Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

R-elink: A link between worlds

by RaycoSantana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle FPS that uses a device (the R-elink) to see through two different worlds, bring back objects from the other world or teleport objects to the void between worlds.

It has control descriptions on screen but in case you don't know how to play a FPS, move with WASD keys, left mouse for interaction and right mouse to hide/show the R-elink.

The key Escape pauses the game and bring the menu where you can adjust the mouse sensitivity or restart the level.

I didn't had time for audio so the game has only one song.

Hope you like it!


I used:
Unity pro
Visual Studio Express 2012
Maya 2013
Paint.net
Abundant-music.com (music generator)
FL studio
SFXR sound generator

Re-used code libraries:
Unity Standard FPS controller
Skin shader (from the unity wiki)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Theme4.16
#38Innovation4.12
#218Overall3.57
#366Fun3.26
#432Graphics3.27
#440Mood3.13
#506Audio2.78
#774Humor2.01

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Love the concept of your phone being a view into another world - it would be great to see this expanded into a full game!

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

I really like the idea ! :D Good work !:D

phasebeta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

I could see this being a full game as well.

Lashiz121 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

The game is quite good, but my eyes started to hurt because the relink world is not quite aligned with the actual one

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

Thanks all for the feedback! Im actually thinking in making a full game, I had a blast making it and it was a lot easier than my last's LD48 entry.

@Lashiz121: if you press the right mouse button you can hide the R-elink (the phone) I did this because there are time where you need to see the whole screen (EX:while jumping ) if you press right mouse again you can make the R-elink show again.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40am

Best idea i have seen so far :D

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42am

Really cool idea. I didn't get all the way through so I'm not sure if they ever had a use but if I had been you I would not have bothered making the trees and flowers haha. Every second counts. A really cool idea though.

I have an idea about how you did things but I make check out your source just for fun.

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

I think that this could be the start of a very interesting game, however right now there's not a lot of there there. Particularly the teleport and the bring objects over don't seem very connected. I think if you wanted to expand on it, you could, but I'd try to:
* Figure out a more coherent theme.
* Integrate the puzzle mechanics more than just "spot a thing and press the button."
* Do a lot of level design.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Neat idea of a window through a device, kind of like ghost-hunting. I wish the arm went up and back down a little more quickly though. :D

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

That was a really clever use of the theme, and executed beautifully! Hope you make this into a full game, it's a great concept.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

Awesome idea! Great job! Best use of a mobile view i've seen in a long time

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Oh wow, this is excellent. Would take me a year to make this! [The only thing I would change is the music perhaps, I'd go for something more ambient and mysterious?].

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

Superb

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06am

Love the concept!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

I played the Windows version on a big screen with max graphics, and I have to say, for Ludum Dare, the 3D graphics are amazing! One thing though, you could work a little more on the physics, because it was really difficult to understand what I am seeing. Maybe one could be able to rotate the phone to landscape, that would make it easier.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

You are right! Our concepts are very similar! You definitely pulled off a much better (and more complete) game than I did! Excellent execution!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

I liked the music. The concept is great. Like another user said I felt a little disoriented afterwards.

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

Wow what an great idea! It really has great potential. You should make a full game out of it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

This is really cool. Nice to see something experimental for a change.

klusi0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

One word: Masterpiece! :)

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Pretty cool concept, kind of reminds me of Elizabeth's power in Bioshock Infinite.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

wow nice gamplay

ebolbe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Good work! You have a good idea :D

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nicely done. I like the R-Elink device. Great interpretation of the theme!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I really like your take on the FPS genre, and the use of "augmented reality" as a mechanic is very clever. I'm impressed with the level design and the variety of designs you were able to come up with in the short time. One post-compo suggestion is to add the ability to make the trees and flowers materialize like the platforms when you click on them - just for fun of course.
Great job! I hope you make this into a full game!

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Great concept, audio is really good as well.

Cezel_ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

One of the best ideas i've seen so far and. also the game is really fun!

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Love the idea and the models are pretty.

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Awesome idea, executed brilliantly. Could see myself playing this if it was made a full game.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Excellent idea!

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Very clever game mechanically and just plain fun.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

That concept/gameplay is marvelous! :)

I would suggest make physics more dynamic.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Wow thank you guys!
I'm overwhelmed by so much positive feedback, seriously THANK YOU!.
Due to the high number of people asking me to make a full game I will try to make this into a full, already created the game's page on IndieDB.com so you people can follow it, the page is awaiting approval as soon as that happens I will post it here!

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Amazing idea! Really enjoyed playing the game. Would be great, if you could make a full game out of this concept. :)

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Cool game, but my eyes and hurt after too much walking around with the r-elink up... Might work better to have the display take up the entire screen, so you simply flash over to the alternate world? Maybe it was just me though ;)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really interesting concepts and well executed with decent graphics. Audio is kind of intrusive, but your clever use of the theme makes up for that well!

Inudenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Really great! I like it!

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Very original good looking game with some high potential.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

This is the best game I've played here on Ludum Dare, I'm amazed that you created it within 48 hours, I enjoyed every minute of gameplay! Thank you for this game.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I'd play this with Oculus Rift.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great idea, it was kinda boring though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Needs more and better puzzles. Maybe either make the link pad bigger, or have it slightly off-center. Otherwise an excellent game.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Neat idea. Puzzles fairly simple but get the mechanic across well. Visuals nice 'n crisp too. Wasn't a massive fan of the music

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This might be my favourite of all the entries I've played. The visual design is great, (the colors remind me of Mirror's Edge) and I love the music too.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice concept and graphics :) well done

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I seen some screens on twitter while the game was developed. It realy shows how we always stare to our smartphones.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

The music is really annoying but the core mechanics are solid. Would be ace on Oculus Rift and some motion controllers!

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Sweet concept, gave me a headache looking at that phone's screen, so I'm glad you are able to lower it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

We saw your post on day one. Great job with the theme.

MoArtis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20am

This a simple and great concept! Nice game :)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44am

Would pay $5 for a full game! Like seriously, I love puzzle games.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38am

Really neat concept, I think you should take a harder look at it after LD and think about turning it into a full polished game, I think you're onto something good here :)

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

This is a metaphor for our modern lives.
Walking around, eyes never turning away from our phones.
Looking away only to jump on moving platforms.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

Loved the graphics. Interesting use of theme here with your phone.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48am

Original idea) I like it.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

As others have said, good interpretation of the theme and an innovative idea!

I agree that it would be easier on the eyes and brain if the viewport on the R-elink matched the fov of the section of screen it is covering.

Good luck with making it into a full game!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I liked the idea of ​​the game, very good game

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Ace.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Wow very unique, I love the concept and your take on the theme, the only gripe I have is feeling dizzy having to refocus my eyes when teleporting those blocks. I get that it's from the phone camera perspective but it'd be easier on the eyes if it was like looking through a window. Probably just me though :P

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Great idea. I think that for when you teleport objects away, it could have been that they go from the world you see to the one your phone does, sort of like the opposite of what happens with the green-to-red objects, instead of them just disappearing. Apart from that, I liked it.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

@Almax27 & everyone feeling dizzy with the viewport: I actually fixed it, now the phone view aligns with the camera view, but obviously I cant upload that version here since is against the rules but I will upload a post compo version with heavily updated graphics and the view corrected.

I made an indieDB page for the game so you can check when the new version is ready:
http://www.indiedb.com/games/r-elink-a-link-between-worlds

Thanks guys for the feedback!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Cool idea. I can't pass 3 level. Any Tips?

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

@hb3p8: You need to teleport the small round blocks to make a stair case

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Awesome thing you did with the phone!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

A very interesting take on the theme! I like the idea. The controls could have used some fine tuning and the audio seemed very loud, but other than that, I enjoyed playing. Well done!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Lol, I've never rated any game so high, like this, everything is so nice, it's a new experience, and very good job :D

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

very cool idea!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59am

Cool concept. Liked the effect on the screen as well which made it look like an actual screen.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

Brilliant idea and very nice execution too. Cant think of a decent criticism!

Majko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37am

Great idea, but deserves liiitle more better visual look, and the music is horrible, sorry. But overall... Not bad!!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:38am

It's a really nice mechanic! At last level I lost my ability, I guess that's a bug and I wish character was a little faster in move.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53am

@Majko: Thanks for the feedback, I know the music its not the best but I didn't had time for more, if you think the graphics are poor you should check out the post compo version I'm making, its a lot better visually (objects actually have textures on them lol),also the phone screen align with the screen so it doesn't hurt your eyes anymore (although is lest realistic it makes for better gameplay), also I will include real music instead of that random generated music.

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Love the concept! And there is the sources! I can't wait to see how you to that :D

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19pm

CaptainNakou: I can tell you here, its pretty simple, its a camera that renders to a texture, then the screen of the phone has a material that uses that texture.

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nicely done! Cool mechanic, never really felt the need to hide the phone though.

Very unique :)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:08am

Interesting idea! And the look and feel felt great for 48 hours. One suggestion I'd have is to have some kind of unique ability when the phone is not engaged; as it was, I felt like I was just playing a game within a game; as if the phone was the only interface and I was playing a normal platformer.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Great idea and clever mechanic. I can see you doing a lot with this. My primary suggestion is that I think you should lower the phone and get it away from the center of the screen, so it doesn't block the view as much. Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Great idea!

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Dunno how to power on my smartphone :/ http://i.imgur.com/PoSXq6c.png

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

@spolsh Oh that isn't supposed to happen is supposed to be always on, if you are playing the web build refresh the page, if that doesn't work then it may be that your graphic card its not compatible with some of the screen effects

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Good gameplay and a very good idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Hi there. Great idea and good implementation. VVR. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Hi there. Great idea and good implementation. VVR. Bookmarked for another look later, got to lv5 (one after the 3 moving platforms) Good job!

Potartz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Not a bad concept. This theme is difficult to do with any originality, but you've pulled that off quite nicely.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Solid idea - like playing Elizabeth in Bioshock Infinite! A little concerned that I'd be playing the game on a tiny postage-stamped window on my monitor, but the puzzles are engaging enough to overcome that issue. =) Music was kinda nice at first, but eventually became a looping nightmare - finished the game before I had to start hunting for sound options, thankfully. REEEEALLY nice work for one developer over two days! Would be up for seeing more!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Excellent entry! Very clever and unique idea! Great interpretation of the theme and great game overall. The little cubes that need to be teleported are a bit annoying when you get too close, because you kinda shoot through, but bugs are to be expected in jams.
Regarding the music, Abundant Music is a great resource, however, I find the kind of music it generates a bit unfit for a game like you have here and feel that it would've been better without it.
Anyway, goes on my top 3 right now! Congrats!
P.S: Was the game Modulate an inspiration source by any chance? :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

@mihaivdev: Actually I didn't even knew that game existed, but the idea is pretty similar.

Actually at first I had a different idea that didn't involved puzzles at all, the idea was that you where in this super grey depressing office environment but if you looked through the windows you could this vivid brightly colored world so your goal was to complete dull work task to try to get to the brightly colored world but then I thought that would take too much work for only two days so instead I remembered that unity had this ability to render a camera output into a texture and the game Portal came to my mind. And that's how the idea was born

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:59am

played all the way through, really enjoyed this mechanic. I really hope you continue with this, I would love to see a longer game with more puzzles with this type of mechanic in it, excellent job! :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

+innovation +theme!

Really liked that the world through the phone was somehow more nature than the world outside it too. Its kind of flipped from how we think about things.

I had a few gripes about control on touchpads but I think I can see past these things for what must have been a super-busy overproductive weekend :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I like the concept!

mons657 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Very cool game. I like how you can bring blocks from one world to another, and the gameplay mechanics are introduced at a good pace.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Oooh man this looks like what could be the next portal. Graphics could improve, but gameplay is there. I loved uncovering the solutions to the increasingly difficult puzzles. Great work, keep it up!!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:21am

Pretty good concept. Like It =)
At first time can't undertand how to interact with objects and what to do. I thought about I should do something with plants and trees. Or with portal.

BigHairGames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:33am

Oh man, this was cool to play. Please keep working on this game

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

cool idea! you can even develope it more! i like this kind of game that you imagine that could have done a lot more with time! nice job ;]

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:19am

Great idea but the movement felt a little clunky/slippery/slow and the gameplay was a bit of a chore. I think the time to bring up the device could be faster maybe? Music doesn't seem to fit.

The gap before the boxes at the end had me replay the last level... opps. The grass/trees is a little distracting although very pretty. I didn't understand I could click those boxes to destroy them for a little bit since the colored objects were the linked ones. I was searching the grass for some colored object.

Very good looking and amazing you can do this in 48hrs!

Artamus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice game, congrats!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:34pm

It's a shame I can't R-elink the flowers and trees into the real world...

Nice idea nonetheless

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Liking the concept, although the music is really confusing and loud!

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:22am

Nice use of augmented reality as a mechanic and theme :D
I can see this on the Wii U using the gamepad as the R-eLink :D

psychonull says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:19am

awesome idea!! .. great game.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Nice game but my Laptop is getting really hot...

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Quite interesting.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really great game. I had a similar (but very different) idea that I ended up not using because I decided that being able to see a different world in a just a small section of the screen would be too hard.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice idea and great implementation! Good work! :)

2HitMatt says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Pretty cool puzzler!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:59am

Incredible work, innovative, played well, probably the best game I've played this LD!

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Good fun ... although would say started to get a little samey after a while (I'll continue playing tomorrow though -- it's gotten too late for now). It felt like a 3D platformer with some "Spot The Difference" thrown in (find the green thing). I rather wanted options and consequences involved. ... but perhaps they're there and I just haven't played far enough yet?

What did the gardens represent? Felt like there could have been many things that one could move and removing them from the other world might damage the world and that could be represented by the health of the gardens?

Anyway, good stuff -- thanks!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Puzzle games aren't that common, and FPS and puzzle. Not that much.
Good work, I got hooked.
Make it longer!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Loved the mechanic in this game! Only trouble I has was with destroying the stacked cubes: the phone seemed to clip through the cube in front of me, so it was hard to use sometimes. Loved the grassy feeling of the hidden world. Great job.

brookman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Overall a very good entry! It is really innovative and the graphics are cool. My only remarks are the slow movement (a little "gluey") and the parallax of the device screen. For some reason it made me feel a bit sick walking around and looking though the screen. But I finished the game nevertheless!

Sharkxx says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like it but it started to lag out in the 3 world but still quite a fun idea

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:16am

Not bad. The concept is cool, but the gameplay itself is pretty plain.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Really awesome entry :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:39pm

The puzzles they could have been more fun if they were more challenging, but the audio, graphics, and above all, the concept make this game really worth the try. Hope thy'll make an app like that one of these days ;)

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:12am

I am experiencing some problem with the web version. I cannot see anything on the smartphone. Plain Black. tried with chorme and IE. Strange to be the only one. I will download the windows version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]