Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel

by ahmedmohi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Parallel

Little Puzzle to recombine the fragement of the splited world .

Control the player on both side of the parallel world. and the shadow of each player the reflected in the oppositie world .

Solve the puzzle and move each player to green block to move forward .

This verison include 10 puzzles .

I appreciate your feedback and comments :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#417Theme3.43
#576Audio2.69
#578Fun3.02
#625Innovation3.07
#751Overall3.00
#819Humor1.94
#842Mood2.66
#1167Graphics1.93

Comments

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

Fun and frustrating! Great job!

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

Very interesting game. I recently graduated college and our final project was a game about controlling characters in multiple planes. Its a free download on indiedb.com I think you might find it interesting as its very similar to this game, but with a twist:) http://www.indiedb.com/games/parallel

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Really liked the mechanic of the shadow :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37am

Nice sound

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

Nice design. Having the mechanic of switching worlds works well.
Graphics were mostly good but it's painful to see bad use of the alpha channel :(
Music was good, sound effects basic but functional.
Had me stumped on one of those puzzles. Sufficiently frustrating to make me want to come back and try again :P

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

Thanks for your feedback I appreciate it :)
And Thanks IgIzzy I will check it out .

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

The graphics are a bit lacking, but the game sure is fun!

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Good game!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

It remembers me the game Fez on the mechanics (changing perspective and things onto screen). What was your inspiration ? It's a good game, funny, nice idea and related to the theme; It kept me entertained for a while, good job :).

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

The concept of the game is great, I don't get why on the other world the controls are inverted but it's okay, it just frustrates me, nothing to worry about.

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Quite fun, great job with the movement control!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

FeYbraNt .. well I start with the idea of haven't a cube and the player exist on each side moving on in one cube have same in the other so you have to adjust your movement on all sides with no shadow . but then i reduced to the opposite side of the cubes only are some but reverted controls .. then i remember small game on gamejolt where you control 2 player and switch between them so i decided to simplify it more to this :D

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

very confusing at first, graphics not very good, but mechanics are good

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Good mechanics and really fun! I did run into a problem though. Sometimes when I switch to the second block the direction of movement is flipped so that pressing right arrow moves left and left arrow moves right. I'm not sure if that was intentional but it made it a real challenge to platform that way! Well done!

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57am

I think this is a really solid entry. Great mechanic with the shadows and two worlds. Plus it's a great mix between puzzle and platformer.

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Interesting puzzle concept. The only issue I had was that sometimes the other world's controls was inverted, and sometimes they weren't.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice little puzzler - well done!
The graphics need imho some polish but I can live with it ;-)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Even if it seems a cool idea to invert the controls in the second world that a total fail. You should always think that controls need to be removed from the middle, a user shouldn't have to think about the controls but be immersed in the game.

rantt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Interesting concept for the theme. Good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice Game! The mechanics are fun and the game creates a certain mood!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Aside from the occasionally inverted controls, I thought it was a pretty good game. While it started easy, eventually it required a lot of thought. Good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I like it. The concept and puzzles are really well done.
It's frustrating that the controls are sometimes inverted and sometimes not - and also that you fall straight down when you release l/r, rather than continuing the jump's trajectory.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

You got some nice gameplay here. It deserve a bit more time to get the best of it. Nice job

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:46pm

A bit confusing to play

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]