Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Levitans

by oakus - Jam Entry

Ancient nation of Levitans were too proud and got their land spread to pieces. Help them reconnect it so their wonderfull civilization can flourish again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#11Theme(Jam)4.29
#35Mood(Jam)4.03
#40Innovation(Jam)3.97
#46Audio(Jam)3.93
#124Overall(Jam)3.64
#156Graphics(Jam)3.97
#179Fun(Jam)3.41
#335Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

swich says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31pm

With more detail in the art style and hand-drawn baloon animations (the vector based baloons look kinda unfinished), this could be a nice rainy-day game to chill out to.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47pm

the double balloon ones didn't have quite enough feedback fast enough, i feel. lovely atmosphere with this one, though. reminded me of orisinal games.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very impressive art and background story! The gameplay is fun too! Nice!

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04am

Amazing idea and interpretation :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24am

I really dig sound, graphics are great, innovative. Great entry!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Beautiful intro. Love the audio / visual design. Gameplay related to the theme really nicely :) overall, great job. If I had to say anything, sometimes the gameplay felt a little difficult due to the physicsy nature. I think this idea has potential for expansion - would make a great touch game! Cheers and good luck!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

Beautiful and kind game, loved it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

the islands with multiple baloons are a litte bit hard to control but overal a great game.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34am

Good idea and great graphics. It is a very relaxing game. It may look it needs more time of develop (pause button for example) but this is a game jam so... Good job.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

Excellent mood and theme use. Maybe if it would be possible to deflate the balloons, it would be even better.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great concept, beautiful arts. I agree with swich, use the beautifully hand-drawn gfx for everything and you have a great zen game for mobile.
Worth polishing (just minimal stuff)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

The ballons look kinda out of place with their bright flat design, however other than that, the game is perfect. The drawings looks unique and beautiful. One of the best if not the very best game I played in this compo. Fantastic job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice work! Graphics, sounds and atmosphere in general are very well done! Really enjoyed playing this entry ;)

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

Love the art style; gameplay is clever but could use some refining (it's not always obvious the effect your clicks are having on buoyancy, and the airship is hard to control precisely). It's a good game; it just needs more work (and levels!)

...and a proofreader. ^_^;

Squidtank says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48am

Very relaxing, and every time I managed to connect and saw the people rush over to each other I couldn't help but smile. Good visuals, as well. Great work!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:10am

Very good mood, so peaceful ! Nice graphics and music. Too bad it is too short :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Neat little game! The backstory reminds me of the backstory to "Mighty Quest for Epic Loot". I personally thought it was hilarious when the little people fell off the islands.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Really like the innovation!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice nice nice... I agree with the top comment: a tiny bit more polish and you have a great lil' game here! I felt a bit like it should be a much shorter connecting phase - it seemed a bit "forced" compared to the rest of the game... I'd love to see a smoother transition between levels, so it didn't feel like levels at all... like there is no fade-out/fade-in just new balloons appeared and the bridges came apart, and new bits of land appeared/dissapeared all without the fade in / out - then it would feel like one continuous journey.

Anyway, fantastic entry! Great tune too - fit the aesthetic perfectly.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:09pm

The idea is excellent, and the backstory is intriguing. There aren't enough levels! (and the airship is very difficult to control.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]