Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shattered

by guimonpa - Jam Entry

A 2d platforming and exploration game.

-- UPDATE 2 --

Added a death counter at the end of the game.

-- UPDATE --

Added Xbox 360 controller support and fixed some bugs for the post-jam release.

-- CONTROLS --

Keyboard
- Arrow keys to move.
- Z to jump.

Xbox 360
- Analog stick or D-pad to move.
- A to jump.

[Spoilery controls]
These should be pretty clear as you advance in the adventure, but come back and check them here if you forget them or if you are stuck:

- Down to interact with the machines in the starship. One allows you to travel between the worlds, the other grants a new ability every 5 orbs.
- Z to jump again in the air once you have the double jump.
- Z plus an arrow key to use the jetpack in a direction.
- Tap down twice (fast) in the air to use the Powerfall ability.
- Hold down and Z while touching the ground to perform the Super Jump.

-- INFO --
Made using HaxeFlixel, music created with Sunvox.

Remember to click on the game window if it isn't responding to key presses. Chrome and Firefox recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Fun(Jam)3.92
#34Overall(Jam)4.01
#64Mood(Jam)3.86
#118Graphics(Jam)4.11
#159Audio(Jam)3.53
#258Humor(Jam)2.72
#272Theme(Jam)3.41
#456Innovation(Jam)2.91

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

Pretty nice graphics, but I could get only one orb :(

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Great looking game with good attention for detail. Great job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Solid platformer, not the most innovative take on the theme, but It looks and feels good.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice! Really well done graphics... I could only get one orb though.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Great graphics and music. Loved it!

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Really nice little metroidvania. It held my attention for the longest so far. I couldn't find that ninth orb though after going through both worlds with the double jump! 5 stars for fun

akios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

great art , a got stuck in a part of the second world, but i really enjoy the game

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Love the look but I could've used more instruction.

lukz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Best platformer I played on this ludum dare.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very cool! A good metroid-vania game. It was a bit tricky to distinguish doors to enter cavern, took me a while. The controls are a bit heavy to my taste, and the hitbox seems unfairly large, but those are little details compared to the work you achieved. Great level design and it seems that there is a large content. Unfortunately I got stuck on the way back from the cavern, I kept dying one the three spiky blocks. Couldn't pass it.

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Beautiful and fun game! It got super hard once I got the jetpack (I was having Cave Story hell level flashbacks), so that's where I stopped. Great job!

Balint197 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very good game! I really liked that all parts of the world were accessible from the start, you only didn't have the abilities. Great level design, and I also loved the art, it reminded me of Fez. The best game I have played so far. There was a bug though, the candle didn't appear at the base.

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Nice graphics, trophy rooms remind me of Fez ;) Music gets a little irritating, especially after dying horribly for the 99th time in that room before 3rd trophy. Great fun though.
At first I thought it's going to end after gathering 20 orbs, but that's where the fun part began. After few simple puzzles you went full I Wanna Be The Guy mode, I love it! In these last levels I was like "I hope I don't have to go back this way", oh how wrong I was. Great game man!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great looking game. Beautiful environments and interesting puzzles. Could have been a tiny bit more variation to the music, but all in all a really fun game. Great work on this on, man!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Awesome platformer! I was unable to make it through some spike wall rooms, I think controls could be tightened up a bit and the difficulty in some levels could be tweaked. I was able to get 17 orbs and 2 treasures though!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

lovely little platformer :D

stvr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Great platformer with a lot of depth. Got a bit frustrating towards the end, but still a lot of fun!

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Funny game. Great visuals, musics, controls and level design :)

steve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Nicely put together, impressively large for the time spent on it, level design got a little trolly towards the end though! But great overall.

juakob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I think your game is the best game I have play so far on the competition. I'm proud to have found all 4 relics =). Congratulation!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice graphics. I love games with secret walls. I had a bit of trouble with the controls, they seemed to get sticky sometimes and with all those spikes it was a bit frustrating.

ehtd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Pretty nice game, just got stuck after the trident, didn't know where to go, could not return, neither reach with jumping.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

Great game. I love the polish. The animation of the little guys head when you boost forward is great! Mission accomplished! ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Masterpieze! Level design! Graphics! Mechanics.. nice job! Seriously!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Really great Metroivania game, lots of content for only 3 days. Congrats!

LeafThief says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:59am

I liked the audio very much. It added greatly to the overall mood/atmosphere.

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:01am

It's hardly believe you have made something as amazing as this in three days. Great job!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:29am

Cool game ! Nice art and great mechanics (simple but efficient)

dunin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:30am

really cool game. nice graphics, nice level design.
(one thing: it's hard to switch from double jump to jet pack: it's very different and on the same button. But when you master the jet pack, it is a pleasure!)

Split82 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Great little platformer.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

Glorious, this one really tickled the fancy of the reptillian-brain part of me that likes indie platformers. Amazing amount of content, nicely tuned (difficulty-wise) and powerups keep it interesting for all 20+4 collectables.

Only gripe was that I really wish that you could change jetpack directions while holding the jump button, and possibly a minimap.

Hope you do well!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:25am

very cool game

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great metroidvania, I really like the graphics, audio and the explorative gameplay.

Tifu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:48am

Very cool. I liked what happened when you get 20 orbs, after getting the gold... rope thing... from really high up, I couldn't make it back out though cos I got frustrated doing the same jumps over and over, then dying on spikes way to the left D:
I assume I was pretty near the end though.
Nice graphics, I especially like the effect of G forces on the guy when you jetpack around :D

Manou says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Love the mood.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Wow, so much content! I like the jetpack, but I was having some framerate issues, and the tricky manouvering needed in some places with that big collision box for the player made some areas too frustrating(the spiky tunnels, where you have to change direction mid-air). Really nice platforming, impressive amount of content for 72 hours! Spooky mood, but I would have loved to see some aliens to headbutt with the jetpack! >:D

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:21am

Buen trabajo! Polished work, neat graphics and cool audio. Good level design though as in other comments, I could only get one new ability, the double jump. After that I got stuck in the cave. It would be good to know what to do next or to see it done in a walkthrough, as the game showed promise until there. Well done!

guimonpa says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:15am

@jukimv1986 I recorded a full playthrough of the game, you can watch it here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/557128/LD30/Shattered.mp4
It's a bit painful to watch, I was lagging quite bad while recording :(

Thanks for all the comments guys!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I loved it.
The mood, the difficulty curve, the level design, I enjoyed every try I made to catch the four items.

Naytron says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Both the style of the graphics and jet pack control scheme felt very Cave Story-inspired, and that's a good thing!

Very impressive and complete feeling for 72 hours, managed to complete it with 20 orbs / 4 treasures / 999+ deaths! The collision could have done with being a bit more forgiving though.

guimonpa says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:36am

Ah, should have put a death counter thingie after getting all the treasures now you say that... might do it this weekend :)

tbam says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Really clever design, solid controls. All around stellar entry.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:22am

Graphics are sweet! Good job overall!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:22am

Finished! :D
It has nice graphics and a good gameplay. Also, I liked the sounds. Took me a while to find the first cave entrance, but it's fine because I like to explore and search things. It's quite challenging. You did an awesome work :))

Literal Games says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice mechanics, managed to play through the whole Jam version and was really impressed by the feel of the character!

Headmade says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Really polished and long entry, good job! My only complain is that the game doesn't fit the theme very well.

sputnik says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Love the character and nice mechanics!

Unholymess says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:41am

Beautiful, precise, just the right level of challenging and wonderfully atmospheric. Without question the best thing I've played all week!

zatyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:05am

Really great game. It had me pulling at my hair at times, but I just couldn't stop playing. My only real issue is the controls for the jet pack... they took some getting used to. I think it would be more user friendly if you didn't have to let go of Z to change directions. Other than that, I really liked it. Definitely one of the best I've played this LD. You should be proud.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:59am

That was so much fun. Had to beat it and I did. Thanks!

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:25am

Finally finished with 41 deaths. Really, really nice metroidvania style game!

swich says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:40am

Pretty standard metroid/cave story/knytt platformer by normal means, but considering this is ludum dare, this is the crazy polished and the longest jam entry I've played. Great job. Gets a little too hard towards the end ;)

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, the cave entrances could definitely have been more obvious, the only thing that prevented me from giving up early was the gorgeous art.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really like this entry :)
The theme connection was very cute,the visual and the music also was charming.
good job!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:31am

YEAH!!! I GOT ALL four artifacts!
Well done and my 5 overall.

Artamus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Very nice game, congrats! Love the character, so cute :)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great visuals!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]