Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shadowland

by Democritus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shadowlands is a little side-scrolling brawler in a dark world.

You've been on the track of the dark sorcerer for a while. Many a scuffle with his mind-controlled minions lay behind you. Now there's more and more of his bewitched followers - he must be nearby!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51am

I liked it, was fun to play :)

Windows version could use an exit button.

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52am

I like this game.

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41am

I liked the idea. I liked the mood but some more lighting could do wonders for it. Lots of animation and AI done in a short time, good work!

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

I liked it but at some points the lighting was too dark. And maybe add some music.

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

gameplay is really good although it lacks more moves (special moves perhaps or some combos), but it's fun as it is. game would probably great when sounds and more features would be included.
i couldn't see also some parts because it was too dark.
and is that cloud's or is it just me? :))
great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hi there... Love the big sword, the hit and die graphics. Amazing assets for 48h! Good job

Potartz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Not bad. I think with some more polish and content this could be pretty rad.

Democritus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Hey, thanks guys. I know it's a bit dark and the world is pretty... empty but I fought with the controls for so long that the world was just thrown together hastily towards the end ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]