Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

%20 Shooter

by carrier_signal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my 2nd LD, and I struggled with this theme. After 2 hours of thinking, I decided the easiest thing would be to make a 2D space shooter with 3 levels. The 3 levels being different worlds.

On Saturday, I decided to make all those levels "connected" in that the space ship will fly between them and land on each world. It worked out nice, and I'm happy with the result.

I suck at art, but I did the best I could. I'm proud of the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Audio3.81
#334Fun3.30
#690Mood2.83
#802Overall2.96
#965Theme2.56
#1029Graphics2.30
#1199Innovation1.67
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice scrolling shooter and as you say, yes, the music is great!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Pleasant shoot'em'up, great music.

Vertical movement is waaay too fast tho!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

The explosion sound is very satisfying!

ofwindandsea says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I agree that the vertical movement is extremely fast.

rooter4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Ill just come out and say it, the enemies look like red sperm.
Fun game though.

LesInk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Enjoyable shooter. Movement is a little fast, but I imagine its a matter of choice.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Thanks for the feedback about the movement. The vertical movement is the same as the horizontal movement, so I'll probably change that a bit.

And yes I noticed they looked like red sperm also after attaching the engine fire. YOLO :)

voidqk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

cool progressions between levels

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Didn't think I was going to enjoy it looking at the screenshots, but I did! Music was great, controls were tight and I really liked the level transitions. Graphics like you said aren't your forte, but apart from that it was really good!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11am

I dig it. Nice music and I liked the setting change a lot. Kept me interested. The round enemy should be more pixellated to match the rest of the art :) Keep going on it.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Good music.
The movements are too fast, but the game works okay!

martindilling says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

A little to fast acceleration when moving :)
but i love the music :P

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Keyboard movement controls on web didn't work for me... I could only shoot :/

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Yeah, the movement could stand to be a little more precise, especially given the large hitboxes. The transitions were neat, though, and yes, very nice music.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Hi there. Great music indeed, very reminiscent of Wipeout for me. I'd say your graphics are pretty good, especially the FX for explosions etc, very good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

The music is excellent and the art style has a charm all of its own! Had a lot of fun with this. =)

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Neat game, I really liked the music and sound effects, and the controls felt smooth too! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

Fireworks! Nice entry :D

Patacorow says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:59am

I am a sucker for flashing particles and good music. A bit too punishing on the death (checkpoints would've helped) but awesome entry regardless.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]