Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Door2Door

by mlabarca - Jam Entry

Help our little green hero get home!

Go from door to door, visit the World in the Horizon, avoid getting hit by shurikens and get the flag.

A byte-sized game made for Ludum Dare 30 in one weekend.

Art by Andrea Vela

Programming by Mauricio Labarca

We're still in development and we're hoping to expand the game with more levels. We'd appreciate your comments and feedback.

Stay tuned in gamejolt for more soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Graphics(Jam)3.63
#324Mood(Jam)3.20
#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#497Innovation(Jam)2.83
#548Audio(Jam)2.48
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Cool idea. That 2nd level is pretty difficult :) the hero is cute

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

Really cool art.

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28pm

What a cute little hero! Great concept of doors on two levels. I gotta admit that the second level is hard, that projectile sure has some speed :)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26am

Cool game idea. Too bad there is only two levels. I hope you get around to making more.

And nice graphics!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

Cute art. Took me a little bit to figure out the first level, but the depth is an interesting mechanic.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37am

Like the art, wish it had more levels.

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51am

Feel like the up button to go through the doors should be consistent throughout the game play. Other than that it was quite fun... i can see additional levels bringing a huge fun factor into the game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Cool art style. I kinda feel like entering the doors should always be up arrow instead of up and down. Great job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:21pm

That little green guy is super cute and the doors are a pretty unique idea (hard for a platformer ;) Really hope you make more levels :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Hm, the game was OK, but it sure could use more levels - 2 is really not enough to give a good taste of the core idea.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Love the game style. Fun to play. Felt like it could have done with one more level to show off the gameplay.

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I like the celebration face when you win a level. Nice game.

mlabarca says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Hey guys, thank you for all your comments! A new version is coming soon with possibly revamped sounds and music, and more levels. We've already done some improvements to Characther control and door interaction (Plus added another level), but i´ll hold an update until we have at least some more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]