Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intersolar Super Spaceway (Excellent!)

by popcorn897 - Jam Entry

Sorry to people not on windows. I am not versatile enough to know that stuff.
And sorry to everyone who takes the source code. It's crap.

We didn't quite finish the game, but this is a playable version of it! We decided that we wanted to finish it though, so we will be!

Probably Glitchy!

Timelapse is finally done!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Humor(Jam)3.80
#69Fun(Jam)3.70
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#283Audio(Jam)3.30
#330Mood(Jam)3.18
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#548Theme(Jam)2.75
#596Innovation(Jam)2.63
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Really liked this, shame it ended so abruptly, the Windows 98 theme was very cool!

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

Pretty short indeed, anyways fun game!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

That's really fun! You should think about continuing development.

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

We will be! I'm going to be posting any future updates to my youtube channel www.youtube.com/jdevelops897 (getting things set up right now)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The game tells me to choose a planet and I can only select the moon?! Are you going to ask me to press "any key" next? I don't have such things!

Joking aside, it was quite nice both asthetically and gameplay wise although super short (I think the game congratulated me, I was too busy clicking and skipped it).

The controls are somewhat weird, why not just use the keyboard for everything (arrows to move, space to shoot)? It was also somewhat hard to figure out what I was supposed to collect and what I was supposed to avoid. It is also somewhat strange that the game scrolls vertically but the width is greater than the height, giving the player almost too much room horizontally. The fact that you could shoot in an angle made it a somewhat sensible decision though.

All that aside, this is a solid entry! Good job.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Complaints noted. We will implementing an alternate control scheme and adding some visual reference to what is good and bad. Thanks for the feedback!

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:46am

Enjoyed it, it was fun and it would be great to see more

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

Honestly, this way more fun than I expected. Shame that it was so short. The Windows 95 theme was interesting :D. Best part was the battle with many many objects and shooting them with the secondary cannon. Good job!

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10am

Awesome atmosphere, awesome feel, awesome graphics! Would love to play a full version of this game someday.

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:16am

Excellent! Really liked this, great music and sprites, really liked the windows HUD too. :P

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:32am

Fun, but short!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:38am

Loved the windows 95 look and feel! pretty sweet overall

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:05am

Tutorial is very nice touch

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Good job!

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

That windows UI was amazing.. Game is really great, but too short! I want more weapons, more crazy spaceship enemies and more everything!

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

oh god, I know there was so much on paper we couldnt possibly jam into there.
-sirmi

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The game is kinda hard but very cool, I like the retro style!

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Also I coud close it only with task manager (but I didnt mind that a lot).

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Im really sorry about that, I wrote that down as a bug before hand. It was fixed but and working but its happening again? damn.
-sirmi

leodigaum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Fast, but, a nice game ^^

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Cool! Pretty fun!

Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:34am

Great job. I just wish I could have held the mouse button down to shoot haha.

Joror says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:26am

Funny intro, nice cartoonishy graphics, and pretty decent gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]