Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

When Worlds Collide

by OfficialDingbat - Jam Entry

'When Worlds Collide' is a free-roam sandbox game. There are no objectives. Kill enemy ships, grapple planets and send them into each other, or shoot moons into little bits.

The game is missing lots of features but it's still pretty fun :) Hope you guys enjoy <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

drstik says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I'd love to see you explore the planet grappling mechanic more. It was a lot of fun smashing planets together and using them as a shield to block the fire of enemy ships!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

This is very confusing at first. You ask yourself, why is there such a depressing background music? But after you grappled a few planets and smashed them into each other possibly killing millions in an instant or getting pursuit by angry pilots who just got their home planet stolen it all makes sense =P Nice game.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very cool. I liked smashing planets. I liked the thruster graphics. The enemies are tough, but I had a good time roaming around and shooting things. I tried to throw a planet into the sun, but it didn't seem to hurt the planet, the enemies, or my ship. I couldn't figure out how to dis-engage my ship from a planet, though.

JoeEliTommy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice silly shooter game with grapple mechanic. The graphics and animations are pretty nice. I didn't hear any music or sounds when I played.

The enemy ships were pretty dangerous. They sure did irritate me quite a bit when I was just trying to play around with the grapple mechanics. They were also relentless, so running away from them didn't work very well either. I was also disappointed that the grappled planets didn't affect the enemy ships at all. And I was unhappy at how easily the planets would get broken accidentally and disappear.

It might be nice to be able to un-grapple sometimes? Not really sure about that.

Finally, I found it quite strange that I needed to thrust continuously in order to follow a "fast-moving" planet -- but perhaps that's just because my team made a space game with quite different physics =]

-- Tommy

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:17am

Not sure what the goal was but I created my own : try to ruin the universe by simply crushing the most planets I could on poor innocent inhabitants who try to fight for their lives. I had some doubt about that strategy when I saw somewhere, somehow, the word "CHARM 0%" 8) The main difficulty is to aim enemies ship.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I really, really liked the overall mood of the game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys :)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Eh, not a fan of sanbox games, I'd rather have some more or less defined goal to accomplish, so I know when I'm done with the game already. ^^"
Still, the graphics and mechanics seem pretty neat, but I don't like the controls; Space seem somewhat alright, but it's the first time this LD I see Enter as the button to press to shoot. Personally, I'd prefer these to be mouse controlled (shoot left, mouse right? Or something?), especially with them cheating 360-degrees shooting bastards enemies, while I can only shoot in 8 directions. ^^"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]