Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Words

by Sophie Houlden - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sort of a typing game; you're given bubbles of random letters.

Make words, and your own rules :)

(personally, I like to try and get the longest legible sentence I can. but it's always fun to be as rude as possible too)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Innovation3.47
#715Graphics2.87
#778Fun2.80
#940Overall2.80
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

xhunterko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

Good simple fun! Cool idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

Ha, lovely idea. Feels quite punchy ;P

Ysty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice. Very smooth and I like the effect for when you type a letter that isn't there.

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice concept, very cool presentation and feedback. Sneaky title too :)

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Disgraceful misappropriation of the theme, and quite fun! Lots of potential for different game modes, you should get on the phone to the producers of Countdown.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cool little thing with very nice effects! Love it.

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I like the twist on the theme. I did the same :D Nice and simple idea !

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Suck no Triffid God Fish bowl tickled pips sax crashed ole!
Craig gets evil doc to let phils sis tug gods whip.

Fun nonsense.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:39pm

A neat little toy. I like the "explore what you can spell" nature of it with the nebulous letter-bubbles floating around. It'd be cool to see some game mechanics explored with this type of input.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:37am

Interesting idea, but kinda wish I was trying to unscramble actual words.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:46am

Very innovative. Just needs more game. I like the word play on the theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]