Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light&Darkness

by xWilQ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare. Did not have that much time so it is what it is..

Help the other cube get past the obstacles in the level.

Controlls:
WhiteCube: W,A,D to move. S to pull lever.
BlackCube: UP,LEFT,RIGHT. DOWN to pull lever.

Play it alone or together with a friend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#131Theme3.84
#352Overall3.41
#387Fun3.24
#595Humor2.26
#596Mood2.94
#602Innovation3.10
#771Graphics2.77
#907Audio1.88

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

As far as the theme of this LD goes, great job. Really fun game-play and I'll definitely be back to see if I can master this one.

xWilQ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

Thank you :)

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This was really fun! Needed a lot of tries to play through this, great job.

xWilQ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thank you :)

whack47 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

Pretty good, I've seen this black and white theme before, but the double d-pad thing was cool. Nice job!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16am

A bit too short, you should make a post-compo edition with more levels. I like the idea, so I would like to play this game more!

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

That game really was fun to play. But it twisted my mind to control both at the same time. Would be great to see a larger version.

cstack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Very cool idea and implementation. It's just super hard by yourself!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

Short and hard to control with one person, slightly unoriginal but you only had 48hrs so good job. :D

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Easy and short game, but it was very fun :D I liked the idea so much, but it didn't teach me anything :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35am

Fun to play, interesting idea and control scheme. Well designed level. Would have easily played level 2-5 as well if they existed! :)

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51am

I enjoy this... I want to play more!

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

Really great idea! The double pad is hard to master but it works pretty well. The graphics are neat and powerful.

I'm not really good at this kind of game but it's addicting we want to master even if it twist my head.

It just lack of more sound and it could be fully fun.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

I had trouble with this - No matter how quickly I got going, the white block never got to the top of the big block on the lift before it got crushed by the spikes :(

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:32am

Haha! Ok, even though it took a few tries, everybody might agree that it's a little short. But, what a game! I love it! Very deserving of expansion, so I hope you work on it after the compo. Add some audio, and even keep the graphics the same - the binary nature helps with the theme. Cheers, and goodluck!

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34am

Neat little game, similar to the root we took!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36am

this game diservs some more levels.

xWilQ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40am

Thank you all for the feedback. Yes i was going to make more levels did just not have the time. I'm considering making more levels, add music and stuff, Change the graphics.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

Cool game - the difficulty is hard, but challanging!
The only things I miss are some music/sfx.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49am

Nice & hard & we want more levels as many say ! I still enjoy it ! Good entry :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

BRILLIANT! Great use of theme. I was skilled enough to get through it in one go :D. Very challenging and had quite a rush. Loved the life lesson ;3

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

That is really mean! No change for me to win, except using a second person to join the game maybe. Good idea, forced friendship.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Fun, too bad it's so short. Following two characters the same time with different controls can get pretty tricky fast.

bazld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very clever concepts. Hurt my brain, but in a good way ;) Great job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice aesthetic, simple but sharp

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Can be tricky at first time but you quickly get it. Too bad it is that short

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:23pm

nice game, simple but fun and innovative, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]