Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Battle of Khe Sanh

by SuperChihuahua - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Battle of Khe Sanh was a battle during the Vietnam War where the Khe Sanh Combat Base was surrounded by enemy forces. You're the base's logistics officer and the only one who's connected to the outside world. Your mission is to keep the base alive until help arrives...

...if it arrives.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#575Innovation3.13
#838Humor1.90
#850Graphics2.63
#938Audio1.75
#944Mood2.50
#1128Theme2.10
#1133Fun2.10
#1139Overall2.43

Comments

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

I got very frustrated and had to stop playing. It's very hard to tell what's going on, and if you accidentally fill up your order queue you can't change it.

I think that the concept -- you're a base commander under siege, and you have to handle the logistics -- is very cool. There could be a good game written about this. Right now this game isn't that, yet. The decisions are too opaque: I need more information. The graphics are such that I can barely understand what's going on. Etc.

Also, tellingly absent from my order list is a request for air support. Given how many tons of bombs the US dropped on the area surrounding Khe San, you would think that would feature heavily.

While we're on the subject, it's sort of horrifying to have the Vietnam War reduced to a series of order requests. I'm not sure whether or not this is intentional, or if you care, but it was disturbing to me.

I think that there's a good idea here: it might be worth reworking from scratch and thinking more carefully about how the player receives information and places orders.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

I honestly just don't know what's going on. It looks like my soldiers get dropped off and then suicide charge some enemy bunker that's somehow practically in our base. A really cool concept but it needs a lot more work. A good start for 48 hours though.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

Wow, this is an original idea.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

I wasn't actually sure what I was meant to do... It looked like I was being bombed but I wasn't sure how I could defend myself from these bombs. Also it seemed to take very long time to order things. A tutorial or something would be extremely useful.

frogalicious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

I really like the initial concept but I found it hard to identify what was going on.

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18am

I get this... but I ran out of water because i couldn't change my queue :) I need some control of time as well, but good job!

enderargent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

I don't know what is going on...

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

The first time I read the description I was like "Wow! This game is going to be really cool". The concept was fresh and seemed quite original.

As I started the game things changed. While the concept seemed really easy to grasp and the controls were easy to understand as well (although I wished you added the controls to this post too), I wasn't sure what am I supposed to do.

I didn't know what the rules are. Yes, I knew I should order stuff but I was under attack and I didn't know how to stop that or perhaps even do something that would lead to that. I saw soldiers running around some random direction but wasn't sure if I can influence that.

Also there is no enemy on site except for the explosions so I wasn't sure if I can affect that. I started ordering things but wasn't sure what I am ordering them for or how I was to lose so I could win.

Also the pickups or the planes come and go at random times not sure how to speed them up or even if that is possible.
Sometimes a message shows up "no delivery because of artillery shellings" but not sure how I can prevent that in the first place.

All in all, I feel the game had a good potential (still do I think) but perhaps if things are clearer and easier to identify with, one could easily have fun with it.

Good work though :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

It is a good idea, but it is difficult to play

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Some nice ideas, although isn't clear enough, or fun really. Difficult to even know where the enemy is. So maybe change up the gameplay. I love the idea of little ant-sized people running around into each other, with mini explosiosn and stuff, with upgrades with a simpler system where you can buy buildings and generate units from them instead perhaps. Either way, nice concept, should have been implemented better. I do really like the modelling though, has a nice colour scheme and is simplistic enough to be clear

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice concept, felt pretty confusing though. Didn't know what was going on most of the time. But only 48 hours so. Nice 3d-graphics!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hi there. Admire the ambition, but very tough to tell what's going on. You put things in order queue... then what ? I appreciate a high-level resourcing command is an interesting take on warfare sim., but not sure how to have fun as a player.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

The lack of sound made the explosions and death very surreal. I find that feeding men into a meat grinder does not sit well with me, especially since there is nothing I can do to prevent them from being used up at a disturbingly high rate.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]