Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ultra VR

by remmy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a game about a game. and you. and a cat. and potato salad i guess.

if the command overview is 3pixely5you:
real world: mouse
VR: left, right, space
switch: tab
start: enter



this is my second ludum dare entry :)

i'm so happy i didn't need a day for collisions again because i had similar ones last time :D

in the link list is a bonus mp3 included with 34 seconds of me trying to make a good meow x3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Humor3.25
#206Theme3.73
#215Innovation3.62
#248Overall3.54
#395Mood3.18
#484Graphics3.19
#534Fun3.07
#701Audio2.43
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

Can't believe I beat it! The solutions are so hack-ey it's like I'm trying to glitch the game, which is awesome.
Is there an alternate ending if I turn off the potato salad at the end?

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24am

no there's not, didn't think of it, mainly because before he just stood on a platform… glad to hear you liked it :D

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

Liked it a lot, but I couldn't finish it. Going back and forth between realities got a bit annoying after a while, but the concept on itself really works.

Great job.

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

The VR mechanic utilizing all of the objects in the room is fantastic. Switching between the two worlds did get a bit annoying (maybe make the animation shorter), but I did finish the game, which was much fun. The art and animations look good.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Wow. Potato salad :D Made me laugh.

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Interesting take on the theme! I liked it. I like how the worlds are connected. That was sweet. Very innovative. I liked that a lot. I agree with @cardboard that faster switch animation would have been nice.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

This was a really clever puzzle plattformer. I'm amazed you managed to create puzzles like these within 48h. That's amazing =D

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really great! I loved discovering how things work

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Love the graphics, interesting game. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice game, also..that potato salad!.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

Cool concept, but I feel like it would have been nice to use the same controls in the real world instead of just mouse. Idk, just a personal opinion. Nice job!

DinoHeaven says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

lol! The ending was the best part :D
I like how the VR was connected to the real world, great puzzles! a big plus for the cat and potato salad. :)

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:56am

Fun game, having the real world affect the vr world was really cool.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

This was great. I agree with whoever else said that there was potential for an alternate ending if you got rid of the potato salad. Regardless, nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]