Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wild Africa

by Bronaldplo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey,

For my second LD I have made 2 little Games,
1. African Wild Chess (Multiplayer, 2 person)
2. African Wild Run (Singleplayer)

I kinda lost the theme because after 2 games that failed I decided to make one(later that became two) that at least WORKED! :)

African Wild Chess

This game is about some savanna animals playing chess, it's kinda simple and the idea is the same as with normal chess.
You kill your opponents king(Elephant) and you win. All the animals playing can move in different ways. I wanted to make some cool AI but it was too difficult and everything got pretty messed up so i decided to make it multiplayer.

Controls:

-Mouse : Click on an animal an you will see all the spaces available. just drag your animal to an available square and drop it.

African Wild Run

I made this game too because I wanted a singleplayer game too. Its kinda like Packman but the Lions (who chase you, the giraffe) are a bit stupid... Try to score as high as possible!

Conrols:
-WSAD to move around


That's it! Hope you enjoy!
Bronaldplo

PS: No music included... I had to no time :(
PS: Reuploaded on 26-8-2014 with some minor bugfixes :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#441Graphics3.25
#694Humor2.13
#805Fun2.76
#915Mood2.55
#1015Overall2.69
#1067Innovation2.35
#1156Theme1.92

Comments

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10am

man i cant believe you can make a giraffe and lions out of 5x5 area... talent:P

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

Can't play. An exe-file is not web-playable. That has to be named "Windows".

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

Oh, sorry for that... fixed it right away!

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

I really liked the chess part, the other one was really easy. Overall nice package.

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

@yodamaster - as someone else who made only a windows game, you have to put a link in the web option unfortunately.

It's a shame your first games failed, not the end of the world though :P I managed to break 1000 on sp, went back to 0 :P aaand you may have problem with the .exe, chrome likes to assume all .exe are malware.

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Cute art! I really like the chess-like game, it works really well!

rubna says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

amazing use of color :0 chess game was very neat, tight package! ths running game was kind of too easy, but it's cool that you have two games in one :D nice job B]

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very cute art. Like the details at a so small sprite. very nice and colorful entry :D

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

How is this connected to the theme in any way?

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

art is gorgeous, given the limitations. both games run well and are enjoyable :D

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21pm

@Killbert

It isn't connected to the theme, you are right.. I tried to make a game that fitted the the theme but it failed. I made this game so that you could play at least something. Hope you enjoyed anyway :)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

The pixel art graphics looks amazing :)

cobrajs says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:03am

Interesting set of games... pretty good graphics, considering the self imposed constraints.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Got 148 :) Amazing that you could figure out the shapes with 5x5 pixels! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]