amount of frustrating. The levels were clever, and the graphics and music were great. Good job!

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48pm

I accidently pressed S and restarted, the game started lagging after that. The admosphere is really good. The concept doesn't really feel new, but fits nicely with the theme.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I had a few frame drop also which was surprizing, overall great look though

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I made some awful mistakes that made the framerate drop in The Singularity, where it is checked whether you are hitting an entity or not. Sorry for that, mates!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

It's a real shame about the sluggishness and getting players stuck, because it's a really atmospheric game with good controls and I really like how the two worlds work. I hope you get it fixed and release it afterwards.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

@ElectricSeagull i am currently writing a platformer engine, in which i want to fix those errors. Maybe i'll rewrite it using that engine ;D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Looks nice, but getting stuck spoiled it to me completely; I can't afford restarting every time it happens. >.<

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Runs kinda slow on my PC, but the idea is cool!

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:51am

Absolutely lovely graphics, art style. Couldn't really get a hang of the gameplay, though, and my machine didn't really take too well too it.

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Enjoyable game, short but sweet :)

I didn't have performance issues with the game, and thought the platforming controls worked well. The only thing I had a problem with was the hitbox for attacking. It seemed to be wider than the graphic, but there wasn't any visual feedback until the enemies died. The bouncing in the uppper world when getting hit might be a bit too harsh as well, but wasn't really a problem.

Loved the pixel graphics and atmospheric music as well. Had fun playing!

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:54am

Nice style, but it was quite bugger, the characters kept getting stuck and out of sync.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Cool game! Sorry I didnt get so far. I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]