Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Superdimensional

by PixelMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Superdimensional!

Unity web player version highly recommended.


Controls:
- This is almost buttonless game. Use your mouse to interact.
- You may need to click the button on the left right corner if you get stuck.

The game was optimized for wide resolutions. If you play the Windows or Linux build then it is recommended to use wide monitor resolution. Some parts of the game may be difficult with tall resolutions.

Sorry about the spelling in the tutorial. My brain didn't function properly after 16 hours of non-stop coding :)

I've switched host to itch.io. The old link is still alive but it might die if there is too much traffic to it. Please link to itch.io instead of the old one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.55
Coolness100%
Innovation4.67
Theme4.63
#5Mood4.43
#7Graphics4.58
#18Fun4.07
#48Audio3.79
#184Humor3.07

Comments

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55am

Friggin awesome. Very polished, great fun!

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

This is just amazing! Definitely my favourite so far!

AlexGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really impressive ! Good work ! Will download the Source to learn more about Unity. :)

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

Wow. Such a unique idea. Very polished for 4b hours! Nice tutorial at the start. Lots of 5's from me.

Ysty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Wow, incredible execution. Fantastic game.

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

great game. played the whole thing. Great use of the theme!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Simply amazing! Graphics and audio, I loved them both! The gameplay was personal, which is always a good thing!

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Fantastic game!. Amazing in 3 days.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Wow 48 hours to make this just amazing work. I want to see the code for this!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42pm

O M G! Best game I played so far, this is incredible O_O 5 stars everywhere!!

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Fantastic mechanics! I love how polished the game looks and how connected to the theme it is as well.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Oh man, this is cool. Fav entry so far :)

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very Good Game

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Wow. That was spectacular. Great concept, well executed. The most polished game I've played yet.

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Concept was great, very polished and purty. I had a bit of a hard time with the mouse, seemed to be fighting with it. Epic entry though gj.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very nice concept. I really liked this.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

WOW!!!! This is sooooo awesome! Best game ever.

Asbrion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This was super! Brilliant mood and hook!

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Thanks for comments! :)

Yeah I agree with you Stuffie.
I noticed via playtesting today that many testers tried to keep the mouse on top of those teleports which I didn't anticipate. It makes the game much more difficult to play.

I should have made an effort to teach players to use the portals more like tight light beams. That way you can see the world outside and you don't have to make effort to keep mouse on top of each portal.

Live and learn I guess :)
I may make a more fleshed out post LD version later and try to fix that. Many ideas didn't make it to the final version.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

What a spectacular game! Such a great mechanic and awesome graphics to boot. Spot on!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

HOW IN THE SEVEN WORLDS. 2 DAYS!? You're on a whole new level dude! 5/5 would buy.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

That was awesome. Loved the concept and the rich atmosphere.

Had some trouble positioning the mouse to project the correct world at times, but that was part of the fresh experience :)

Would love to see more of this game.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01pm

@AlexGhost and @Arowx,
The code is a mess. You've been warned! :)

But if really want to take a look at the source then I'd imagine you'd probably be mostly interested in Lightmesh.cs, World.cs, Target.cs and Light.shader files.
Those are responsible of the world rendering and physics handling. The Unity scene's camera setup is also important.

That shader is slightly edited from Unity public wiki over here: http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/DepthMask

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Cheers guys! :)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Wonderful. Probably my favourite game so far. Pretty, Polished and an idea I haven't seen before.

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09pm

This one is pretty awesome. Pretty impressive piece of eye candy for 48 hours development.

Squiggles211 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Definitely my favorite game from this LD so far! Very original and I've already recommended it to a few people. I'd love to see a longer fully fleshed game from it :) Congratulations!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Just brilliant, amazing job!!!

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

I loved it, amazing work

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

Wow! How did you get so much done! You're a gamedev rock star!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Really, really good game. I loved it. I like how the world-transition stuff is like light beams.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:17am

That was amazing. Never have I ever had so much fun with so little 'interaction', really well done. Also nicely done on preventing 'stuck' situations (for instance near the end, I thought I had gotten stuck where it says '30' but then I saw I could swim and free myself which was nice) that's some good level design, excellent job, hope to see a full game out of this! :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

Very atmospheric! Probably a bit too slow movement. Maybe add little more acceleration.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I have no words to describe this project, its insane and probably one of the best games i've played during this ludum at the moment, the way you switch between dimensions, the level design, the atmosphere. Everything's perfect, don't give up and keep working on it !

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I can't click enough 5s, that was awesome!

You, sir, should win.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28pm

awesome! FYI, the linux build works perfect =)

goosetickler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Awesome game, enjoyed everything about it!! Good job!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Sweet game! The mechanic for swapping worlds was awesome :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

At first I thought this is Jam entry but no... man, this is incredible! Good job.

I wonder how did you managed to get all done in 48hrs... I think it must all be skill, preparation, planning and time management :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

no words.... perfection has been reached!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

The atmosphere in this game is amazing and it has a really creepy otherworld feel to it. Loved it. :)

rojo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:06am

Really great use of the theme! Graphics and audio were solid as well. I think the controls were a little touchy and could use some smoothing out, though.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

That's a creally cool concept and the game seems really polished.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Wow, you did a very good job! It's very interesting!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Whoa, that was very surpising! Very particular concept, you know. Colours are adorable and the mood is really strong. Great!

lakael says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Holy cow that was amazing. The reverse controls was confusing at first, but then you start to get the hang of it. Really great work!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

This... is... awesome...

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

It was interesting, but also horribly confusing at times (especially the first part with the squishing machines was really hard for me). Neat game though, good job!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Amazing.

Xaychru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Awesome idea, I love the mood of the game!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Excellent. Fantastic use of colour, highly unique mechanic, simple input very well executed and an fair difficulty curve. Easily a 5/5! :D

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

The idea is absolutely incredible, if at times a touch fiddly in execution. The subtle changes in background hum with the different realities was particularly nice.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

It can get pretty hard after the tutorial part and with no much to do apart from changing the view can get a little slow too. But it's a great idea and very polished entry. With some adjustments at the controls you'll have a very nice and innovative game at your hands.

pythong says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

very nice entry. this was fun

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Everyone's pretty much said it, this is awesome.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Hi there. Your game is amazing... top scores everywhere pretty much... Stunningly good job!

steve says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Brilliant idea and execution.

alvivar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:37am

amazing!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:34pm

You really got hit by a blast of creativity there.
Absolutely outstanding entry.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Fantastic entry!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:54am

Yeah, I don't have much to add that hasn't already been said :D Super cool..

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:55pm

One of the best entries by far, really unique gameplay and stunning visuals.
However I got stuck under a ledge in both worlds!
Restart!

Loved it though, really inspirational work

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:06pm

One of the best entries by far, really unique gameplay and stunning visuals.
However I got stuck under a ledge in both worlds!
Restart!

Loved it though, really inspirational work, got to the end!

havana24 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Just amazing.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very cool game who fit with the theme ! I love the fact that the switching between worlds wasn't a one button switching. You had to be precise even if it's a little bit frustrating.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Great atmosphere ! The controls were a bit tedious but the game really looks polished. I love the way the text is shown.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:32pm

OMG amazing work

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:53am

I couldn't quite make it all the way to the end, I wasn't super good at figuring out where to move the mouse.

One of the best theme-based games that I've played so far!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:22am

Great idea , and very polished game. I find the control too unpredictable , but with a bit of work this could be a very very fun game :D

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:25am

Super polished, nice idea and great (technical) execution.
Mouse controls were a bit frustrating though but still a very pleasant experience. Great work!

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Wow that's such a cool concept!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:45am

Wow, just wow. Clever, innovative and very well executed. The only entry where I'm 5 stars all around. Hats off to you! As I was playing it I was wondering in the back of my mind how many people were in this jam team - the fact that it's a compo entry makes this even more amazing!

Snoother says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very innovative gameplay mechanic, tying wonderfully in with the theme. And really nice graphic and audio, setting an ethereal mood.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Amazing, amazing aesthetics! It reminded me a bit of Limbo. The mechanics are greatas well and I also liked the sound which helps setting the mood. Overall a fantastic entry!

JetL33t says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:55pm

this is just brilliant!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Ok, this is simply amazing. Great mood, fantastic asthetics, fresh and fluid gameplay. One of the coolest entries I've played so far.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Very nice

JackDegree says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:33am

Genius

miotatsu says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Beautiful entry, well done!

tbam says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Best multi-dimension game of the compo!

mechabit says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:51pm

amazing game, I'd be surprised if this didn't end up top of the charts. mouse control was a bit fiddly. I imagine it would work better with a joypad. you would probably sell a lot on console

CeriseGhost says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:15am

This game was amazing! Well done!!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really awesome entry

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Great game. Loved every moment of it.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Probably the best game in the compo. Just awesome.

LeafThief says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Well polished, great puzzle design. Really liked it a lot!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Amazing, how do you even design your levels ?? must be hard. Great job !

sputnik says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Absolutely awesome. Agree with Stuffie for the mouse control. But very impressive 48h project!

PixelMind says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Thanks everyone! You guys are awesome! :)
It's been really great to have this many commenters. Got some great feedback too which is even more awesome!

@AlexandreSzybiak: You're right! They were quite a pain to design. It did help a little that I laid the "worlds" on top of each other in Unity. It was quite a nightmare at times to work with though. Far from ideal for any larger project :)

oscarmbp says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:00am

Mind blown... This is the kind of stuff that i knew i have been missing out from games. The kind of stuff i knew i would ever get from releases worth over 40 or 30 dollars. F### triple A games, most of them just plainly s###. Dull and non inventive bringing the same old thing over and over swearing its new but it isnt. Thank you I had a great experience.

Sep 17, 2014 @ 7:18am

Awesome game!

greytram says ...
Nov 11, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Very interesting gameplay concept! And congratulations for the impressive technical work and polished artwork. I read your explanations on your blog, very interesting insights indeed!

zwinge says ...
May 8, 2017 @ 12:01pm

Fixed a bug which could cause a crash when launching. http://elparfumer.ru Though it isn't particularly feature-rich, this simple but useful freeware quickly creates shortcuts to your frequently used folders.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]