Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cluster Struck

by RaysAndLazors - Jam Entry

In Cluster Struck your goal is connect planets together to form a cluster that will be consumed by the mighty Worldeater.

You control your spaceship with arrow keys. You have 60 seconds to collect as many planets as you can. Avoid stars and black holes, as they will destroy your spaceship or parts of your cluster.

The game was made in 36 hours (halfway through the jam we realized that our previous project was a little too ambitious for our knowledge of the Phaser framework).
Made in Flash, using Flixel framework, coded in FlashDevelop.
Music by the legendary autotracker.py.

This is our first large project.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#210Theme(Jam)3.54
#354Fun(Jam)3.09
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#441Overall(Jam)3.14
#505Audio(Jam)2.69
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#561Mood(Jam)2.76

Comments

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Someones been very literal with the theme :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Starring the universe's most confused solar system.

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Could you add a mirror please? Newsgrounds tries to play ads which crash my browser so I can't play your game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

It's not nice to see an ad before a game.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Pretty simple game, but I like it. I feel like stars should have been even bigger so it's more of a challenge to avoid them (and so you can easily tell they aren't planets).

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

intergalactic katamari =P

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

You took the theme literally! lol At first I didn't get that the stars were stars, the fact that they were multicolored threw me off. Is it possible to beat this game? I only made it to 29 planets to feed whatshisname :)

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This is one of my favorites - and the title is you can remember ;)

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Pretty neat idea, fits the theme perfectly!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35am

An original game. Very cool and unique. Graphics and sound were nice too. I haven't seen anything like this before. My high score was 34.

exoticorn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Extremely simple idea, but it works. Well executed.

Nut says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11pm

This was cute and fun to play!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Co[NN]ected or co[LL]ected - not sure any more ;) Fun to play, nice tutorial too.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Cute little idea, like the shake when you collect the worlds. Not a huge fan of the control 'feel' though.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

The straightest theme interpretation ever, but it is fun to play ;D

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44am

This was quite fun (:

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

A little bit too static to my liking... But still, nicely done.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Pretty innovative, great graphics, and great idea!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:21am

Liked the way he hungered although you gave him many worlds! This really suits the theme, and I'll also post this comment on your Newgrounds entry! :D

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

Game freezes shockwave flash on start-up, locks up the browser. Had to end the process.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Fun game! Smooth controls. You're really connecting worlds, here.

psychonull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Liked the idea. I confused the planets with the stars a couple of times. Not sure if the shape/color similarity was intentional by design, but had fun anyway.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Fun and challenging. Like it!

t4u says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Once there was a game when you played as little guy who stuck different things to him. I never got chance to play that game so thank you for that opportunity.

As for the game itself nice simplistic graphics. Self adjusting difficulty(the longer you play the more planets are connected - its easier to get into blackhole and lose) - very desirable thing. Use of momentum - very nice. Overall very good 8/10.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:54am

Got a high score of 26 :) I liked the little animation when you crashed into planets, nice work!

goosetickler says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:29am

Cool game, really like the fast paced gameplay. Funny I also made a similar style game to yours

nilstastic says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:01pm

The good: Nice graphics and pretty fun to play.
The bad: Not bad, but i think that it would benefit with a more physics-feel. =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]