Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Curious Incident of the Bird and the Fish

by coyyonce - Jam Entry

The Story
Once upon a time, a bird and a fish happened to see each other from their respective worlds of the sky and the sea. The bird was immediately jealous of the fish, who did not have to deal with the sun's heat. The fish was also jealous, for he could not go above the edge of the water and into the sky.

Each one secretly hoping to be like the other, they stayed near each other to see if they could learn to be like the other.

However, sometimes friendships can product terrible consequences...

How to Play
This game can either be played with one player or two players. If playing with two players, one player can use the WASD keys and the other can use the up, down, right, and left arrow keys. It is also possible to play alone, thought it can be rather difficult.

Credits
Coy Yonce, Mantis Digital Arts, Programming and Design
Scott Meier, Mantis Digital Arts, Additional Art Assets and Design

Kerri Coombs, Living Midnight Design - http://opengameart.org/content/sprites-from-porcupop

http://open.commonly.cc

http://opengameart.org/content/fish-pack

Heather Lee Harvey - EmeraldActivities.com & http://opengameart.org/users/emerald

Zander Noriega - http://opengameart.org/content/dragged-through-hellfire

http://opengameart.org/content/creature-sprites

http://untamed.wild-refuge.net/rmxpresources.php?characters

"Puzzle Game 2" by Eric Matyas Soundimage.org - http://opengameart.org/content/puzzle-game-2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.14
#351Theme(Jam)3.23
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#560Fun(Jam)2.72
#596Mood(Jam)2.67
#652Graphics(Jam)2.64
#672Overall(Jam)2.74
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56am

Well it's kinda hard to notice when something is good or bad in this game. I could understand that the jellyfish should be bad, but a balloon doesn't look threatening :/ So the tone of the game is confusing. Good narrative tho.

modwizcode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

This was hilarious, I like what happens when you .... Completely unexpected, but GREAT!

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Good background story, but I didn't like the game itself, it just felt really random. The fish and bird collide and now i'm a snake thing in hell? I came intrigued by the story(it fit the theme and was elegant in it's own way) but left confused(the interactions ranged from counter intuitive to just strange, take the balloon/jellyfish example from AlbertoSM).

Shmackson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

I like the challenge of controlling two character at once, pretty unique.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

Ha! The collision. Didn't see it coming.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49am

Amazing idea, Amazing music, nice graphics, but the game itself requires more work. Proper collision handling and slower gameplay should turn this into a much better entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

I liked the graphics and the overall feel of the game, and I found it a little challenging. I wish I'd have thought of adding music to mine!

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

@vulpineblazeyt - Thanks! I appreciate the comments. Glad to see that it was a bit challenging.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

@LTyrosine - Thank you! Really happy to have that feedback. I agree on the collision handling and slower gameplay. Will be working that for the next iteration of the game.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10am

@Shmackson - Thanks. It was a cool idea, but took some interesting code to make it happen correctly. There's still some issues to work out.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10am

@Lacaranian - Haha! Yea, I love it.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

@Lord bobyness - Thanks for the feedback. I do agree with you regarding the story versus the actual gameplay. We intend to keep working on this one to get that connection a bit closer and to ensure it's cohesive. Thanks again!

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

@modwizcode - Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it!

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

@AlbertoSM - Thanks for the comments. I agree with you as well. We definitely need a bit more of a connection between the story and what actually happens in the game.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

LOL the hell part caught me by surprise. Extra points for humor!

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

@zdonkeyx - Thanks! That's what we were going for. Happy that you found it and enjoyed it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

Since when are balloons a bad thing!? I LOVE BALLOONS. Anyway, the game was hard to control due to the lack of friction/stopping, but I could see that as part of the challenge. Also the fact that you can lose one of the characters as the camera follows the other is a problem. I did love the art and concept though.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

@PeteGrammarman - Agreed. A better choice of obstacles is probably in order. I also agree on the camera. We'll be working on improving both the obstacles and the camera following for an updated version. Glad you enjoyed the art and the idea!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41am

Pretty entertaining. Some odd tone, as others have mentioned. Some art assets feel higher quality than others. I was playing alone, so it was definitely difficult, but that's to be expected.

I was certainly entertained! I love the change of pace of the secret ;) Also, the story is a really good spin on the theme.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45am

@stephenhaney - Thanks! I think for future versions we may change the secret a bit so it ties into the story a bit better - along with removing some of the odd obstacles. I appreciate the feedback!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

I don't get it.. The first part is so buggy for me.. The fish keep looping the jump animation without ending it and the bird die randomly..

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

@elkiwydev - Thanks for the feedback. As the one who created the game, it's hard to realize that the controls can be difficult as I've played it so often. We definitely need to tweak the jump animation. I think that the bird dying randomly is a matter of the colliders on the objects in the air being too big. We'll get that fixed.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I liked the idea of it, also the 'hell' part was freaking crazy, lol, good job

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@IAmSpencer - Thanks! We're happy that you enjoyed playing through it.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Difficult when played along, but seems like an interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]