Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Divided We Fail

by ninjascript - Jam Entry

!!! Arrow keys to move/jump !!!

Divided We Fail marks the second time this team has taken the Ludum Dare challenge.

The idea of controlling two characters on screen at once came to mind as soon as we saw the theme. At first we were going to use a zeppelin and submarine, but opted for a ground instead as a cheap and easy way to divide the two playing fields.

Last time we got a bit of gaff for the difficulty of the game, so this time around we tried to ramp the learning curve up a bit. The stages are generated randomly, and speed up as time goes on.

## Credits ###

Most of the artwork is pulled from other sources, but the two characters are original illustrations.

http://opengameart.org/content/rocket-0
http://opengameart.org/content/explosion-sheet
http://opengameart.org/content/hungry-dino-9-chiptune-tracks-10-sfx
http://opengameart.org/content/fly-launch-jet-yo-frankie
http://opengameart.org/content/24-cute-fighting-game-voice-recordings
http://files.anitalink.com/gamecache/hl/valve/sound/ambience/bee1.wav
http://opengameart.org/content/animated-butterfly
http://all-free-download.com/free-vector/vector-landscape/rolling_hills_311814.html
http://all-free-download.com/free-vector/vector-misc/blue_modern_city_vector_illustration_267221.html
http://opengameart.org/content/helicopter-cartoony
http://opengameart.org/content/golgotha-textures-tunnelroadjpg
http://opengameart.org/content/side-scrolling-fantasy-themed-game-assets

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#157Theme(Jam)3.64
#242Fun(Jam)3.28
#267Graphics(Jam)3.64
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#444Mood(Jam)2.98
#605Innovation(Jam)2.61

Comments

phasebeta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Rather fun!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

One more split platformer. OK.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

Nice! love the idea and the artwork!

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

I like the artwork. I also enjoyed the jump gameplay, reminded me of old Atari platforms. Good job.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

Cool mechanic - would love to see an interesting narrative surrounding these characters!

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Really nice idea and fun to play :)

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16am

I liked this game. Its hard but easy to get game. You have my respect :)

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Good game. I liked the mechanics.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I liked this game a lot, it was fun playing!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Good way to play, cute graphics. Difficult but possible.
Good game.

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

Game looks nice and is pretty fun, even though the mechanic is not fully "balanced". I really enjoyed the music!

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55am

Loved the graphics and idea. The controls were a bit clunky and hard to articulate but I had a good time playing it.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Thanks for the source. When you play the screen is moving because the scroll of the windows detected the arrow key :S
Lovely characters :)

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52am

Great choice to make the threats stand out both from the backgrounds *and* the other type. It makes it easier to use peripheral vision. :) One of the better entries I've played.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15am

Good game, good idea, everything works, I only would have liked a bit more of history or kick into the game :p Anyway good job ;)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21am

Some more audio queues would have been good, since my eyes were not able to keep track of two screen at once

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:28am

Cool idea, great execution. Fun game!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07am

I think the jumping makes the controls too sluggish, but overall it was pretty fun.

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58am

Nice game. The characters look cute. Thank you for your entry.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

Fun and challenging :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Great artwork and fun gameplay. Of course we are a fan of the split, multicharacter design xD

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very nice! The characters are beautiful and well inserted into the other graphic assets. The game is a little difficult... for me at least!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great style. Nice work

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49pm

That was a fun game. I like the graphics, and I like the juxtaposition of the robot and the little girl, pretty cute and funny. It was challenging to control both at the same time.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice work! Well rounded and fun! :-)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

Simple and sweet :). One thing I really loved was how the boxes caused a separation between where the characters were horizontally on the screen, just kind of felt nice as a way to make it feel more broken up but in a good way. Would have been nice to have some more cross-play between the screens, like the above character helping the below character and the other way too, but that would have got in the way of the simplicity presented. Overall it was a nice time spent with it :).

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

innovative and fun concept. however, quite difficult to play :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Like the two worlds theme and the changes in the music

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Great entry, love that music. My high score is 170! :D Nice work.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great take. This is very fun to play

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Simple but fun and addictive! LOVED the music! I think I could play this all day!

Warboys says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Super hard... my eyes were straining too (trying to see bees against a white background :P).

Fun stuff though, love the animation and art

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Good work on arts, you managed to reunit different ressources in a good way and the contrast between two worlds is great. Controls are clean so that's cool but I feel like you could have done something better with the obstacles.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:10am

Cool game! It manages very well the concept of the theme.
I liked the lives idea, also when shows at the end who died more and how much each character scored.
Good choice of artwork and nice music.
My best is 280 (212 meters) so far.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Fun game! It's simple & intuitive enough to just hop in and play. And it's actually a lot trickier than it looks! My only complaint is that horizontal movement in the air is a bit too slow, so it's harder than it should be to jump over obstacles. But overall, nice work! Also, nice touch with the watering can / laser cannon symmetry. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]