Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Symbiosis

by vividhelix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Symbiosis is a stealth game where each of the two protagonists can make a single noise in the alternate world. Also inspired by the single-player co-op idea behind Brothers - Tale of Two Sons.

Controls are WASD and Space for the left and arrow keys and right shift for the right. Think about the level name if you get stuck.

Contains only 5 levels, but they should be sneaky enough to give you a bit of a brain workout :)

My first full LD (did a mini LD before) and the first time I make my own pixel art.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#224Innovation3.60
#274Theme3.64
#514Fun3.09
#565Overall3.20
#713Humor2.12
#788Mood2.73
#790Graphics2.74
#933Audio1.77

Comments

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

I didn't understand the game very well :(

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

This game was really fun. A really neat puzzle mechanic that fist the theme really well!

Duncan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

enjoyed that, sticks to the theme well and has some nice level design :)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

dang this was really cool! Definitely the funnest entry I've come across so far. I was really frustrated at first, until I realized that the sound is created relative to the opposing person. After that, it got a lot more fun and interesting. ( got to level 3 without realizing that :/ )
Otherwise, great design and mechanics.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

Great mechanics, very clever!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

Wow, this is a pretty neat game! love it!

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

Took some doing, but I figured out the game eventually. If I'm not mistaken, the right side of the third level is unwinnable. Brought me back to the old game "The Classroom".

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58am

Very difficult and iffy, but I liked the mechanic. I'll try it again in "co-op" mode.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19am

Very interesting concept. Wish you could call the guard multiple times in a level though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Neat concept

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12am

Nice execution of the theme, very strong. Too bad you couldn't get more levels in!

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16am

Tried a few times as i couldnt understand the game at first. Perhaps you could write down the gameplay idea :)

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17am

This is pretty clever, well done.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

I feel I should try it on oculus rift or something. Overall at first I was very confused, but then I understood the concept. Quite a sneaky game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Quite enjoyed :)

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Ah I didn't get at first that the position of the noise depended on the position of the character. Interesting concept!

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I really enjoyed this one. Great mechanic!

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

A fun and simple (puzzle?) game. Its definatly more fun playing this on your own as I imagine its intended to be played. The only thing I didnt like was that it was over too quickly! Nice entry :D

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:35am

Awesomesauce!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

Fun and clever mechanic

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

This was really fun. The theme comes through very well, and that mechanic is very well implemented. I wanted more levels! Great job.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

Tough but fun! Some audio would have been nice, but it still worked well without sound. I'd to see more of this!

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice idea for the game, very innovative.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:15am

Great game, loved the puzzle mechanic! I took some time to understand the game first, but managed to finish it :)

Trilby says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:34pm

A very clever game, well done.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Cool concept!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Cool idea.
The puzzles were great.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very difficult remembering which control is which. I think a button to switch the controls back and forth would be better -- then highlight the side in which you are controlling. Neat puzzle game, but no audio.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Great take on the theme, I really liked how one's actions influenced other's world. Clever design, decent graphics and good progression. It would have been great to hear some music too tough. Great job!

mechabit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:02am

interesting mechanics, bit of a head scratcher trying to work out where the sounds will be in each world, maybe add a marker to make easier. I only played the first 3 levels but I can imagine there being multiple switches that you can lure the AI into as part of the puzzle

Shivur says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:51am

Good puzzle mechanics.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:22am

Awesome! Fit to the theme.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Very fun puzzle game, the last level is a little difficult. the system is cool, but I think explanation in-game can be useful. Meanwhile, very good !

Artamus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Very nice game, congrats!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:58pm

A well-crafted puzzle game with a novel mechanic (at least to me!). Good stuff.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:22am

Its difficult! But nice mapping! Nice concept!

whilefun says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:49am

Pretty cool idea. Parallel stealth. It's actually really tricky! At first, I wasn't sure where the end of the levels were, as the first level has the guards over top of them. Perhaps a tutorial level showing where to go, then introduce stealth? In any case, this was pretty fun. Nice work for your first ever LD entry! :)

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:56am

This is one of the most fun entries I've seen. I had some trouble with the arrow keys / rshift controls. I think it would work really well with a controller and two thumb sticks. I'd also like to see levels that involve moving the baddies more than once. Great job! Keep developing this one!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:15am

Very cool gameplay concept that took provides a nice challenge.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Interesting idea, took me a little bit to figure out, though I still found it hard to predict how the guards will move. Oh well... ^^"
(also, it could use some sounds, I think)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Not sure if i liked the randomness of how the enemies moved or not.

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Took me a bit to figure out what was happening but once I did I really enjoyed myself.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:57pm

good job!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Didn't get what to do in the second level.

Logan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:00am

Hey, you asked me to let you know if I wrote up a post-mortem of my game, and I just did so! So, here it is: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/04/just-an-otter-post-mortem/

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:52pm

very funny game. cool idea and very puzzeling.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:06pm

well done!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The little figures are really awesome, a bit hard to understand to the max.
But after a while i got it.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Cool idea, the puzzles were a bit simple but overall a very nice entry!

dhargan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

nice puzzle game! good job mate !

Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:48am

I had a hard understanding that the noise was generated were the other character was standing. Maybe you should explain it better because apart of that, it's a great idea and a nice execution!

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Sneaky, sneaky! Very clever mechanics, I wish it had more levels.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

5/5 for innovation, very unique game you have here. With improved graphics and controls (audio too), this could be a very cool game. Also, it took a bit to get the mechanic down but that was the point.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Cool idea and good level design. Could have used some audio, but I understand the time constraint. Good job!

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice entry! I think the implementation doesn't work well sometimes, nothing happened when I performed certain actions, but I get what you were going for and liked the concept a lot. Good job!

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:07pm

This was a very creative idea! Excellent use of the theme, too! Gameplay-wise it had the right amount of challenge, though the "look back" mechanic was always a little easy to exploit on the second guard (typically I just made him turn to face a wall). Excellent work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Took me a while to understand, after that it was nice puzzling. :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:56pm

This game is a bit tricky to understand but is a lot of fun, could do with a few more instructions and a bigger gameplay area the characters can move around in.

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:51am

Cool game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]