Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost with a compass

by Zylann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HOWTO:
Unzip files wherever you want, execute LD30.exe.
(.Net framework 4 might be needed)

---------------

You are lost in a forest where phantoms seem to suck your health out of you. You have a gun, but cannot shoot them, because they are... well, ghosts.
However, their world is connected to reality with portals. These can be spotted with your compass. Kill as many phantoms as you can in their dimension, but don't stay here too long!

-------------

I had difficulties to elaborate the full gameplay loop, but I actually came up with something a bit late.
The game is playable, there might be some minor bugs and lacks of things to do after 5 min playing, but I think I can add more gameplay in future updates.

Play with headphones for the mood! :)

-------------

- I used SFML.Net and a custom C# framework for the code (porting to MacOS and Linux should be easy with Mono),
- Reaper DAW, my voice and free plugins for sound,
- Paint.NET for graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

Excellent atmosphere! I like the use of shadows. Collision got a bit frustrating at times when I collided with the edge of trees and stopped moving.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28am

Very, very nice game, one of the better ones actually. Hard to play with small screen resolutions though.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice sounds e graphics. Gameplay is repetitive, as you said, but works well to a LD game. Nice job.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Wow. The atmosphere in this game is just amazing. I liked the use of the theme.
My score is 38 :)

Vandash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

I died, deep in a forest, in the dark, alone, surrounded by crazy ghosts.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

The atmosphere is grea

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

(ps : sorry for the double post).

The atmosphere is great! My score is 21, may be it could be more fun with a more nervous shoot :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

For me could use an end objective for a sense of completion besides score.
I do like the game over sound, text, and overall polished ui.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]