Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Good News Delivery Co.

by DragonXVI - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Post-48hr Compo EASIER VERSION released! More information at:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/28/good-news-delivery-co-easier-version-released/
UPDATE: Retrospective added:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/good-news-delivery-co-how-it-was-made-retrospective/#more-385598

Good News everyone! I've coated the ship in an experimental adamantine coating - It's pretty much indestructible!

You've got 3 minutes to ship as much cargo as possible. Grab it up from nearby planets and deliver it safely to its destination! There's a bonus if you manage to carry loads of cargo at once, but don't think hauling that around the solar system'll be easy! There's Pirates and Gravity Wells to avoid, and each destroyed cargo will result in a penalty!

How much money can you make? (Or at least, how little can you lose? :p)

(Best played in 1024 x 768 with a gamepad)
(Apologies in advance for the ridiculous difficulty!)

RETROSPECTIVE:
- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/good-news-delivery-co-how-it-was-made-retrospective/#more-385598

HINTS
- Start off ferrying single crates, then try carrying lots of cargo at once for a delivery combo bonus.
- If in doubt, follow the arrow. It'll direct you to the nearest cargo or your current destination.
- Try stay away from the surface of plents. Physics & controlling the ship gets a bit tricky :p
- Having trouble dropping cargo off quickly? Try slingshotting it to the surface by releasing the cargo while turning, but watch your aim!
- Pirates will destroy your cargo - Avoid them at all cost! They're pretty dumb though, so lure them into crashing into planets!
- Your ship is invincible! Your cargo is not!

CREDITS/TOOLS:
- Code, Art, Sound, etc. - Malcolm Brown
- Inspired rather obviously by Futurama. (And maybe a little bit of Kerbal Space Program. And maybe Inner Space too if anyone remembers that)
- Unity 4.3 (Free)
- Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Pro
- FL Studio 10 Pro
- Audacity
- Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#5Audio4.28
#29Graphics4.33
#35Overall4.01
#40Fun3.92
#112Mood3.63
#122Humor3.27
#291Innovation3.51
#291Theme3.61

Comments

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:49pm

My best score thus far is $3400. Plenty of room for improvement (I usually end up with negative score anyway!)

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Awesome game. Very hard though.

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34am

-$900, damn im good lol, good game though cant wait to rate it

Bemmu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Not as awesome as Hot Diggity, but the best game I've rated so far out of this LD. I like the randomly combined (?) item descriptions. Audio is top notch. Nice particle effects, too. Feels more polished than a typical LD entry. Something about this makes me feel like I'm playing an old Amiga game (that's a good thing).

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very smooth gameplay. Controls are slightly awkward, but not too bad. music, effects, theme. All good stuff. nicely done.

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03am

This game got my attention immediately and kept it throughout. Fun gameplay and it definitely poses a challenge. The music just makes it that much more exciting. Great work!

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Very fun! I managed to get to $1500 on my third try and then progressively got worse. The graphics and audio are fantastic, even if it's relentlessly difficult to turn a profit.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

Re: Difficulty: yeah, I've had several attempts where I've ended up with negative score :p I think I should've introduced pirates over time so you get a minute of freedom first.

Right now the best strategy seems to be loading up on as much cargo as possible and trying to make at least one delivery to get the combo bonus :P

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Awesome controls, nice concept and well done execution!

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Any chance of getting a timeless version so I can dodge and make pirates crash into the sun for ever and ever and ever and eveeerr? Loved the way the ship controlled o/

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Extremely well polished game. Already added to my favorites for LD30. It was a tad difficult and my packages kept getting destroyed. But alas, that is the risk of space delivery.

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Wow, amazing job on this. The graphics are incredible and the game is fun.

You weren't kidding about the difficulty. :P

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Fun game, I think I'm starting to get the hang of it. I got $0, managed to break even after blowing up all my cargo ...lol.

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52pm

This is just very good. I only got negative scores xD

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Great visual effects. The game is hard as hell :D Got negative score only.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

My best score is $-800 so far. It's tough but really fun to play.
The only thing that annoys me a bit is the pump effect in the text during the tutorial, but its all personal taste. :)

Pirate Hearts says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Wow, this is super polished. I love the way the whole game pulsates in time with the music.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Amazing music and graphics! Can't believe this is 48hrs :).

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Awsome graphics, music and gameplay. Had some trouble with control, but they are responsive enough. And I think the difficulty is too hard, always end with negative score)

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

This is just pure awesomeness and complete it with 48 hours is even more cooler. It's quite difficult and needs some practicing Graphics, audio, visuals 5+

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Awesome game, really well made especially considering the time constraints. I love how everything pulses to the music!

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Maybe a bit complex for me but it works well. It is clear you put a lot of time into this and it shows. Like a finished product from an entire team.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Actually pretty good fun! Liked the pulsating UI that was actually on time with the music! Good work on that! Overall congratulations! Solid work!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

$200 was my score after about ~5 attempts. The game is brutally difficult, but very fun. Great game!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Right. This game is absolutely awesome. Sure it's a bit difficult and feels even unfairly so at times but you had 48 hours and balancing is not something that I'd expect from just that time.
I really want to see this as a full game for PC and Android (since you're using Unity I'm guessing porting should be quite easy), and don't even think about not doing so or I will nag you for life to do it! Good luck :)

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

If I've time in the next few days, I might release a post-jam tweaked version for anyone interested. Main fixes would be:

- Removing speed limit when delivering cargo to its destination (i.e. Cargo no longer explodes if it hits its destination too fast) so you can just slam dunk it home.
- No pirates in first minute, then more pirates as time increases.
- Fix ship collisions with planets as it gets stuck sometimes too easily.
- Maybe reducing one-hit kills for Pirates shooting cargo/giving Cargo 'Health'.
- Maybe reducing penalty to $50.

Then at least you still get the challenge of moving stuff about & dropping it off before everything goes horribly wrong :p Will see what I can get in the coming week or so.

And thanks everyone so far for playing! :D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Excellent! I made the tremendous profit of -$800! This is by far my favorite game this LD so far, and since it's the first one I'm rating, that's not really saying anything!

In all seriousness though, it was excellent, good job.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Really nice! Felt polished. Superb music and audio :) Great job!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Mega cool. All 5 stars. Very polished gameplay!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Your game is awesome. I think the gameplay shoul be more explained though. Didn't know I could take crate so far away.
One of the best games I've played so far in this jam.
The music and graphics is top!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Awesome game! Played for the way to long.

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

That's a pretty fun mechanic. Well made.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Fun game, very difficult but well polished. Hard to believe this was done in 48 hours. Well done!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Boy those pirates really know how to ruin your business! This sure is a hard game =P I like the catchy tunes. Nice game.

chongdashu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great game! Very polished and well executed. However, the difficulty is pretty high, even at the beginning. Perhaps not let any enemies come until the user has delivered at least package (just to get used to the game?)

The controls are a little hard to grasp, though. But that might be intentional as part of the difficulty. Well done!

MaesK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Nice game! It reminds me of my own, but without gravity. Which is good, as I lost almost all cargo anyway :D. It seems I'm not good at this! Great music, graphics and use of the theme. I like it.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I saw this one coming from posts during competition. Really amazing, solid game. Very polished for such short time. So far, easily in top 10 imo.

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Great entry! Difficult control make this game addictive and funny. Nice graphic and idea.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Good news everyone! This game is great!
Really splendid job Malcolm, impressed that this was all made in just 48 hours!

Particularly enjoyed the music along with the overall space setting. I could imagine this being released with multiple levels, co-op, versus - all sorts!

doos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

What a waste of haggis! ;)

pythong says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

awesome music. but my cargo was always destroyed by the kamikaze pirates. love the beating radar screens!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

This is a really great game, made around 1000$
Love the visuals and audio, and the gameplay is really well balanced

danbo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

Excellent game, and really well-done for a compo entry!

I get a crazy taxi vibe from it... probably the one thing I'd like to see is some tweak to dropping cargo off, I'd love to be able to toss it out at planets and boost off for my next cargo. Maybe I just need to practice more.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Had a Crazy Taxi vibe that I really enjoyed, and the music was awesome - nice job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:54am

This was pretty difficult, but I had a lot of fun and the art was nice! Maybe a mouse-based click to move system would have been easier to navigate?

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Pretty hard game, at least in the beginning, but really really fun. I loved it. :D

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Great presentation, end very fun! I don't know why E-R or Z-X is so pupular for controls, but I'd like some keys that are a little farther away from AWD for picking up and dropping off.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Incredible hard but fun. Awesome graphics and music.
I really would have liked a reverse button, I often got stuck on the surface of planets and destroyed all my cargo trying to get away.
Sometimes the drop button would not work, and dropping off pakets carefully is generally difficult.

mechabit says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:27pm

nice thumping sound track. game takes a bit of getting used to, don't think I've managed to turn a profit yet.

DragonXVI says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 8:54am

Ah well, not as good a result as Hot Diggity (Which was crazy well recieved) but I'm happy enough, and awesome that I got 5th in Audio too! :D

Hopefully next time I won't make something so ridiculously hard to play :p Thanks to everyone who played and voted! See ya'll next time!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]