Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreaming Knight: The Little Hero

by spotco - Jam Entry

Falling asleep in class has never been so fun!

Dreaming Knight is a top-down/action/hack n slash/bullet hell mashup (with an rpg-style skill-tree!) made by three people in three days.

As you play, the "connected worlds" theme plays out in a strange way...

Controlled with WASD + Mouse

Like the game?
Play my other games at:
http://www.spotcos.com

Or follow us on twitter:
https://twitter.com/spotco

Wrote a postmortem here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/30/dreaming-knight-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#30Fun(Jam)3.93
#58Overall(Jam)3.88
#102Humor(Jam)3.33
#144Graphics(Jam)4.02
#201Mood(Jam)3.43
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#378Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

This game was fantastic! I'm sorry you don't have more reviews yet. I actually liked this well enough that I could see myself dropping a dollar on it for a mobile version. I actually found you by searching for the keyword "bullet hell," haha. The RPG skill tree really sold it and made this game for me; at the end of the game I found myself having completed a couple of branches but really wishing there were just one more boss so I could get that much-desired HP Regen perk. It was very well-balanced, especially in the later game, with cool bosses and frenetic gameplay even after having leveled up a lot. Great job!

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

Incredible game!!

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

I initially didn't like that the game graphics were so different to the title screen. Then I realised it was fun swinging the sword. Nicely put together game in just 3 days!

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48am

I'm playing through as many LD games as I can, giving each a fair shot, usually anywhere from 5-10 minutes each for playthrough and review. I just got sucked into this for about 25 minutes. Incredibly fun man, hope you do well overall.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

OMG. This is awesome. I played through the whole thing, and I was not disappointed. Easily one of the best I have seen.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

That was super fun!

strong99 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58am

That's an original idea. Fun, I liked it. Sadly Chrome AND IE11 both crashed several times after endbosses (because Flash stopped working, a bug?) Made me restart several times :(

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

nice game but sword attack mechanic is a bit wired and hard to use. good job its fun and nice

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52am

Amazing work!
~funkeh

Squidtank says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55am

I really like the sword swinging and found myself trying to swing it as often as I could. There's just something organic about the swing that I really enjoyed! Great music and I love the graphics.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57am

Really cool game! This could definitely be successful with a post compo version!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01am

Very nice game, it took a bit to get used to the sword mechanic but its pretty satisfying to connect with enemies. It might be good to capture the mouse and hide the cursor so the game can't lose focus accidentally and the cursor doesn't distract from the game. It would also be cool to have the player attract item drops when they are relatively close. Great graphics, solid gameplay, good audio, well done!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47am

Very interesting fighting mechanics :D

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Played through the whole thing and enjoyed every second of it.
Second boss was too easy, but otherwise it was pretty balanced difficulty-wise. Very addicting gameplay, love the upgrades too. Great work all around.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Very nice game, nice gameplay, congrats!

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

This is a cool game, boys!

Wolve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I love it!
Fully upgraded sword is really fun.
The only problem I found is that using my sword is so much more useful than using my shooting that I never used or upgraded it.
Awesome visuals too, I can really see you're improving :)
Keep up the good work!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Really enjoyed this. Nice amount of content for a jam. My only gripe was that I am using a touch pad and the controls for swinging the sword are very frustrating. Nice work overall!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:52am

The graphics are great. Liked the opening scene but think the text font would have worked better if it was more hand written style. The dream game was also pretty addictive so nice job.

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:24am

Fun game with nice graphic!

Stals says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

Jan W. Nijman is the best.
Nice game -)

Jod says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Cool graphics and solid music! The mouse-waving for the sword really didn't work for me though, so I relied on the crossbow.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

This game is very solid! Congratulations!
Nice graphics, sounds, humor, funny use of the theme.
GG!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:04am

Best game I have played so far. Amazing amount of content and polish given the time limit, and really fun too.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I really enjoyed the music, and the frantic (but not overwhelming) combat, even if the sword is only useful/mandatory against one enemy.

Having one of the characters/bosses be a dreadlocked black guy who says nothing except how much weed he smokes is a really lazy and unfunny stereotype, especially since it has nothing to do with the rest of the game.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:36am

Frenetic arcade action, well done. No points for sartorial style: relying on tired cliches and stereotypes is laaaame.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:41am

sartorial?

tcarter says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:47am

Really solid game! Felt like a finished product. Good job.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:55am

One of the best games I've rated so far! I only wish that the sword wasn't so useless, as it is much more fun to use than the crossbow.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:20am

>Dans17
Seems like you can go either way. Upgrade the sword and you won't really need the bow, or vice versa. Or hardmode, upgrade both equally.

Option 2, play through twice once with each weapon :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Very nice entry! I like the graphics, the variety of enemies, and what you did with the controls. It reminded me of an old pc game called "Silver" I don't know if you played it, but it also had swing based controls. Even the shape of the sword reminded me of it :P

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:36am

Wow! Great entry! I loved the gameplay and graphics! Good job guys!

dunin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:35am

cool game. It's just hard to use arrow + sword (sometimes click, sometimes not...) and t's why we used only one weapons (arrows for me). So maybe change control will be great...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]