Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic Call Center

by Troy - Jam Entry

The Intergalactic Call Center has been connecting calls, transferring customers and giving useful information about our galaxy since 2078 and now you're employed! But working here can be difficult as the whole galaxy doesn't speak the same language!

This game is played completely with the mouse.

Created by Troy Atkinson
Music by Kevin MacLeod

(At the last minute I removed Yautja language as it was near impossible to see.)


E-mail - troy@helloworldstudios.co.uk

Check out Archie from helloWorldStudios' game here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=36499

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Theme(Jam)4.12
#28Innovation(Jam)4.12
#35Humor(Jam)3.86
#107Mood(Jam)3.70
#110Overall(Jam)3.67
#115Fun(Jam)3.56
#213Audio(Jam)3.42
#445Graphics(Jam)3.23
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

211 SpaceBucks Woohoo! This was pretty entertaining great job :D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

Not a bad idea in theory, but I personally found it to be a pain that you couldn't see the message when you opened to translation guide. I was basically trying to remember symbols I had seen, and it didn't go very well. I love the atmosphere and ambient sounds though!

Forever.derpy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

I made 478 Spacebucks, pretty fun game. Good job.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

I made 733 spacebucks! :) This game gets high marks for innovation! And even though it is a parody of a mundane job, it was quite fun. Also - your alien characters were very stylish!

I wish that the phrase book was on the screen the whole time and didn't require me to click the button each time; and it would be awesome if there was some alien speaking/jibberish audio to go along with the alien words.

Troy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

@TeamQuadratic I really appreciate your feedback, I've updated the game so now you can see the message while in the phrase book. Thanks again!

Troy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

Thank you @PixelOaks & @Forever.derpy for the feedback, I'm glad you two enjoyed the game!

@deathray Thanks a lot, your feedback is much appreciated and as you were typing that I've updated the game so you can see the message while in the phrase book! And congrats on the highest score so far! (:

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

933 spacebucks!

Fun game, but I don't miss working at a call center in real life. It'd be really cool to see this fleshed out more - dialogue trees instead of just a single queston/answer for each character, and audio to go along with the speech, would be great places to start.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:52am

Pretty fun game. It's like papers please but in space. Great job.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:20am

Only 634 spacebucks. :(

Seriously, this is a perfect use of the theme. Nice job. I also used calls to make a game for this theme, but I did something from the past, an old switchboard. Your's is very cool!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

848~ I've been working at a call center for too long... and this definitely had the same feel. Awesome mood and audio

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nooo! Im playing or working!?!?!?!? Lol! Really nice.. seriously. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Hi there. Interesting game... 233 spacebucks! Maybe build up number of alien words slowly, I had to consult phrases for everything because all at once.

stasss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

WOW)) Very funny idea. Great game play! It's really perspective idea.

pmrsco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

500-something, I forgot. Neat concept which was well-executed, the sound design was great. I enjoyed my time as an employee of the intergalactic call center.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

290 spacebucks the first play. Fortunately nobody called me using the Yautja language... it's almost impossible to read! Anyway, the idea is awesome!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

5 stars for humor and Innovation is 5 stars.

twintrite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

468 :) at first I was a bit confused with the translation and that the phrase is also visible when you open the book so I switched a lot back and forth but in the end it felt really good to help all those intergalactic callers :D cool interpretation!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Fun game well executed.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

The languages were great!
Good game, nice application of theme
Really fun!

Troy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Really glad people are enjoying it (:

jgthespy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

669! I'm space rich. Fun take on the theme and the Papers Please genre. Nice work!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:15am

Cool concept & interpretation of the theme, but it is a bit on the slow side. Despite that, it's a good thing there aren't any time limits or anything, because the game's hard enough as it is! It also took me a while to realize that the other languages were letter-by-letter "translations" of Earth letters, so I was thankful to have had the time to make that link. :P

It was also nice to see that there are quite a few responses for every call, so it's never in the player's best interest to guess an answer. It's also great that the four direct responses change per call, so the experience remains fresh for the whole game. Well done! (And yes, it was a good CALL (hahaha) to make the change to show the last message on the Phrase Book screen, just for convenience.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]