Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Troika - how long will you cooperate?

by Tomker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Green - perfect connection
Orange - medium connection
Red - weak connection

Hold the best connection as long as you can and survive
deadly meteor attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Theme3.73
#649Innovation3.04
#676Graphics2.92
#776Humor2.00
#889Audio1.94
#958Mood2.49
#964Overall2.78
#1023Fun2.46

Comments

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

You should submit your link as a Windows link instead of a Web link! Web implies that it can be played in a browser. Hope to see a Mac port, I'd love to try your game! :D

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

A nice entry! Very literally: Connected worlds! The concept is good, the interface and controls are super easy and intuitive. The game is also hard as I can barely keep even one planet alive. (Good thing) Nice work!

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very hard to play.

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Interesting concept. It was confusing at first.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Interesting and original but confusing for me.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

A little bit of a learning curve but I got it in the end. I like that you spend more time worrying about the planet movement than all the asteroids :D Pretty cool idea!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I think it's a good game that I had trouble understanding.
The instructions told me about keys, but I had no idea what the game mechanics are (what my goal is, what every option does in terms of gameplay, where I get energy from etc.)

Next time try to add sound, at the very least sound effects. Recording improvised effects doesn't take too much time, is very fun and will do wonders for a game.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Fun game, but you can still lose planets even if they are fully upgraded.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Interesting but a little confusing, maybe some in-game help texts could help

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Interesting idea. Hard to see the effect of the turning until it is too late.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Neat! Once I had the controls figured out, I had a good time trying to keep my planets alive. I'm unsure how population influences my planets. I think a few laser sound effects would top things off nicely, especially as the speed increases.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Interesting !
With a small arrow to point the direction of a planet...that will be a little better ! x) Nice !

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I didn't understand at all what I was supposed to do.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I think I understood the controls, but I didn't appear to have much success in keeping the connections alive for long. Some more explanation would be appreciated.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Cannot play: I can pass the menu screen by pressing [ENTER], but after that, nothing reacts to my right-click or any key.
(Windows 8.1/64bit, JRE 8u20)

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

The point of this game is to survive as long as you can. If yoi will survive for 5 minutes, you can say that you are good :). I suggest you to use tactics from main screen, it helps a lot.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Once you understand it is actually quite slick and clever!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Not bad, could use some better instructions maybe. Good use of the theme.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I couldn't rotate the planets, and the concept of energy was a bit unclear to me - how can you get it in the first place?
It was quite fun to blast hundreds of meteors apart, though =)

Colthor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The movement controls need more feedback and instruction - it was hard to see that they were having any effect at all, never mind what it might be in advance.

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

That was interesting!
I'm not 100% sure what happened, but it was nice nonetheless :)

bw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

How do I run this thing in Linux command line?

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I managed to stay alive with one planet and maximum everything for some time. Moving them together seems hard.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

The A and D keys didn't do anything notice'able for me, but it was cool to watch for some time as the planets defend themselves ;)

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Linux version does not work!

william@Helium:~/Downloads/Troika$ java -jar Game.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1886)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:849)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1088)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at Game.main(Game.java:33)
william@Helium:~/Downloads/Troika$

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

@Zoomyzoom at the moment it only works on Windows and Linux platform

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Stays with the theme nicely and is fun.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Interesting little game, I managed to save two of my planets, it says speed is the key, but i think more lasers first make the difference, lost the first planet and then I realized that maybe the energy level plays a part in the speed of the lasers? Idk I just noticed once the other two planets were fully upgraded the speed was faster as the energy level went up.
Lost a second planet, cause the two planets drifted, is it a wanted behaviour?(So that you have to keep all three alive?)
I find it quite enjoyable :D
Well done!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Needs more instructions, as you basically have no idea what to do when you start. Also, sounds.

But it's a very interesting concept and it's quite playable when you figure out what you're doing.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:12am

nice game, had quite some fun. And the idea is interesting

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Linux version does not work. Same error as for Zoomyzoom.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice game but confusing

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

It will benefit from a tutorial. A bit confusing at first try

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Fun game, was hard to keep anything alive but all part of the charm. SFX would be awesome.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Difficult game, but fun once you figure it out. Fun with upgrades and limited energy so you have to prioritize their order :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]