Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bond

by MagnesiumNinja - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to check out my LD30 submission.

Bond is a game about a boy from the slums and a girl from the sky. It is a puzzle platformer with some emphasis on storytelling.

-----

Before you start playing the game, there are some things you should know:


1. The game supports both Xbox and Playstation controllers, natively
2. If your computer does not have an up to date version of DirectX, your game will error
on launch. You can ignore this and continue, but you will not be able to use your controller.


Enjoy the game!

Chris Klassen


UPDATE 1.1: Fixed a bug that was preventing the opening dialogue from being initiated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#42Overall3.96
#97Mood3.67
#133Fun3.63
#151Theme3.80
#180Graphics3.78
#286Humor2.82
#479Innovation3.26
#548Audio2.73

Comments

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40am

I can't figure out how to get past the cave part with the rope (D:), but I love the concept and art! The audio is a bit too loud, but overall it's good!

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43am

This game is great. I enjoyed it very much. I has some rage-quit moments tho :P

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

I like your art and the back story text that pops up. Nice work!

dkkarate says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

This was really good. The mechanics felt spot on and it was an all together great game :)

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

I had fun playing through. The intro was very good, and the platforming provided a little challenge without being tedious. The controls were pretty stiff though, and there are a few bugs (the first time I played through I got stuck in a floor after leaving the first room). I also entered the first cave from the back and then climbed my way down, because I had jumped up to the exit from the top of the boxes, thinking it was the next area? Good character building despite such a short time with them.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Nice job. I got a bit frustrated with the cave part explaining the secondary button. But this is a great game nonetheless!

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45am

Would be really great if game had skip dialog button if you play it for second time. Fun game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Thanks for all the positive feedback! I agree that the first cave is perhaps a little too difficult. My goal was to make it challenging and I may have overcompensated for that!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

The game is original and quite enjoyable. I'd add some indicators to the UI to remind the controls to the player, I kept forgetting which button did each action.

The input didn't feel responsive, but perhaps it was my laptop.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I played through this whole thing in spite of poor level design choices (I shouldn't have to die to find out what I have to do to move forward, though at least there were checkpoints often) because I liked how you were using the theme enough to keep trying.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Really great game, some nice platforming, combined with a good story :)

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:28am

aaahh sorry but I turned off. To much dialog. was to frustrating. when i was finaly allowed to move... bing another textbox...

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:32am

I don't have an xbox controller on hand. How do I climb ropes?

Lazdo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

I personally found the level of difficulty appropriate, and really enjoyed the game and simple art style.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44am

@sorle: I'm sorry to hear that! Beyond the opening, there isn't too much dialogue.

@nintendoeats: All you have to do is hold up!

@Lazdo: Thank you very much :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47am

I just played through it. I appreciated the difficulty of the cave!! EASY=BORING!!! Good entry and good luck to you :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

A bit boring. The text annoyed me to death and the ending was overly dramatic. Cool interpretation of the theme though.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55am

Cool game, I really love the switching of the character's on each other's backs and their respective abilities. Really cool concept and application!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

Amazing, i like it! :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Really good story for a LD game, Good job.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:36pm

solid entry, digging the mood in the cave part

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great entry! I like the more story-focused approach to the theme, and the story was short but interesting. Art and music were nice, especially the lighting in the caves was cool! Gameplay worked really well, never really got frustrated and the abilities mixed it up, great job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I don't understand how you pulled that off in a 48h jam. Your game is original and immediatly get me into the dialogues (which I usually skip). Falling from the sky is a very good intro for a game :) Characters who carry each other is fun two, without speaking of both set of skills. The story is very appealing and I want to continue my adventure. Gamepad control is a very nice plus. And finally the level design, without being perfect, is really good and challenging (86 deaths to reach the end). Congrats!

A few notes/details for a possible future update : 1.Some platforms seem reachable by normal jump and in reality I actually miss them and had to use double jump. 2.The dialogue box shouldn't disappear each time a different character speak, that not convenient to read. 3. Laser turret's are just insane! 4.The button which has to be pressed using double jump star ... that's very tricky. I almost quit by despair right before I find out by pure hazard. 5. The rope should be took automatically, without having to press up (too me)

Fazz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

This is an impressive amount of work for 48 hours, well done. Can't really fault it. Thank jeebas for the save points.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

I really got into your story, and you set it up very well. Quite a lot of content there.

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Great proposes and theme idea. I like very much of atmosphere and graphics aspects.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Great platformer game, good story and lot of detail. Jump to ropes was difficult but overall well balanced.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Beautiful game! Loved the connection between characters and the story! Quite amazing for a 48h compo game!!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:59am

Oh wow, this was fun! I think I died like 58 times trying to get to the end ._. This is amazingly complete for a compo game. I really liked the ongoing dialogue, though I feel like in a post-compo version you might want to clean up the plotline a little (as the ending feels a little bit sudden, and there's a few passages that are kind of overwritten/themes that are introduced and then left off). I really wanted to see the city at the end... !

But hey, those are literally my only complaints. I loved the dual-character control, the difficulty curve is perfect, and it's a really sweet story *_* Thank you for the game!

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

cool story and mechanics but the controls made me rage quit a few times :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]