Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hop Hop Planet

by SnoutUp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Weird tiny creature is jumping from one little planet to another with a help of his invisible jetpack. Can you lead him safely around the dangerous volcano & shark worlds and collect all the diamonds scattered around?

Controls:

* Arrow keys to move around
* UP after jump uses jetpack
* Space (or DOWN arrow) switches the rotation of the planets
* S toggles sounds
* R restarts level
* ESC skips tutorial level

Notes:

This is my first Ludum Dare gamejam ever and I hope I added all downloads correctly. Please, let me know if somethings is wrong with GM project or Windows version.

Tools:

GameMaker, Inkscape and Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#138Graphics3.89
#178Fun3.55
#204Overall3.58
#292Humor2.81
#320Mood3.27
#393Theme3.46
#473Audio2.82
#513Innovation3.22

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57am

Great graphics, fun mechanic :) Well done!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

This is a very nice entry! Great art, nice sound effects, fun action. Nicely done. I would have felt a little more in control if the "tipping point" between planets was a little more forgiving, but that's probably just a personal preference sort of thing.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Fantastic! Loved it :) Graphics were awesome, gameplay was very fun and innovative. Awesome job!

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

Loved the game.

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

Nice concept, great controls and the overall execution is really amazing, you should play this, it's definitely one of the better entries!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

Hi!

Awesome game, loved sound fx but please put some music!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Game is simple, yet interesting to play! Loved the art very much

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

nice game, I recommended you to add an event.preventDefault() on the arrow keyboard else the webpage scroll on my laptop ( chrome / firefox mac ). well done :)

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

Very nice entry! Like the graphics, controls take a bit of getting used to but once you get it they work well.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice game! Planets are very colourful and distinctive, which is great.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Congrats on your game! This is a fun little game to play and is actually quite challenging. I really like the gravity effect of the planets and your graphics as always are simple, yet very clean and well balanced as always. Just needed an audio track to push the 'fun' to the next level. Cheers, Ben.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great game - awesome, cute graphics and very polished generally.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice one! Game plays very well, controls are tight. A little disorientating at times but nothing unbearable. Reminds me of the theme "tiny" from a while back. Was a bit too easy at times, but I think that might have just been me getting better at the game. I can see this working really well as a mobile game. Art was good, not sure if there were SFX, the comments say there was but I didn't hear any. Very well polished. Hopefully this game will make it into the top 100. :3

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Lava! Sharks! Laser Lava Sharks - well no, but it's awesome! :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

This has legs. I hope you develop this more post-compo. Really well done.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Graphic is very comfy to look at. The game mechanics reminds me of a game "They Need To Be Fed", but it's still an awesome game.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really nice style. And interesting mechanics. I would have liked shorter levels to start with so that failing didn't come with such a big cost. I did enjoy my failings though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

This was awesome, graphics were incredible, sound effects hit the spot perfectly. Some interesting mechanics in it too.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Great game! The graphics are awesome and the gameplay is very nice

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I really like it! The graphics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the mechanic works well.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really enjoyed it! Love the art style.

reidrac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Very nice :)

I found the mechanics a little bit slow, but other than that this is a very solid entry.

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Great graphics and nice idea!

jovoc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Fun! Nice little concept and well executed. The jumping controls seemed more complicated than they needed to be but was still very playable!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Fun game, got some nice flow to it.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Love the art. Very well polished as always. good Work!

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Good entry!

Keeping it simple left a lot of room for polish ... congrats!

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Awesome superfun game. Only thing i didn't like was the audio. I gave it 5 stars though ;)

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Really beautiful and easy to pick up and play. Although the mechanics were easy to learn, I'm still awful, haha. I think that has more to do with my relative skill at this kind of game more than a design problem though.

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Feels very polished and the gameplay is solid. Something to consider in the future would be maybe reducing the amount of pick ups that you need to get and also maybe making the character move a bit faster. Glad you managed to finish this game Snout ;]

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

Pretty fun, with nice bright visuals. It felt a little too difficult to switch planets occasionally, and it would've been cool to have more levels. But I enjoyed it overall.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Movement is a bit slow but that really is the only major complaint. It is a good concept and quite polished already. Good rating from me.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Like it. Really nice done.

waynaul says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Great style. I like the idea of the aquatic planet with sharks.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Great overall game with a cool design and a planet hopping
creature that looks like a raccoon, what more could you ask for?

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Cute entry! Very clever making the hazards related to the planet they were on (ie shark fin on water planet)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice, really like that it shifts into time trial

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice little game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Really nice entry! Graphics are so cute and it's super polished for a first time. At first I thought instead of diamonds those were toast, now I want some toast... :P

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

congratulations on your first game jam, it looks like you had a lot of fun. The graphics are very cute.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25am

This was quite fun (:

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

I liked it, the effects and having the background change depending which planet your one is a nice touch, well done! :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Nice little game and love the artwork!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I enjoyed it. Found it a bit hard though...

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very nice entry. Good looking final product. Harder then expected, but very enjoyable :)

lakael says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Great game, great concept! Nicely done!

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Loving the simple but clean graphics, and the gameplay was really fun! Great entry!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

The Button Masher Bros sent me, haha. Nice game!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

This is so great! Great concept, nice graphics and fun variations between planets :) Awesome entry, I'd like to know if you do anything more with this!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:31am

Also came from the land of mashing buttons. Sweet game! :D

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Cool game, loved it

r0x0r says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

cool, it's like my game in 2D.. haha

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:36am

Well done. Simple gameplay. Lots of polish. Excellent game.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:50am

Gah, sharks keep getting me! Fun game. :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Interesting concept, nicely polished - good job!

It's similar to our entry, but we think we prefer your jetpack mechanic! Liking the double press.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:58pm

+ awesome gameplay (love the booster)
+ art
- music

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Cute game!! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Liked the little shark planets, was a nice touch. Also congratulations for a really polished game for a first entry.

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice work!

markusfisch says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Looks and sounds really good! Nice game! Well done!

Lizzip says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very nice and very well made

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Solid game, fun to play and it looks great.

CliffracerX says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Just wanted to say that Chrome is flagging the download as a virus, something might be broken.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Clever and fun. Great graphics and sounds.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:18am

This was so cute, loved the graphics and the different kinds of planets!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]