Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel

by Adam Gould - Jam Entry

Interact with a parallel universe! Manipulate your surroundings to affect another world that has somehow connected to yours.

All sprites, sounds, music, levels, and everything (aside from the font) are the creation of the Gould Brothers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Theme(Jam)3.63
#194Innovation(Jam)3.41
#201Audio(Jam)3.44
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#317Graphics(Jam)3.54
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Fun game to play, nice art and soundtrack (does get a tad repetitive though) - a shame there aren't a few more levels

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great entry! Wish there were more puzzles.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Cool concept and nice puzzles! :)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Its not bad at all. I actualy enjoid myself :) A couple more puzzles would be nice !

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Fun game, a little bit short though ;)

tbmsilva says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I really liked it! Sadly it has a little amount of levels... Audio is perfect and the art is good!

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Really nice music and awesome visual effects. Impressive, considering the time limit!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Pretty cool, will be cool to have more puzzle of course, but also more clue to find where to go instead of check each block.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Very solid game! Had fun playing it.

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

cool game concept and good tutorial levels. sadly not so levels afterwards but i'm looking forward to a post jam version ;)

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Well done, though controls could have been better. Space to change level instead of enter, and maybe also space instead of clicking on the objects would have made it much nicer to play. The game itself is good though, interesting idea. Graphics and sound are nice as well.

TBSHRichard says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Gameplay:

(Positive) + Easy to learn controls and game mechanics.
(Positive) + An interesting idea for a puzzle game. I enjoyed looking for the objects to interact with.
(Negative) - Not really any puzzle solving; only look for the specific objects to interact with. It would have been nice if there were more objects that could be interacted with other than those required to solve the puzzle. This could have been done, for example, by making it so the gem gets moved away from the portal in certain situations or even making a specific order in which objects had to be interacted in. Also, I noticed that the fans could be toggled on and off, so there could have been a timing puzzle used with this.
(Negative) - Having the walls on the right highlight as the mouse moved over the triggers on the left made things a bit too easy to find; only highlighting objects when the player was right next to the trigger could change this.

Graphics:

(Positive) + The graphics are consistent and each one looks like it belongs in the same world.

Music:

(Positive) + The music fits the game very well, in both mood and quality of the instruments used.
(Negative) - The music does get a little repetitive after a while. An option to mute the music would've been nice.

Final Thoughts:

A lot of potential for improvement, mostly need to make the game feel more puzzle like. Overall great job!

SelfishGenome says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Really good, short but seems polished. Would of been nice to see some more ways to hide and activate links.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I really like the implementation of the theme. The puzzles were very unique, however it felt more like a point and click adventure, because the only real challenge was finding the triggers. You should definitely make more levels!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Awesome innovation, really fun! A very cool puzzle game. Great job!

Linkigi says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Pretty cool thing you've got going on here. However, the game quickly became uninteresting due to the puzzles just being, 'find the button'. I get the feeling that a lot of cool things were planned for this game which weren't implemented due to time constraints. So I think if you continued to work on this and made the puzzles more interesting you could have something really cool.

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This is such a unique puzzler that I have ever seen. It should have more interaction if you are still working on this. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]