Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Quantum Leap

by jayhof - Jam Entry

Quantum Leap is a action puzzle platformer created by Johannes Hofmann (@jayhof) and Bastian Hofmann (@HofmannBastian) during the 72 hour Ludum Dare game jam.
Both of us never wrote a game in Unity before and we certainly learned a lot. We even have a super hard boss fight at the end ;)

All assets (except music) are handcrafted by us during the 72 hours.
Good luck to all the other developers!


Story

The world is being taken over by evil forces, you have to unleash your evil side on the enemies and solve puzzels.
*Kick ass and solve puzzles*


Tools used
- Unity3d
- Sublime Text
- Photoshop
- SFXR
- aseprite
- Tiled (map editor)
- XUni-TMX
- Brain and fingers, sometimes not at the same time

Music - Credits
- "At Last" Android128 (Andrey) http://opengameart.org/content/at-last
- "Delusion" Alexandr Zhelanov http://opengameart.org/content/delusion
- "It's not my fault" Alexandr Zhelanov http://opengameart.org/content/its-not-my-fault

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#210Theme(Jam)3.54
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#246Audio(Jam)3.36
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#364Fun(Jam)3.07
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#395Graphics(Jam)3.36
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96

Comments

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21am

When you click on the Web link it says "Built with beta version of Unity. Will only work on your computer!"

Does not run.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

Love the graphics, music, gameplay, and innovation!

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

I tried it on another computer (with no unity) installed as well. It should run! We used unity 4.6 beta, maybe you need to update your unity player?

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

This game is really cool, love the art. But the player should stop walking when i stop pressing the button. :)

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

Nice game! I really liked the atmosphere. Well done :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nice work! You've got a whole game here, complete with final boss.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53am

Very fun and cool game. Excellent use of theme. Only complaint is that platforming feels difficult with the controls.

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55am

I really liked the music, that kept me playing until the end.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very cool! I love the art and the music. The gameplay was ok but not anything mind blowing, but that's fine. Overall, great game. :D

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Hi.
I also used unity 4.6 beta. Just remove the "Will only work on your computer" from your .html file, it confuses people. Nice game, quite a lot implemented. I find the the 'e' key difficult to use with WASD.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really cool game, I like the eerie atmosphere and there is a lot of content in this game. Shame you did not do the music by yourselfes. Overall a very good game. :) Good job.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I'm glad that both characters have different ability instead of just swapping models.

The artstyle and music made the game very pleasing to play. Good job.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I like the idea of separate the more "jump-platformlike" part of the game in the good world and the "shooter" part in the evil world... Good job, also the graphics are very nice and i like that style

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07am

@Reyn: I followed your suggestion and removed the red text, thanks!

Thanks to all of you for the nice comments, I will make sure to follow your advice and fix those things you said in the post compo edition of Quantum Leap. I'll also make sure to rate all of your games when I'm home from work, cheers!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I'd suggest adding more sounds to the game, that would really make it complete. Fun game though, and an awesome boss :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]