Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Office Invaders

by Hamsternator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alright, the game none have been waiting for is finally here.

Office Invaders is a game that takes place in the near future where aliens attack humans everywhere through interdimensional portals. There seemed to be no way to stop these vile creatures until a brilliant scientist created a time machine and brought a champion from the past to battle the future threat. You are the champion, a dinosaur armed with a bone gun.

Use the arrow keys to move and block those puny lasers with your body so the humans may keep working on stuff, but be careful that you don't step on the squishy humans. Use the mouse to aim and shoot your bone gun.

Warning: I had some serious issues with a certain bug that I never managed to fix completely. If for any reason it doesn't spawn two enemies in the first wave you will need to restart the program. Likewise, if the portals doesn't disappear after you've shot these two enemies you will also need to restart the program.

This game was created in Construct 2 and I used several other kinds of software to create the assets.

Sound: Bfxr, Adobe Audition, GarageBand
Graphix: Photoshop, paint

This is my second entry in a Ludum Dare Compo and although I slightly wish that I didn't change my initial concept I'm still fairly satisfied with the final product. It's not great and will not be something that I will keep polishing but I learned a few tricks and that's all that matters in the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Humor2.95
#451Mood3.11
#560Audio2.71
#805Fun2.76
#858Graphics2.62
#1012Theme2.45
#1029Overall2.67
#1049Innovation2.39
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

The game is straight forward and fun. The biggest issue with it is that it's more fun to step on the humans than to tank lasers for them (because of the satisfying sound when you squish them). I guess you can't trust a dinosaur...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

I seldom use the word "corny" but this game requires it...!
Awesomely good.

PapaWhiskey says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Not a bad jam entry! Fun to play!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Very strange game. I got up to wave 11.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Ha nice. Great work, especially on the music.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

haha the music ;) really unique gameplay! Liked it

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33am

Obviously there are a lot of bugs. I had to restart the game 4 times before the bug went away. Additionally one of the guys was killed without him getting shot or stepped on and at I had to repeat wave 10. Also I found the game too easy as the aliens always shoot the same dude and the bullets are extremely slow and you can just walk into the bullets to make them not hit the dude. I wish the difficulty was harder and I'm sure you will fix the bugs soon. Anyways, I really liked the lizard sprite and the audio was good. The idea was there, there were just too many bugs going on which was probably a result of just 48 hours to make it. Overall an interesting game :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

Simple and great fun!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

good job.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Cool Audio, Awesome Graphics, and fun!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Wave 9. Score 518...Very humorous game. I had to relaunch it because it didn't destroy the portals after the first wave.
Fun to play, but I don't see the point in defending humans working at offices...destroying them would be better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]