Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hello Operator

by Chris - Jam Entry

*********************
*** PLEASE NOTE ***
*********************
This game almost certainly will crash, perhaps even crash your computer (witnessed on OSX). Regrettably this traces to an issue deep within the innards of a library used extensively in the app. This is a 'will not fix' issue, so please continue at your own risk!

A complete play-through can be found here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CSy3l56LvI

*********************
*********************

Not so much a game, more a story with a game inside it.

'Hello Operator' is a narrative based exploration of the Connected Worlds theme.

Step back to early 20th century Sheffield.
Live out your fantasy as a switchboard operator.
Click, drag and read your way through five days of monochrome vignettes.

Est. Play time: 10 - 15 mins

Big big thanks to Marck Thornton and Jin Chan Yum Wai for artwork.
Further thanks to Sam Green and Dan Mist for helping bring that 'uncouth American' to life. Check out their game here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=37631

Part of Beijing LD Jam 2014.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Solid build. Nice theme and mood. Game itself is a bit tricky.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Game starts, and I just see the fuzzy screen :-(
Played it earlier though, great work!!!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Got to play it all the way through, the frustration level is perfect. Great experience

Warboys says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18am

This turned out really well! Intentionally frustrating and I even exclaimed "Stop thinking, woman!!", so you really nailed what you were going for.

Great stuff :)

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Ok, so let me start by saying that it indeed crashed my computer, so I did not play to the end.
What I can say from what I've played is that this is a great, great, great game. First, your take on the theme is quite original (I mean, I'm kind of getting sick of having to connect or collide planets); the art style and sounds were are on the spot, and the gameplay mechanics totally unexpected and quite profound in how they somehow pit the player's responsiveness against the character's impatience. All in all, fantastic job!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51pm

quite a style, almost crash my computer though :)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09pm

oh man!! It crashes me indeed. I need to see the ending of this!! the mood and pacing are great - I can't believe that this was the result of a pivot. It feels like this is exactly what you set out to do and nailed it. and I felt so dumb for not writing the numbers down. so, so dumb. If it plays all the way through on your machine, I'm eager to try it out. (We should do a post-dare beer night or something!)

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

the main game is hard. but the story and mood of the game is great. GJ.

hbocao says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:27pm

The mood is great, but the game crashed for me. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]