Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Towel Run

by arttut02 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Towel Run is platformer with some puzzle elements (kind of). Had so much trouble with this. It lacks quite a lot of everything, but maybe you get the idea what I was trying to do. Made the level 3 little harder, so there is something to play for you.

Didn't have time to put controls to game, so I put those here.

left = left arrow, left stick
right = right arrow, left stick
jump = space, A
change character = up arrow, B
restart room = R, right bumber

EDIT: Made couple bug fixes.
- No falling when going outside the screen.
- Switching players mid air does not effect the after landing events.. (Not going to tell you what this means ;))..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#74Humor3.47
#334Theme3.55
#422Fun3.20
#425Overall3.33
#611Innovation3.09
#615Graphics3.00
#875Mood2.61
#915Audio1.84

Comments

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:51am

Strangely enjoyable. Congrats on finishing your game. Had fun

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

Hi kidando. "Strangely enjoyable " is maybe nicest thing that can be said from this game ;). Checking your game at evening...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I got stuck on the third level because it was harder but really enjoyed this game :) super fun. Liked the use of the theme.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Fun concept :)

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Wow awesome game. First thing i found out was you could run left as the man and fall into the ladies world and play together, not sure if intentional but nice a touch.

I'm not entirely sure you can jump over the water either, i tried for like 20 mins xD though maybe i just suck.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Awesome concept and executed really well, just wish there was some music

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

It is actually quite fun!
The third level took me quite a few tries...

Well done

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

SaxonRah. You should be able to jump over the waters. I played the game through once ;)...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Interesting game. Hmm, never really understood how to get the trees and other obstacles to move, the uncontrolled character didn't seem to have any trouble to throw them up.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

This was a decently-humourous game (indecently?). I'm not sure why the trees bounce, but I like it. A good effort in Game Maker.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great mechanics! The third level was pretty tough and took me a bunch of tries. Very funny concept too, well done!

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

I wanted their towels to fall off! Hilarious idea. You funny.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29am

The third level was really hard for me. But the game made a lot of fun. Thank you for your entry.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55am

That was a lot of fun, and super hard! I like that there are multiple ways to solve the puzzles. Great sense of humor. The deaths are hilarious - I love how you can accidentally squash your counterpart with a tree. Fantastic.

Great work!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Sex sells. LOL J/K! Cute game and it was surprisingly challenging. Great hardcare gaming fun :)

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

This was a cute entry and a decently hard reflex puzzle as well. It was a bit short but satisfying. Thanks for your entry. :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Pretty random, but fun. I'm still not totally sure what the towels are about but you've done well for 48 hours.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

+points for towels

slumber says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Game has an interesting concept and can get quite challenging. You need to figure out some sort of strategy while playing. I agree it would be nice if there was some music to go along with the game play.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:46am

Heh, fun and challenging.

malf says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice game , I hope you finish it :D

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Awesome Game, and idea.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice idea and fun to play. It was a little hard to see the bottom player against that background.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]