Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ennaffa

by MintArcade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: You need a powerful computer.

Controls:
[Q] toggle render mode (Please do this before complaining about FPS)
[WASD] to move
[T] to swap worlds
Web version is now disabled due higher computer power demand (plus exporter is still in beta).

Story:
There is two worlds connected together by invisible, incomprehensible, inconceivable force.
Collect all singularities to overcome adverse effects this world's have to each other.
Estimated play time: 2 hours.
FIX 0.1 Framerate movement fixed, audio fix.

Important notice to Chrome users.
No other browser do this, but Google Chrome Browser for Windows falsely marks this game as malicious and blocks it. This is completely false. Click [Show all downloads] -> Recover malicious file. This is security Chrome feature and it marks many other files like this.

Tools used to create this game:
Brain: Ah d'oh.
Game Engine: ShiVa3D (Because it is that awesome)
Modelling: Wings3D, Blender3D
Graphics: Gimp, Inkscape, Texture Maker (Sorry, no Photoshop)
Sky and terrain: Bryce 5.5
Audio: bfxr, Garage Band

And that how I did it: http://youtu.be/HyFRdALas98

Follow me on Twitch/Twitter to see how I did it (in past broadcast), look how post-compo version will be developed, or to find out about and play more of my games. (On behalf of Shameless Self Promotion Group;))

Links:

Twitch: http://www.twitch.tv/mintarcade
Twitter: @MintArcade
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MintArcade
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=328240514&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#175Graphics3.79
#327Audio3.11
#350Mood3.24
#355Theme3.52
#514Overall3.25
#694Humor2.13
#699Innovation2.98
#882Fun2.67

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

First tried the web version but the framerate was too low to enjoy. When trying to download the windows version it failed.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

Great game. But I did not find the way out of the maze. The environment outside did look more interesting than those grey walls and floors.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

To find you way out of maze you need to switch between world [T] as {Spoiler Alert} they are slightly different.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Overall very good game. I like the theme a lot.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

I don't understand how you people make something like this in 48 hours. Do you even sleep?

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Awesome game, I really like the idea behind it. My only concern is the lack of frame rate and speed.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Fantastic visuals, but I would really have wanted to be able to run around faster. Climbing that colored ramp too for ever. Which was a pitty, because I would really have enjoyed it if the running was faster.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really fun, loved the visuals and the music.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I made it outside! I went on that flower and got scared since I was so high up! D: I love the art style, comic book style graphics are always a win for me :D Clever level design as well.

I found a minor bug where if you swap worlds to quickly the audio cuts out. Probably because the previous audio couldn’t start properly, minor issue though – ship it! :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I don't think you optimized your First Person controller very well. It seemed to slow down with the framerate. When I was in less laggy areas, I would walk much faster. The lag really did make the game unplayable. I did, however get to see a good amount of the game. Overall you did a fantastic job on the art. Good Job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Agree, it run slow on some hardware. Pressing [Q] toggle rendering mode which is helpful. I't will happen automatically once FPS drops below 20. Music is ... my bad programming affected by "not enough sleep" syndrome, but it's already fixed :) And, because of the common demand, walking speed was cranked up little bit.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

As others have said, separating the framerate from the move speed would make the experience more consistant.
The environments were pretty amazing, they were very well themed and looked fantastic. The mood was great as a result and the level design seemed quite detailed and well thought out.
I have no idea how you made all this in 48 hours. Great work!.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

A good game, but without music it wasn't very fun to play, I really liked the concept and the colors!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Wow, that's quite a world -- I mean -- set of worlds you've created! Don't have time to dig in for very long as there's clearly a lot of walking and figuring out to do in there, but I'm impressed with the amount of gameplay you prepped in 48 hours! And the construction feels pretty solid. Could really use some more audio, though. The silence is maddening.

You might check out the game I've been working on prior to this Ludum Dare; it's got a lot in common with your entry here, only it's a 2D adventure. Look me up later if you're interested.

Take care and nice work!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Great Graphics. Exploring this was actually fun, the lack of audio takes bit of the experience away though.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Now I get it! It's not framerate, it's movement speed depending on framerate! Few hours before submission I stress tested engine and totally forgot to put back animation/movement speed back. Oops. Now it is back, sorry ;) Mental note to self: next time check, before publish.
To Linus123xbb: There is music, it is just looping badly (lack of time). Please download FIX 0.1

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Btw about making this complex levels in less than 48 hours; check my Twitch stream where I record 99.5% of whole game developement process. Of course, if you follow me, you will see more game development streams (shameless self promotion).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Interesting game. I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

Wow, this was fun! I made it past the spiral slide thingie and then I drowned. Love the music and the big 3D world! Too bad my laptop can't handle it very well!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

Btw about making this complex levels in less than 48 hours; check my Twitch stream where I record 99.5% of whole game developement process. Of course, if you follow me, you will see more game development streams (shameless self promotion).

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36am

How to delete my last duplicating comment?

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

Wow for 48 compo your graphics are spectacular! I didn't even care that there was no music!! Good, solid entry and great effort!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Well, the visuals are amazing outside! Definitely a good looking game for 48 hours!

Homletmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Very nice visuals and music, but ran like crap even on my halfway decent computer. You might want to tone down some of the particle effects and the water, because a lot of people won't be able to play it at all otherwise.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good game, I like the music and atmosphere, but fps goes wrong

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nicely done. The cel-shaded graphics are nice, and I like how the audio tracks reflect the similarities and differences between the worlds. I did find the movement a bit sluggish, however. Overall, very cool, and I'm impressed with how much content you created in two days. I didn't finish the game but I'll definitely be revisiting this world!

Lythom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Hi there ! Here are some feedbacks.
What i liked :
- Polished 3D render
- Big play time
- The concept is not really inovative but is greatly used
What imo could be improved :
- Music overlapping when switching worlds pretty weird to hear.
- Keyboard+mouse control really slow and still not very smooth, in particular when swiching worlds.
- More feedback would be appreciated on the elements that can be activated.

Big work, Bravo ! Thanks for the game !

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47pm

It was cool how the two worlds seemed similar in layout, but had some differences that let you explore seemingly inaccessible areas. The contrast between the first maze-like area and the wide open outside was neat.

I also liked the art style, and how the music blended between the two worlds.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice game and cool graphics :) Made me a little motion sick you should try an other fov angle.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I like the concept, and sheer size of the game is impressive! Very creative, good job!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

This was cool, although I think the elevator thingy (The first door+lever you find) didn't like being ridden.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

GG! Very good art. Like how the music switch between world. I'll be checking later if you plan on doing any updates. Very well done!!!

kikito says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

It took me a while to understand how to advance. I only got two singularities before getting stuck. I could not find the {spoiler} different part of the map {/spoiler} to continue. Games about "finding things" are not my thing, but I liked this a lot. It's indeed very polished for a 48h thing.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Awesome aesthetics! Great music! very nice experience! also, 2 hours of gameplay? holy cow! that must be the longest game in Ludum Dare history!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Looks nice but sadly it worked too slow in my computer

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

I loved the mechanic and the visuals. It set a great mood.
My computer isn't a beast but it's pretty decent and the FPS was almost unbearably low even on what I think was the lowest quality setting.
I also felt like sometimes I was being penalized for exploring when I wanted to see what this part of the world looked like in the other, and ended up in water. I like the asynchronous worlds but this isn't the kinda of game where you should be afraid to explore.

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

This was a great games and one of the best I've seen so far, but it was a little frustrating to return to the maze everytime I die, sometimes without even knowing why I died. The field of view of the camera should be bigger, but the great landscapes make for the game's flaws. Great job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

sadly, my computer is marking this a malicious... and won't let me run it... :/
Doesn't give me the "run anyways" option like other games here in LD.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

It looks so inviting, and as a coder I'm really appreciative of the technique in it, so I'd really love a web version I could try!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

Could use checkpoints, the character feel was a bit sluggish, scale a bit off. Extremely impressive for how much you got in for a compo game. I like the effects that lead you.
There seemed to be a bit of unused and dead space in the levels that could get cut out to help guide the player initially.
Having the bright cell shaded texture be the elements that are not in the dark/red world works somewhat but is a little inconsistent.

Luin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Cool engineering room !!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Creative concept. Very good mood

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Pretty, stylish and atmospheric. I thought the effects were nice, and it's clearly a big game. The change in music between the different worlds worked very well.

Vermacian says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Thats really great work for 48 hours (2 hours of gameplay??? how is that even possible). Love the graphic style and how the design of the different worlds really are different. Great game keep it up

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I like the art style used here, but the movement feels slow for the distance I need to cover.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Chrome claims the file is malicious and refuses to let me download it :/

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nevermind, just saw your note about Chrome.

The game looked great, but I didn't care for it too much. I made it outside of the maze, fell off the long ramp by switching worlds, then kinda lost my desire to play when I respawned inside again :/

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:41am

Somehow I got logged out when I clicked save...
So I have to retype this.
Anyways, got it to work.
It's good but gets laggier and laggier as I progress.
But I liked the Exploration.
I also liked the mood.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Nice use of theme, but does cause a lot of slowdowns on my hardware.
~funkeh

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I like the sense of scale it has. Nice work!

juaxix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:03pm

this is pretty big ,you are a monster :D

Sogomn says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]