Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WithU

by eatsleepindie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* Windows and Linux versions coming soon

Help a lost boy find his way as he grieves over the loss of his grandfather.

Instructions:
Left-click to move
Spacebar to swap between worlds

There are 5 coins to collect as a mini-game outside of the story. Some are obvious, one is pretty well hidden.

Good luck and thanks for playing!

Hints if you get stuck:
* The grandfathers spirit moves around the clouds just like the boy does on the ground
* Press the space bar anytime.. if you cannot shift realms at that spot, move onto another
* Coins are not required to finish the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#71Theme3.96
#130Mood3.59
#269Overall3.50
#314Audio3.13
#329Graphics3.47
#350Innovation3.43
#668Fun2.91
#776Humor2.00

Comments

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

The cloud/grandfather idea is great! Congrats. :)

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Wow, so much world to explore ~ really cool!
I'll admit I typically dislike 3D games, but I think I may have to convert now, haha. I was really impressed with how polished the game felt, from the smooth controls to the simple but colorful graphics. The thematic connection was very clear, and I loved the innovative switch mechanism. I wish there was a story category for games, the text and game progression here was very engaging and heartwarming. Loved the ending, best of luck with the game!

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

Powerful! Narrative was great. Found 3 coins and made it to grandma, but will never forget grandpa.

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

It's a bit of dirt in my eye, I swear...
Lovely game! It feels incredibly polished!
One little thing; it would be nice to have a clear indicator of where clouds are so you can switch worlds (unless I missed some visual clue?). But apart from that, excellent game that meets the theme in a really interesting way.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34am

I really like the grandpa/son world swapping thingy (i could've thought of it :/ ). The game was pretty fun, the only thing that bugged me was that I couldn't know where the clouds are while on the ground. Aside from that it felt... polished

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

This is a a very well presented puzzle platformer - the graphics are clean and consistent, the controls are straightforward and character action is smooth. The puzzle mechanic and level design is slick, the level (almost) steers you in the right direction - I did end up mashing the space bar in a few locations. I only found 3 coins too - I don't have the patience I used to with platformers, but I'm sure some will find all 5 :)

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

the music is awesome. man I wish I could have enough time to put music on my game too. it is also a perfect match for the story, which is also great. good job!

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice puzzler. At first I got stuck right at the beginning, but after that it was a pleasant experience.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very cool. Nice idea and wonderful visuals. Requires a bit of brain usage without being too difficult. And the story is quite engaging as well. Well done!

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Great work! I like the dual mechanic of controlling both characters. Nice work on the visuals, simple but effective to differ ground from heaven. You may score well on mood category.

Oh, be careful with the waterfall, I may have crossed a glitch out there.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:30am

Looks nice but for me it was unclear what to do. I moved to the spirit and that's it. More in-game hints would definitely help.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Great take on the theme and overall an incredible entry. Music fit perfectly and the switching mechanic was very original. Hope you take this further

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:53am

Web build is a dead link. I'm on OS X and since the only build I could play is the web build.

Saphyre says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:36am

No web version : 404 :-(

kidando says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:22am

Perfect! The music and graphics especially. I also liked the concept. You out did yourself. Thanks for the great entry

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:41am

Didn't feel like crossing 2 worlds but more like floating a little below the clouds to standing on the ground...
It's also hard to see the cloud's grid because of it's transparency.

villhest says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

Lovely concept!

polyboxgames says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great job on this! Although it was slightly difficult to tell where the boy was going to teleport to. Lots of trial and error.

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice. It's different and fun, you did an amazing job, especially since you only had 48 hours.

Njord says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:43am

Classic take on the theme but very well done ! I love the graphics, and the story !

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:05am

Great job. This is one of the more unique entries I have seen.

RaycoSantana says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:30am

Wow, loved this one! really cool!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:02am

Amazing game, great graphics, great sound, very interesting and different concept. Very well done!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:18am

Great concept and love the artwork too! Now on to read the post-mortem (which brought me here in the first place).

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:51am

Very nice and poetic entry, well done.
The theme is well used, the visual and music perfectly fit!
The movement of the character is very smooth, a square by square movement should have broken the global feeling.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:25pm

The music is nice, but got a bit repetitive. At the end, I spammed the space bar so I don't miss any switching spots, so I would make these spots a bit clearer. The cloud layer is a bit too white/blurred/transparent, which makes it hard to see where to walk. Did you considered free moving with WASD for a post-compo version? This would make it a bit more intuitive. Anyway, it was fun to play through and it has a very nice mood. I also found all 5 coins (the last one is very mean!) :D

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

Super idea and great art! The problem for me is that it's imposible to see where the grandfather is taking the son so the mechanics is losing its interest cause you have to randomly try to hit space to see if the son will land on a terrain cube.
With a bit more polishing on the gameplay it could make a great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]