Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Circle Of Life

by Tom Snively - Jam Entry

In the food chain, we are all connected. The butterflies eat from the flowers, but the birds eat the butterflies, but the foxes eat the birds.

In "The Circle Of Life" your place in the food chain keeps changing. You are the purple butterfly and have to eat from the flowers. But don't get eaten by the birds. But then you are a blue bird and have to eat the butterflies. But don't get eaten by the fox!

WASD or arrow keys to move
[ENTER] to restart

Tools used
- Unity3d
- Figure (iOS app) / Cubase
- MS Paint / GIMP
- lots of web pages for Unity answers

I had a great time creating my first Ludum Dare project. I worked solo, but I did use clip art from http://www.mycutegraphics.com/

I am primarily a composer and sound designer, so if you need music or sound for your game, contact me through http://www.tomsnively.com/

Tom Snively
--
musician, freelance composer, saxophone player
Hear sample music at http://www.tomsnively.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#114Humor(Jam)3.27
#354Audio(Jam)3.14
#535Graphics(Jam)2.97
#538Theme(Jam)2.78
#572Innovation(Jam)2.70
#593Fun(Jam)2.65
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#646Overall(Jam)2.79

Comments

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

Pretty different take on the theme compared to everyone else. Interesting game however.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

Pretty good, if repetitive. Though it is possible to reach a state in which it is impossible to finish a level.

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Nice twist on the theme. I love the art style.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

@DaGamesta true, you just have to eat those butterflies faster, especially some of them on the right before the other bird eats them. :-)

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I like the interpretation of the theme. Being a developer of educational games, I definitely enjoyed the concept and gameplay.

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Fun this, loved the sound effects :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Played through this many times, I like it. The sound is adorable!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Interesting take on the theme. Like the colourful graphics. Would have liked the chance to play as the fox to bring it full circle :)

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

@bluemaroo3 Yes but who eats the fox? If I keep working on this I'd like to add a fly, grasshopper, and frog.

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Hehe this is sweet. And a great interpretaion of the theme. I love the om nom nom sounds :)

smizmeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55am

The sounds man... the sounds... (very funny game!)

I like the progression and use of the theme.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

It's too repetitive, but theme is great.

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Nom nom nom!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Hi there. Very cute game. Good use of the theme. Loved the nomnomnom sound, or at least that's what I think it was... Good job!

bentog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:26pm

NOMNOMNOM

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting take on the theme. I just loved the nom-nom-nom sound!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Nice take on the theme! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:10am

I want to play as the fox! The bird gets pretty hard, when the other bird is stealing your stuff!

Also, loved the sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]