Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Traveler (by Agecaf)

by Agecaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: Sudden changes of scenario.

This is a (puzzle) platformer for the Ludumdare 30 (#LD30), with theme "Connected Worlds". Enjoy!

Hopefully you will understand the game without extra instructions, but here they are in case of need.

Instructions:

Connect the worlds by click and dragging. Each black dot represents a "gate" (you don't know which), and each square represents a world (whose colour is that of the block). Each world has a maximum of four "gates".

Use WASD / Arrow Keys to move. Press and hold Up in air to "glide". Press Up (and not the opposite side) to wall jump whilst placed next to a wall.

Pass through the gates to go from one world to the next. If the gate is not connected, nothing will happen when placed on the gate. Collect the rhombus things (top left) to pass the level, before the time runs out (each rhombus thing gives you some extra time). If you succeed, you will return to the Level selection.


Additional Source Code used:
as3yaml: https://code.google.com/p/as3yaml/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Theme4.15
#65Audio3.73
#74Fun3.80
#93Overall3.79
#196Graphics3.74
#215Innovation3.62
#385Mood3.19
#436Humor2.50
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

Really enjoyed the graphics and use of theme. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Oh, that's awesome. Graphics and theme usage are great! Good job! And I'm not even mentioning glides and slides! This game is so full of action. :)

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

Awesome sounds, gameplay and graphics style. Nice job.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08am

Controls feel really good! And music is nice too. Really nice platformer :)

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

Awesome game. Best I've played so far. 10/10

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice game, congrats!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

nice game :)

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

Cool game. When I discovered he could actually fly the platforming experience changed a lot - for the better :)

Loved the chord sounds when picking up stuff and using portals.

And thanks for trying out my game. I think I've fixed the bug you mentioned - could you possible give it another go? Please make your web cache is cleared (so you get the new files). Thanks. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=15543

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Enjoyed it!

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

One of the best games so far for me :)

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

I loved especially the audio part, it was really "surround and trh33-d33", and the game in general is really well made. 5!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

Man, I love those synths!

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Controls were kind of weird, but I really loved the concept and audio

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Great game! It's very fun too!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Truly enjoyable game!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Great concept and execution!

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:38am

Nicely done ! Great graphics and concept.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Super nice controls! Really fluid game, and I like the way you connect the different worlds

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very cool platformer. Controls are good.

Sogomn says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Great game! ;)

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:43pm

When I figured out what was going on when hooking up the portals, I had a blast. Nice job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I like the originality. Great graphics, and I love the music! Great job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]